We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Family Christmas 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ardmore, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Christmas 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had an amazing time at the Epic Hotel in Miami! We had a rental car but still chose to walk everywhere because of the wonderful location. The staff was extremly friendly and helpful. We couln't have made a better choice for our family Christmas trip to Miami.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Tammy E
Thanks for sharing your comments from your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had wonderful holidays at EPIC and felt home away from home.
We are looking forward to you next stay. Please visit us again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    614
    178
    92
    60
See reviews for
595
1,128
141
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel was on point . Absolutely no complaints . i have to say every team member is there to please you and make sure your stay is above and beyond. i am extremely fussy and at times grumpy .lol but that wasn;t allowed ..lol
the property was clean the rooms lived up to kimpton standards of being spectacular . the club level lounge staff was Great .. evening time had top shelf liquor available everything you could ask for was there .. i would def stay there again ..

Room Tip: club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolvibe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
coolvibe_13
Thanks for your excellent feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our attentive service, friendly staff and our comfortable hote. We are looking forward to welcome you back – ‘not grumpy – not fussy’ - just happy and relaxed.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at the EPIC for 3 nights right before christmas to celebrate my BFF's birthday. The staff at the Epic is superb (especially Christian at the front desk), they are just wonderful. The staff was very attentive and accomodating; The rooms were nice and clean, we had a spectacular view being on the 30th floor and the bathrooms are amazing. Anytime we had to call the front desk for requests such as extra pillows, they were at your door in a jiffy. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each day as well as the complimentary wine in the evening. I had such an awesome experience that I will stay there on my next visit to MIA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Jan W
Thanks for posting your wonderful comments on tripadvisor. It makes us happy that you selected EPIC for your ‘BFF’s birthday’ getaway. W are thrilled that our attentive staff made a lasting impression. We hope to welcome you back soon again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

To kick off my first cruise, I decided to head to Miami a few days early and enjoy getting away from it all. The hotel is beautiful, I had a wonderful club level room with a water view. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, there were plenty of outlets including 2 USB ports by the bed! Etc, etc. These are all things you expect from a hotel at this level. It's very nice.

But what really makes the Epic stand out is the staff. Hands down the best hotel staff from any hotel I've ever stayed at around the world. They are friendly & courteous. They aren't overbearing. They are very personable and make you feel like a friend coming to stay for a visit rather than just a guest at the hotel.

The Club Level rooms are definitely worth the little extra. You can skip a lot of room service by staying on this floor. Very nice and simple offerings + cocktails in the evening. I snacked here often before heading out to late dinners. haha. And again, the STAFF is brilliant here. One morning, I missed breakfast by about 30 min as I slept in and arrived between services. A bit bummed, i went for an apple & some coffee. Well, since there was still some food in the back they hadn't taken down yet, they made me a plate! Who does that? The Epic hotel does.

It's a clear choice, really. This is the only hotel I will stay in whenever I'm in Miami.

Room Tip: 2105 - Club level w/ water view balcony. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYNeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
ThatGirl3
Thanks for sharing your wonderful feedback from your stay at EPIC. We are happy you selected us and you were impressed by our attentive and very friendly service. We hope you will be returning as our club guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family of five stayed at the Epic Hotel one busy night after Christmas, having read the terrific reviews on Tripadvisor. The place was jumping; the drop off out front was full of Ferraris and Maseratis, with a shiny backdrop of multi million dollar yachts bobbing on the Miami canal. Just arriving at the hotel was a spectacle.
Check-in was unusually friendly, competent and speedy. There were plenty of staff on board which is a pleasure that many hotels fail to offer.
I booked two rooms online as we no longer fit in one room (the kids are refusing to sleep three in a bed) for approximately $275 per room. It is worth the price as the rooms are beautifully finished and the hotel is in a great location. I remember thinking I must mention the beautiful, lush towels in my review - a real pleasure.
Our rooms had modern and generously-sized bathrooms with separate bath and shower and a window connecting the bath to the living space. I was surprised at the luxury of our standard room. The bedroom was large and bright and very comfortable. Free wifi is available if you sign up to be a Kimpton In Touch member, which is easy online. The kids loved the two rooftop pools though they were a bit cold for me, mid winter.
The Epic Hotel has a free wine hour at 5pm which is a real treat. Who can say no to a glass of wine after being on a plane all day with three kids? The Japanese restaurant on the ground level was recommended by everyone we spoke to although we didn't have a chance to try it. The hotel is around the corner from a large park with a decent playground for the kids to run around and you can go for a lovely walk along the water with pretty views of the Miami skyline.
The Epic is a great place for people watching. At one point, we saw a man casually stroll in with an enormous Italian Mastiff. What a blast. If you want a real 'Miami' experience, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a standard room without a water view and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaramutJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
CaramutJane
Thanks for your excellent review. We are thrilled to hear that you had an EPIC stay and you and your kids had a fun and exciting vacation. We are glad you enjoyed all perks we offer complimentary to our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon. Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed at the EPIC just after Christmas for two nights. The hotel's design is modern and beautiful. The lounge is vast and airy with a very high ceiling, nice seating areas and a large window overlooking the mouth of the Miami River. My double room was comfortable and well-designed (though, sadly, no coffee maker). The bathroom was large, beautiful and functional. The room had a good-sized balcony overlooking downtown, but with good views of the water and the swimming pool. The balcony (20th floor) was nicely furnished with two chairs and a table, but a constant loud humming noise from the air-conditioning plant of the building opposite made it an uninviting place to hang out. This could not be said for the pool area on the 16th floor, which is not very large, but is very nicely designed, with lots of secluded corners and great views over Miami and the water. Next to the pool is the Area 31 restaurant and outdoor bar. The restaurant's bar offers $5 long drinks during a long happy hour (5-9 pm?) - not bad for an upscale hotel. Zuma, the downstairs restaurant and lounge is clearly a Miami nightlife hotspot. On a Thursday night, the place was packed with people dressed to impress and countless Rolls, Benzes, and Ferraris were backed up all the way to Brickell Ave waiting for valet service. Service was good on the whole, but with so many people heading to the EPIC for nightlife and showing off, the staff sometimes struggles to provide the kind of service you'd hope to get an an upscale hotel. Overall, the EPIC is a stylish, young, and hip hotel that I can highly recommend both for business travellers and tourists. However, if you are more into old-school luxury, dark wood panelling, and do not like dance music, this won't be the place for you.

Room Tip: Zuma at EPIC is great for partying and people-watching, but if you are looking for a quiet place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lupo_mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
lupo_mm
Thanks for your wonderful and detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the luxury ambiance of our classy and upscale EPIC. We appreciate your kind words regarding our comfy and spacious rooms and our relaxing pool area. We are looking forward to your return. Please visit us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing from the rooms to the service. The front desk employees took care of me and my spouse from the moment we walked in till we checked out. We did not want to leave this lavish hotel! I strongly recommend everyone to stay in this hotel if your coming to Miami!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffRoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
JeffRoze
Thanks for your great comments. We are happy you and your spouse had an amazing time and our employees took good care of you. We hope you will be returning to EPIC soon. Please visit us again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing