We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #19 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have enjoyed other Kimptons's more and the rooms and property aren't as nice as others that are older but better kept (like Four Seasons on Brickell or Marquis.) Staff was fine, poolside eats were not good (mushy shrimp cocktail). Lunch salad on terrace was lacking taste and chicken mushy too (theme here.) An ok option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkT810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Mark T
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. We are happy to hear your great comments about our attentive staff. However, we are sad to see that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We hope you will be giving us another chance and visiting EPIC again when returning to Miami.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 3,348 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm an Exhale Spa Core Fusion junkie, so when given the opportunity, I stay at a hotel that has Exhale. I'd heard & read a lot about the Epic Hotel and it did not disappoint. The customer service at check-in (allowed early, at noon,) was energetic and informative. My room was really nice and the bathroom was luxurious, I almost didn't need to go out. (One thing that always amazes me, in a well designed hip-hotel, the carpet in the guest room & corridor were really dumb design and thick carpet does not exude cleanliness to me - altho my room was the epitome of cleanliness.) The Club floor is nice for coffee and breakfast, (although I only selected it because it was the only thing offered. I had trouble booking for one night well in advance, when they had a three night minimum until the week before.) In typical Kimpton style, morning coffee and complimentary wine in the afternoon are offered.

Room Tip: Rooms can overlook the 16 floor pool or inter coastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

C O
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your excellent comments from your stay. We are glad you found us through Exhale Spa and stayed with us at EPIC. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff energetic and informative. We hope you will be visiting us again. Please return soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stunning hotel without a shadow of a doubt, high on aesthetics, great views, luxurious rooms. Room service was dismal and the quality of the food did not do the hotel any justice. There's always room for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culchavulcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Culchavulcha
Thanks for sharing your comments from your stay through Tripadvisor. We appreciate your compliments regarding our stunning hotel, but we are saddened to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations regarding our food quality. Please accept our sincerest apologies for that shortfall.
We truly hope that this issue will not keep you from returning to EPIC and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here for work twice in the past few months. Each time, the staff has been great in handling my arrival/departure, letting me know of services, and otherwise just being friendly. The rooms are spacious with great water views. I find the open window between the bathroom and bedroom a little odd, especially if you are traveling with more than one person, but with just one it's fine. This is my go-to hotel when staying in downtown Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view, some balconies even have a sitting area so you can really enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Witter1
Thanks for your great review. We are happy to see that you are enjoying your stay each time you are visiting for business and that you find our staff attentive and efficient. We are looking forward to your next stay. Please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed in numerous Kimpton Hotels and out of all that I've stayed this one stands out and is at another level. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean, the room was very well appointed with a large working desk. I stayed for business but also extended over the weekend for pleasure, the hotel was ideal for both stays. I was also able to enjoy the Exhale spa, I was pleased they were able to accommodate my last minute appointment. The Japanese restaurant was VERY good, pricey but worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors if you want the view of Biscayne Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iloveboutiquehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Iloveboutiquehotels
Thanks for your marvelous comments. We are thrilled that you loved everything about your stay at EPIC. It makes us very happy to hear that we are your favorite of all Kimpton Hotels. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The EPIC is an ultra-modern, sophisticated and stylish hotel on Biscayne Bay, in an area filled with huge, impressive, architecturally compelling buildings that give the area a classy, upscale feel. Our room was spacious, immaculate, with a large patio and beautiful, dramatic views of the Bay and the skyline. The room was tastefully designed and furnished...made you feel like you were staying the residence of an interior designer...Good for families and couples...Hip crowd. We arrived Friday night and felt like we were in the middle of a Burn Notice episode...Great looking guys and women in their 20's and 30's...Unique feature of the hotel: each room has its own computer terminal! Staff is very attentive to providing you with what you need and to responding quickly to requests for service. Neighborhood tip: Just a short walk from the hotel (down 3rd) is a Starbucks, a CVS, a Walgreens, a Post Office, bank branches, a Subway sandwich shop and various modest and a few high-priced restaurants and cafes. Inquire about public buses that can take you to South Beach and malls for a modest fare. One warning: daily parking is a whopping 36 dollars!!! We found a long-term parking facility that charged us $20 a day...So look around after you leave your car for the first night.

Room Tip: Obviously, request (high) room with a "view." Request a coffee maker, if you're into c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Geohab
Thanks for your wonderful and detailed review. We are happy to hear that you experienced a high end an upscale guest service at our hotel. EPIC is a place to ‘see and being seen’, especially on weekends, when many locals visit our restaurant AREA31 for the best Happy Hour in town, as well as restaurant ZUMA and KYMA lounge. We are thrilled that you had an amazing time and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

EPIC Miami is the best Kimpton I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. While most of their properties are small boutique hotels, EPIC is large and has all of the amenities one would expect from an upscale hotel. My suite had an amazing view of the city. The bathroom was the size of most regular hotel rooms. The furnishings were beautiful, contemporary, and unique looking. The Exhale Spa location in the hotel was fantastic. The spa facilities and pool were beautiful and well kept, and my massage was lovely. The property also has two restaurants and a lounge. One of the restaurants, Zuma, is the first American location of the award winning restaurant of the same name in London. With a full service spa and top rated restaurant, EPIC is a Miami hotspot! Since the hotel is a popular place to hang out the valet situation can be hectic, but the staff is great about making sure hotel guests are given top priority. My only complaint was the quality of the room service. I loved that you could order 24/7, but the food was definitely mediocre. Though with the superior quality of everything else at the hotel, the mediocre room service food is no deal breaker.

From the 20-30 somethings always dressed up and hanging out, to the grand lobby and fancy entrance with luxury cars parked out front, EPIC offers an instant scene without all the congestion of South Beach...but right by the bridge so getting to SoBe is quick and easy. If you are looking for the Miami experience, this place is it!

Room Tip: To get around paying for w-fi, sign up (for free) for the Kimpton loyalty program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNR683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline P, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

CNR683
Thanks for your amazing comments. We are honored to be named the best Kimpton you have ever experienced. EPIC is definitely a hotspot in Miami. If you are enjoying a core fusion class at Exhale, relaxing pool side, or dining at restaurant AREA31 or ZUMA, EPIC has something to offer for everyone.
We are glad you had a wonderful time and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $243 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing