We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Stay for New Years Eve”
Review of Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Stay for New Years Eve”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a great hotel if you want to spend New Years Eve in Miami, and away from the South Beach madness. The epic is a very trendy hotel with spacious rooms and beautiful views of Biscayne Bay, especially at night. Hotel staff is friendly and efficient.
We had the 5 course dinner on New Years Eve at Area 31 on the hotel's 16th floor. The view from the terrace was amazing. The food and service, was fantastic! Zuma on the first floor is another good choice for Japanese food and drinks. We walked to Bayside Market Place which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Lots of restaurants and places to have cocktails during the day/night. We will definitely stay at the EPIC again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Patty B
Thanks for sharing such lovely comments about EPIC and our modern and spacious rooms. We hope you will be our guest this year’s New Years Eve, and dining at AREA31 and ZUMA again.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,217
    671
    202
    103
    69
See reviews for
643
1,213
151
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milbank, South Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a great experience at the Epic hotel during our exciting event of Visalus Vitality where 20 thousand people attended to promote health and prosperity via the #1 health and fitness challenge in the world!! www.sweetkarma.com

The hotel was clean, staff friendly, and there was a social hour with complementary wine. It was a blast, the pool beautiful and elegant. Lovely! Will stay there again most definately! The weather in Miami was actually cooler then it was in our homestate!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetkarmaRecipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
SweetkarmaRecipes
Thanks for your awesome review. We appreciate your comments about our clean and elegant hotel. We are glad that you and your group had a successful meeting. We definitely miss you at wine hour. Please be our guest again and return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

2 families stayed for 4 days ~ kids ages 14 thru 17 ~ both parents and kids loved the facility. Did not deal with ONE person there who wasn't smiling and/or helpful. We were on the club level which cost us $30 more a night, but we saved 4x's that amount. Continental breakfast was more than enough for all of us, Breads, cereals, meat & cheese, fruit, yogurt, granola. Beautiful sandwiches at noon and lovely light salads with open bar from 6 to 11 ~ almost didn't have to leave the hotel. Yes the club in the lobby was for the young and beautiful but if you're a people watcher, it was EXTEMELY ENTERTAINING~ the music didn't filter up to our room at all so that shouldn't be a worry. our rooms were clean and spacious. We had a city view, nice balcony from which we could enjoy overlooking the city. The concierge Letti was fabulous ~ she made a phone call and we were able to hit South Beach kimton hotel and they treated us just as well. we were given access to beach, chairs, towels and pool.
We have stayed with Kimpton in NY and DC and Miami didn't disappoint. would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Club level is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Betty N
Thanks for posting such an amazing review. It makes us happy that you, your kids and friends had a wonderful time at EPIC and enjoyed all our amenities to the fullest. We are glad Letti made a lasting impression on you and took good care of you. Thanks for being so loyal to Kimpton.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to EPIC soon.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Location is great. On the water, walking distance to a great outdoor shopping plaza, several good restaurants and the Miam Heat arena. Bathroom is large and modern, and has a separate shower and jetted bath. Not that it's saying much, but this might be the nicest hotel in which I've ever stayed.

The Japanese fusion restaurant in the lobby, Zuma, is way expensive but offers a pretty incredible dinner "experience."

Room Tip: Balconies facing two directions on corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Chris M
Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to hear that EPIC is one of the nicest hotels you have ever stayed. Our location is very convenient – close to the Miami Airline Arena, the new Ballpark Marlins Stadium, as well as sightseeing, shopping and dining. If you don’t like to go out – check out our signature restaurant AREA31 or award- winning restaurant ZUMA.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having traveled on five continents both for business and leisure, this hotel rates among the top 10. The views are beautiful; the service is exceptional and there is nothing bad to talk about....except that it is not in my home town! We prefer to stay here over South Beach or other Miami beach destinations. The pool on the 16th floor is unique. The staff are extremely accommodating. The wine hour each night is a great way to kick off the evening! Kimpton has masterfully established a one of a kind experience in an otherwise crowded luxury hotel market. Can't wait to return for our next trip!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Macmartirossian
Thanks for sharing such wonderful feedback with us. We are grateful for you rating EPIC amongst the top 10 hotels in the world you have been visiting. We can’ wait having you back as our guest and to mingle with you during our hosted evening wine hour again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

his is a trendy hotel, very pretty but with poor service, especially cleanliness! We had a very bad experience. On our first night we realized the sheets were very dirty. With make up stains and hair all over the bad (and it wasn’t ours). Clearly someone slept there just before we arrived. It was 11pm and we called front desk to ask for someone to change the sheets. They didn’t even apologize and started arguing that the hair was ours!!! What disrespect. And then they said they didn’t have 24-hour cleaning people and they could do nothing! The best they could was to send sheets and I was supposed to make my bad. The sheets they gave us were clearly for emergency purposes (because of the low quality) and the next day they didn’t even bother to change the sheets for the good ones. For the price you pay and for the standard of the hotel they should have 24 hour emergency cleaning service. Furthermore, on the halls we’ve seen trays with food leftovers and it stayed there during the hole day. The valet takes a long time - around 10/15 min - to get your car and it is very expensive (something around USD 32). What a disappointment!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Monica H
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us through tripadvisor. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced while you were our guest. We are sorry to hear that we did not deliver the service we are known for and you expected. We hope you will be giving us another chance. Please visit us again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and trendy. The music is always going in the lobby, so it keeps the Miami vibe going day and night. It's in the financial district, which was nice to be outside of the south beach madness. The guests and employees were young and beautiful, which added to the hotel ambiance.

The pools are great and book a room with a river view. Peek-a-boo bathrooms are very spacious and perfect for a Miami stay. The patios were VERY large.

Zuma sushi restaurant were flavors of Japan. Excellent quality and club like atmosphere. Make a reservation.

Ask about the spa treatment of the month This month it was $99 for 60-minutes. Great value.

This is managed by Kimpton, so enroll in their hotel program. It's free to and it gets you comp Internet plus a $10 minibar credit.

Happy stays!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinEatTravelLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
ERIN F
Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our modern and spacious rooms with large balconies and amazing views over Brickell and Biscayne Bay. Our current ‘Exhale Spa Package’ is definitely a ‘steal’! We are glad you felt pampered and well taken care of. We appreciate you being a member of our loyalty program - Kimpton In Touch, with great perks such as “Raid the Minibar” and complimentary wifi.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton EPIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton EPIC Hotel

Property: Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123 (Formerly EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton EPIC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, Kimpton EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton EPIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing