We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Girls' Night Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
355 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Best Girls' Night Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had wonderful bridesmaids and wanted to treat them to a special night as a thank you for being so wonderful. The Epic was the perfect spot. We were served complimentary champagne upon our arrival, which started the night on the right path. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were lovely. We started our night with drinks at Area 31 before heading into town for a night out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
LenoreMichelle
Thanks for your wonderful feedback. We appreciate you selected EPIC for your bridesmaids-getaway. It makes us happy to hear that you had a fun time and great kick off with champagne. We hope you will be visiting us again. Please return soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,025
    574
    174
    85
    54
See reviews for
566
1,085
132
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barfrington, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at the Epic in a junior suite city view on the concierge level. It really was not worth the money. The first night we arrived on Friday, we asked at the front desk what the club level included and they told us to go to the concierge lounge and they would explain everything. We went straight up there and the person at the desk acted like she didn't want to bother and responded by handing us a welcome letter. We wanted to know what food and drinks were available and she wasn't helpful and seemed more concerned with talking to her friends and a guy who worked at the hotel. Also, the housekeeping was not good at all. Towels that were left on the counter stayed there and were not replaced, wash cloths in the shower were left there day after day and not replaced with new ones. We were supposed to get housekeeping twice a day on this floor and it never happened and the room was barely straightened up. There were no sheets and blankets for the pull out bed, had to call and ask for them even thought they knew we had two kids in the room. Also, there was food in the halls from room service that was left there all day and night, really looked bad walking through the halls and never recieved a newspaper the whole time we were there. We would not stay again, probably would stay at the Loews which was the same price and so much nicer when we stayed a few years ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Patti H
Thanks you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are sad to hear about your experience and we would like to apologize for not providing the service we are usually known for and you expected.
We hope you will be giving us another chance and returning to EPIC. We would love to have you back as our guest.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would say I like this hotel but I would also say I don’t think I would stay here again. Maybe it was the time of year (December 25th to the 29th) and the hotel was probably short staffed. We arrived around 10 am on the 25th. We actually took the Metrorail to a Metromover to the hotel, it’s not a bad option if you travel light. Being 10 am it was too early to check in which was fine – we figured this would be the case. The room was not ready until 4 pm which was a little frustrating but we realize it was a full hotel the prior night. We were given a $50.00 food and beverage credit which was appreciated. We had a one bedroom water view suite; it was on the 26th floor at the end of the hallway. Overall it was a quiet room but you did get some street noise from the cars going over the draw bridge. It wasn’t really that noticeable until Friday night.

Good: nice suite, excellent view, very pleasant staff at the desk and at the door

Not so good: On the second night we told the front desk the safe was broken, someone had locked the safe in the open position. It was never fixed.

Food everywhere, I think this was the short staff problem – every day we would walk through a hallway littered with the remains of room service.

Inconsistent housekeeping, one day we have a full cleaning and other days it would seem that only half the effort was being made (we tipped every day).

Broken glass and cigarettes on the balcony, obviously from another unit, I’m guessing they threw stuff over the railing and it landed on our balcony. Housekeeping did clean up.

We were charged for 4 nights of parking even though we did not have a car. This was taken care of at checkout but still it should not have been on the bill.

FYI: The air conditioner, it was one of those shut down when no movement air con systems. As we left I mentioned the air conditioning to the front desk and she said they could turn off the sensors, so keep this in mind when staying here.

Zuma is the restaurant on the lobby floor, we did not go there but it seemed very popular. One of the funnier moments was watching a woman exit Zuma and walk right up and into the fountain across from Zuma. The other restaurant is Area 31 which is on the 16th floor. The bar in Area 31 is small so if you want to stop in for a drink you might be better off going across to the Marriott which has a few bar options.

Like I said I enjoyed our stay – but unfortunately the negatives just stood out. Some reviews here indicate better experiences on the Club floor, maybe paying for a club upgrade is more worth it than a suite upgrade.

Room Tip: Water-view rooms have great views but I would be leery of lower floors near the drawbridge. Have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chitownMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
chitownMS
Thanks you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your suite and our attentive and friendly service. However, we are disappointed to read your comments about the inconsistent service you experienced and therefore we would like to sincerely apologize. We truly hope you would consider another stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is very classy and trendy and there is something about staying in these high skyscraper buildings. We had a rather high floor which we requested (30th floor if I remember well) but it seems the hotel is located below private apartments which have the even higher floors with better views. We stayed in a corner suite which was great and very modern. One strong point with the hotel was the free wine and coffe served early evenings in the reception area. Good to hang around and talk to some other people. We preferred a big city hotel before the smaller beach places in South Beach which is easy to visit with 15 cab drive. The breakfast of this hotel was rather modest for such a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
RRC_12
Thanks for posting your comments on tripadvisor. We are happy you selected EPIC for your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the stunning views from our top floor and our complimentary coffee service and hosted wine hour each day.
We hope you will be visiting us again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

December 23, 2012 to Jan 3, 2013 marked our 4th visit here and it only gets better!

We knew already that everything in this hotel was fabulous but since our summer trip they have made things even better, including bathroom scales in the room which, at this period of the year, helped me to only gain a "few" pounds!
The staff are unbelievably friendly, courteous, and helpful; nothing fazes them and they figure out just about anything.

A few mentions here;
Sonia, Oscar, Galina, and Mary in the club lounge - we love you guys;
Christian at reception - always recognizes us as soon as we enter the hotel (even after 6 months and countless faces)! And makes you feel like you just came home;
Gene the-concierge-with-a-connection-to-everything!
The great housekeeping staff who kept our room spotless;
All the super-friendly staff at Area 31 but in particular the wonderful, happy, smiling, efficient, beautiful Melina who must be an employee-from-heaven - start your day with Area 31's great breakfasts & Melina and nothing can go wrong the rest of the day;
All the valet-parking team who, in spite of an unbelievably busy holiday period attending to what must be "la creme" of Miami, shuttled our car in and out every day with a smile!;
...and last but not least, Jacqueline, who made sure we felt like royalty (although I am still trying to burn off the extra pounds after the chocolate-covered strawberries & champagne she snook into our room)!
Thank you all, you are without doubt, and from our experiences around the world, the best hotel team we've ever experienced.

If you're thinking of going to Miami, don't even bother looking elsewhere, this is the hotel from heaven - just for you.

We will be back at least twice in 2013, and for sure will do the holiday period with you again because it was absolutely awesome! (...and The Heat won both the games we went to!)

Ian & Jocelyne Boughey, Geneva, Switzerland

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBoughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
IanBoughey
Thanks for your amazing review. We are excited to hear about your stay and that so many of our employees went out of their way to make your stay relaxing and fun. It was my pleasure to assist you. My team and I looking forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Once again I cannot fault this hotel, we were here for Xmas 2011 and decided to return, and yes a great choice of hotel, not to far from the beach very well situated, room service was fab,the club lounge had everything you would need and more

We were on the club level floor and I would just like to say thanks to all the amazing staff they were great, especially hi to Mary and Galina and of course the rest of the girls in the lounge

There is absolutely nothing to complain about, we are definately coming back Xmas 2013 see you then guys thanks for making our Christmas and New Year xo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
amanda_cj
Thanks for posting your fabulous comments from your recent stay at EPIC. We are glad you selected our club level again – where we offer complimentary culinary delights, wines and champagnes together with a personalized concierge service. We thank you for your loyalty to us and looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had an amazing time at the Epic Hotel in Miami! We had a rental car but still chose to walk everywhere because of the wonderful location. The staff was extremly friendly and helpful. We couln't have made a better choice for our family Christmas trip to Miami.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Tammy E
Thanks for sharing your comments from your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had wonderful holidays at EPIC and felt home away from home.
We are looking forward to you next stay. Please visit us again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing