We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Phone Charger” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Phone Charger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Treated my mom to a weekend in Miami and what a treat it was. The hotel was very accommodating via email but with out pushing it down your throat. They helped me make dinner resv at Zuma which is a fantastic restaurant in the hotel, dont miss out. Look, you know everyone says its great, get it, got it, good. Let me tell you that for me its the simple things that make a hotel shine. For example I forgot my phone charger; its 1am valet line is out the door but they run and fetch my iPhone charger.... in the mean time the hotel has their charger brought to my room. Forget a razor? Toothpaste? Charger? no problem. Rock on Epic Hotel!!


I asked for a high room and viola that is what we received. The beds were comfy cozy and I slept like a dream. Wine at check in.

We went and watched the Heat whip Detroit and the hotel gave us 20% discount for those traveling to see the game.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    613
    178
    92
    60
See reviews for
595
1,127
141
671
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our fourth wedding anniversary. We got a fantastic rate online that included complementary valet parking so we got a great value for a 4.5 star hotel. Upon arriving, they gave us a voucher for complementary breakfast and had complementary champagne in our room celebrating our anniversary. We requested a room on a higher level which they accommodated free of charge. Overall the staff was very sweet and genuinely excited that we were celebrating our anniversary with them. The rooms were very clean, modern, and spacious. The features in the room such as the wide tub and in room computer with internet access were awesome. And the view, absolutely stunning! I felt the lobby and pool area were a bit too artsy contemporary for my taste; I didn't feel comfortable. Beautiful, nonetheless. Our free breakfast was awful. It was a semi buffet style that had "fresh" fruit which was bruised, cereal in the box, and hard breads. Can't complain for a free breakfast, but wow. Also, my only other complaint is that there is only valet parking available which is expensive. This is the case for any downtown Miami hotel though so I don't hold it against them. There is plenty of restaurants and things to see within walking distance which is a huge plus if you have ever driven in downtown Miami. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the EPIC!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, you'll get a better view and be further away from the pool/bar deck so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
AmberFL
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Anniversaries are very special occasions and I am glad we were able to contribute in a positive way. Refering to our staff as very sweet and genuinely caring is a great compliment and we appreciate your comments!
In regards to your breakfast experience, I have personally spoken to our Chef and he will look into your observations.
Please come back and visit us again soon. EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Another great Kimpton experience. This hotel is extremely luxurious and has a very modern feel. Cool lobby and very attentive staff who are ready to help with whatever you need. Rooms are good size with outstanding bathrooms. Only negative is the TV which seemed dated and was not HD. Nice large balcony and good views of the water. Zuma restaurant is very hip and crowded with the quintessential "beautiful people." Get reservation way in advance. We ate at Area 31 and had a good meal. Very nice server made the meal even more enjoyable. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
ATLFamilyofFour
Thanks for sharing your great experience with us. We loved to learn that you enjoyed our attentive staff and the outstanding bathrooms. We believe that a great product including our restaurant Area 31 can only succeed in conjunction with good service. Being recognized as such makes us proud of what we do.
Please come back soon. EPIC wishes

Jaqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

As a car lover, my enjoyable stay began with the entrance area full of Ferraris, Bentleys, and Rolls Royces and continued with the friendly valets, and prompt easy check-in. I arrived a little early, but my room was readily available. I was on the 27th floor in a king bed room. The room was relatively quiet, had a great view of the pool and water, and was very comfortable. The fitness room had everything that I needed for a workout on the road and was well kept. During my stay, I enjoyed an excellent massage in the relaxing spa. My only complaint is that the spa shower was not as clean as it should have been. Check-out was also very smooth and again the entrance area was great for a car lover.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRTwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
MRTwx
We love to hear guests stay that they had a good time with us. Our busy friendly valet team is taking good care of the gorgeous cars they are being trusted every day.
Please come back soon to visit us!

EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,607 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

As always I booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews on tripadvisor. I had a fairly good idea of what to expect, and my expectations turned out to be quite accurate. If not 100% accurate its because the hotel turned out to be even better than I thought it would be.

We arrived in our rental car in front of the lobby, and all though we had rented a rather expensive car, it seemed like a Volkswagen from the eighties compared to the cars parked outside of the hotel. We were instantly ambushed by a flock of uniformed hotel staff members. They asked us how we were doing, and I replied "not bad, but I have a rather bad backache". Chris - I think his name was - gave me some comforting words before he removed all our luggage from our car faster than a tornado and polite as a preacher.
All the staff members turned out to be nice people, but an extra thumbs up to Chris! A true professional and a gentlemen!
We entered the lobby and were immediately given a glass of wine - it was happy our! Not bad. The lobby was a sight! One of the nicest I have seen. Very stylish and with a modern design.

Check in was smooth, and after a while of wine drinking, Chris showed us our room.
And what a room! We stayed at the club floor and had a beautiful view of the canals and the sea, and the restaurant and the pool.
The room was really nice and especially the bathroom was top notch.
Despite my worsening back pain I slept like a child. The AC was also better than I am used to from many american hotels. The room felt perfectly tempered most of the time.
My only small complaint is that the house keeping was not as good as one could expect. No turn down service, and not the best bath room cleaning I have seen.

We did not have breakfast, and the main reason for that is the pricing. Staying at the Epic is not cheap at all. We paid about 1200 dollars for four nights and thats all right because the hotel is so good. We do not mind paying whatever it costs for a good hotel, but we do mind paying lots of money without getting a good experience in return. We ate at the hotel restaurant Area 31 on our first night, and after that meal we decided to eat breakfast outside of the hotel. Value for money at Area 31 was nothing else than shockingly poor. The food was ordinary, and my main course - some fish from the Amazons - was actually not good at all. The service was nice but not very enthusiastic. And why is it that when ever you order fish, you always end up with a tiny piece of fish meat and a few vegetables? My girl friend ordered a steak and got a whole cow (almost)!
To sum it up; The Epic is a very pretty hotel with lots of pretty people; both guests and employees. But keep in mind; its pretty expensive too; like 22 dollars for two small cups of coffee delivered to your room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Imedvindfranord
Thanks so much for sharing. Having booked us based on Tripadvisor reviews is great, having exceeded your expectations is what we always strive for and I am glad we have succeeded!
I have passed on your positive feedback to Chris, our Front Office agent and he was happy to be recognized.
Please come back soon to visit us.
EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A free upgrade is not the only way to impress me, but I must say that it certainly helps win me over! That was my introduction to the hotel so it certainly began on a high note and didn't stop there.

First, the location is impressive. Right on the water yet in the Brickell area (downtown Miami, the financial district). Our room on the 23rd floor had a gorgeous view of the city, ocean, and pool area below. Second, the room was impeccably clean and in order. Third, the hotel pool, fitness facility, and restaurants were wonderful.

I do have a few suggestive tips. #1, sign up as a member for their loyalty program. This was my first experience at a Kimpton hotel, and prior to my arrival I completed my travelling preferences which were fulfilled 100%! They ask you about your preferences for high floors or low floors, feather pillows or foam pillows, your favorite newspaper...etc. I was highly impressed that all my preferences were catered to. #2, This seemed like a great hotel for families, solo travellers, business, and couples. There was a mixture of these classifications, none of which were overwhelming. #3, I would not recommend the hotel if you are planning to spend the majority of your time in South Beach, which will cost you about a 15 minute drive and/or a $20 cab ride.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Stephanie K
Thanks so much for sharing. I am so happy you enjoyed your upgrade and our outstanding free membership program Kimpton in touch.
We can't wait to have you back!

EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel. I had seen pictures but am not sure they do it justice. It was just lovely. Our room was beautiful. We had a wonderful view that overlooked the canal. Nice size, very convenient layout and the furniture was all very comfortable.

The beds were great, linens were fantastic. My only complaint about a Kimpton hotel is, the temperature control in the room at night. We like to keep our room cool at night (in the mid 60's, year round, if possible). It appeared the room and the thermostat had a motion sensor so that it would shut off if it didn't detect any movement. We were miserable the first night! The second night, we tried to plan ahead and keep the temperature cooler well before bedtime. Still, I found it very frustrating to be paying this much for a room and not be able to set the temperature to a comfortable setting. This wasn't a problem at the Holiday Inn Express I had to stay in a few days later!!

The bathroom was beautiful, the location was great, staff was friendly. We used the fitness room and it was adequate. A couple of the machines were out of order which was a little frustrating as it became more crowded and the stretching/mat area was cramped but the facility itself was nice. We also managed a trip to the spa. I really wish we hadn't. My massage was so-so at best and the spa facilities are anything but luxurious. This surprised me. The ladies changing room and bathroom felt like something you would find at a nice gym, not spa-like.

All of this being said, I am not sorry we stayed here. It was beautiful and convenient. However, if we ever head back to Miami, I may look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cezek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
cezek
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the bed and the linen.
I wished you would have mentioned the issue you had with the AC, we would have been happy to have it adjusted your way!
We would love to have you back!

EPIC wishes

Jacqueline Ploettner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing