We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spacious and luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% off your stay
Ranked #6 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spacious and luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the EPIC on December 2011 before boarding a Caribbean cruise departing from Fort Lauderdale.

We booked a City view room with Continental Breakfast. The room was spacious, comfortable & well-designed with great city views. The pool & gym were also fabulous!

The hotel has a boutique personalised service feel; the check-in process was quick and effective.

Good location, several restaurants, parks, small shopping areas, public transport and open city bus tours are very close by (5 to 10 min. walk). Taxi ride to South beach is about $25(20 min).

Hotel concierge kindly organised our limousine transfer to Port Everglades which was very convenient.

We had dinner at Zuma, the food was very fresh and well-presented accompanied by good service.

We would have loved to stay longer! we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Gia24
Thanks for sharing. You mentioned the hotel has a "boutique personalized service feel". That's what Kimpton and EPIC are all about.
Please come back and visit us soon.
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,000
    559
    167
    81
    53
See reviews for
540
1,076
132
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I were married in November and we stayed in the Epic before leaving for our cruise to Grand Cayman for our wedding. The staff of this hotel went above and beyond to make our trip special.

The views from the hotel are spectacular. It is located right on the water and most, if not all of the rooms have a balcony that overlooks either the canal or city of Miami.

It is located less than 5 minutes away from the ship terminal and is really in the heart of Miami. It isn't in the south beach area but they give you free bikes if you are up for a ride to the beach.

We are planning trips back to Miami and when we go, it will be at the Epic. Also, be sure to check out the pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
John F
Thanks for sharing. We are happy to be your hotel of choice in Miami. Being located 5 minutes away from the the ship terminal makes us a great starting point for any cruise.
Please come back to visit us soon!
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Epic service, Epic views, Epic food, made it to an Epic Miami Heat game. Comfortable bed. Clean rooms, Great vibe. etc.etc.etc. Literally my favorite Kimpton Hotels I have been to and I have visited about 15 different properties...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
CJK1981
Thanks for sharing and considering us your favorite Kimpton hotel from the 15 you have visited. Being called EPIC both service and product related is a great compliment.
Please come back to visit us soon!
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very pleased with my stay at Epic hotel. I have stayed at the Viceroy before and thought about staying there again but so glad I went with Epic. Not that anything is wrong with Viceroy but I was very pleased with Epic. From check-in to check out everything was great. The staff is extremely hospitable from the doorman, pool servers, bartenders, waiters, housekeeping, etc. I was never not greeted and there was always a smile. Those little details add up to make a big difference.

The room was great! I had a bay view and it was so refreshing to wake up to the bay breeze. The balcony is bigger than I imagined from pics and it made a for a great place to relax outside the room as the pool was below and just watch the boats sail by. Very relaxing! The bed is just as relaxing it was so comfortable and the bathroom is just as spacious. As I stated in my title, I didn't want to leave.

Lastly, as much as I enjoyed my Epic stay I must admit that the Viceroy pool is better. Other than that, everything was great and I will definitely stay again. I'll just visit the Viceroy's pool :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view...beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkigfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
nikkigfoster
Thanks for sharing. We pride ourselfs having great caring staffmembers and are happy to learn your comments such as "extremely hospitable, never not greeted and always a smile"
I am glad you also enjoyed our balconies!
Please come back soon to visit us.
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Treated my mom to a weekend in Miami and what a treat it was. The hotel was very accommodating via email but with out pushing it down your throat. They helped me make dinner resv at Zuma which is a fantastic restaurant in the hotel, dont miss out. Look, you know everyone says its great, get it, got it, good. Let me tell you that for me its the simple things that make a hotel shine. For example I forgot my phone charger; its 1am valet line is out the door but they run and fetch my iPhone charger.... in the mean time the hotel has their charger brought to my room. Forget a razor? Toothpaste? Charger? no problem. Rock on Epic Hotel!!


I asked for a high room and viola that is what we received. The beds were comfy cozy and I slept like a dream. Wine at check in.

We went and watched the Heat whip Detroit and the hotel gave us 20% discount for those traveling to see the game.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our fourth wedding anniversary. We got a fantastic rate online that included complementary valet parking so we got a great value for a 4.5 star hotel. Upon arriving, they gave us a voucher for complementary breakfast and had complementary champagne in our room celebrating our anniversary. We requested a room on a higher level which they accommodated free of charge. Overall the staff was very sweet and genuinely excited that we were celebrating our anniversary with them. The rooms were very clean, modern, and spacious. The features in the room such as the wide tub and in room computer with internet access were awesome. And the view, absolutely stunning! I felt the lobby and pool area were a bit too artsy contemporary for my taste; I didn't feel comfortable. Beautiful, nonetheless. Our free breakfast was awful. It was a semi buffet style that had "fresh" fruit which was bruised, cereal in the box, and hard breads. Can't complain for a free breakfast, but wow. Also, my only other complaint is that there is only valet parking available which is expensive. This is the case for any downtown Miami hotel though so I don't hold it against them. There is plenty of restaurants and things to see within walking distance which is a huge plus if you have ever driven in downtown Miami. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the EPIC!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, you'll get a better view and be further away from the pool/bar deck so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
AmberFL
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Anniversaries are very special occasions and I am glad we were able to contribute in a positive way. Refering to our staff as very sweet and genuinely caring is a great compliment and we appreciate your comments!
In regards to your breakfast experience, I have personally spoken to our Chef and he will look into your observations.
Please come back and visit us again soon. EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Another great Kimpton experience. This hotel is extremely luxurious and has a very modern feel. Cool lobby and very attentive staff who are ready to help with whatever you need. Rooms are good size with outstanding bathrooms. Only negative is the TV which seemed dated and was not HD. Nice large balcony and good views of the water. Zuma restaurant is very hip and crowded with the quintessential "beautiful people." Get reservation way in advance. We ate at Area 31 and had a good meal. Very nice server made the meal even more enjoyable. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
ATLFamilyofFour
Thanks for sharing your great experience with us. We loved to learn that you enjoyed our attentive staff and the outstanding bathrooms. We believe that a great product including our restaurant Area 31 can only succeed in conjunction with good service. Being recognized as such makes us proud of what we do.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes

Jaqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
W Miami
W Miami
#72 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing