We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enjoyable stay, could use some improvements however” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, could use some improvements however”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in a one bedroom suite on the 28th floor. I have stayed at many other kimpton properties and this one was not the best, however it was still a good choice and I would stay here again. There are some improvements they could make to make it an even more enjoyable stay. I will detail the pros and cons below.

Pros:
- The view was incredible
- clean large balcony that was very usable.
- large bathroom with a large bathtub, and shower
- concierge is very knowledgeable and helpful
- the bartenders at area 31 were excellent!
- they allowed late checkout

Cons:
- valet took forever! however if you call down 10 mins before you need your car it will be there waiting
- if you do not rent a car expect to spend a lot on taxis to south beach/malls
- parking is outrageous 40 a night not including tips!
- I mentioned it was a special occasion via email, and phone however nothing was done, no complimentary bottle of wine, or chocolate covered strawberries as i have received at other kimpton properties
- if you want your room made up you have to push the make up room button on your way out in the morning
- The jets in the bathtub came on randomly in the middle of the night!


Next time I am in Miami for vacation I would stay on the beach as the location is more accessible, however I would stay here if I was on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conradcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,000
    559
    167
    81
    53
See reviews for
540
1,076
132
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here while attending the music festival Ultra, so my rating for the location is strictly based on this fact. Keep that in mind when reading this review, though I'd also highly recommend this hotel for visitors not just in Miami for a weekend concert.

Since I didn't venture far from the venue, I can't say whether or not the location is ideal for going elsewhere, for example hitting up South beach, but staying here was a huge bonus in that it was walking distance from the venue and we could make stops at the hotel afterwards if needed.

The hotel itself is sleek in decor and clean. The rooms were cleaned sometimes twice a day. It has a great pool area perfect for sunning (or sitting in the shade if that's your thing) that wasn't crowded at all when I was there in March.

I didn't try any of the restaurants in the hotel, but I did grab drinks at the bar. Great service from the bartenders, which is rare. All in all, the service was top notch, especially given the fact that the hotel had to deal with rowdy concert goers.

Highly recommend if you like boutique hotels that offer good rooms, great service, and a convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Welcoming and great hotel. Ideal location. Felt at home. Front desk staff were accomodating and personable. Prompt and courteous service. Great for a romantic getaway. We can not wait to return! Keep up this amazing service in this Epic hotel!

Room Tip: Call the day and see if there is availability. Become an in-touch member
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drrogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed at The Epic numerous times but this was the first time I was able to take advantage of the services at the hotel. First of all, when i drove up to the hotel I was met immediately by the wonderful valet and greeted at my car by bellman dressed in nice pants, shirt, tie and vest along with a straw hat. It just made me feel as if I was on vacation and ready to be pampered. The entrance is gorgeous, the front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. I arrived early but they checked me in and offered to an answer any questions I might have about the hotel. After checking in I visited the very nice spa and gym which are both A++ in my book. The staff again were very friendly. The housekeeping staff went above and beyond to make sure my room was clean and I had everything I needed. The restaurant Area 31 has delicious food and the staff again were amazing. The view from the hotel is spectacular. I just can't say enough good things about this hotel. I have told all of my friends and co-workers there is no other place to stay in Miami but The Epic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I won a stay at epic from a model latina sweepstakes and since then cant stay anywhere else when I visit Miami.The concierge is extremely helpful the valet is prompt and the overall atmosphere is great.The rooms are filled with soft linens and top of the line bedding...The staff is very helpful and friendly as well. This hotel is top of the line and worth every dollar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yashira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you recognize the Kimpton name, then you probably don't even need to read this or any other review, because you know how good they are at just about everything.

EPIC was no different. Stunning room, incredible service and accommodated my request for an early check-in. I was in town for a conference at the InterContinental around the corner, but had to spend the first night here because the IC was fully booked the first night. If I had to do it all over again I'd just stay at EPIC and walk the 2 blocks to the conference as there's simply no comparison between the two with regards to either style or more importantly service.

Do you see how many other posters here are commenting on how they were treated like royalty? If you've ever stayed at a Kimpton, you know what they mean. This was even nicer given that we were in Miami, a town full of VIP's where non-VIP's are far too often reminded that they're not VIP's. That's not the case at EPIC, where everyone who walks through their doors is a VIP. Lebron James plays just down the street, and you'll be treated as well as he would be.

Room Tip: Splurge for the water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorLogistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

our stay was provided as part of an Azamara cruise booking, leaving the following day from Miami to Seville – would have enjoyed a longer stay – maybe next time!
A min-Monaco came to mind with cabin cruisers moored alongside the entrance
An amazing room on the 22nd floor with partial waterfront and city views.
Rooms with the wow-factor – but have still not worked-out the purpose of the aperture (blind) between the bathroom and the bedroom areas?
Staff - so friendly and helpful.
Convenient location for the Bayside Mall / marina & dining – 15 minutes stroll.
The Metrorail system is close-by providing an easy transit link with the airport.

Room Tip: Early morning noise from traffic crossing the grillage to the raised bridge decking discernible on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverskier_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
W Miami
W Miami
#72 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing