We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful and very EPIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very EPIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We only stayed here before our cruise ship left...wished we would've stayed here longer! The staff were great and helpful. The room was spacious and very well set out, the view was great from the balcony. Pool area was lushous! It was reasonably close to everything and a great walk along the river and out to the bay.

Room Tip: If you want a spectacular view ask for the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50opd2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
50opd2j
Thanks for your great comments. Even you just had a short stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed every minute of it. Our proximity to the Port of Miami is perfect for guests leaving to or returning from a cruise. We are glad you selected a room on the upper floors; the views are just stunning from there. We appreciate your kind words regarding our employees. Each one of them is truly amazing and caring about our guests.
Please select EPIC again when going on your next cruise. We are looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,026
    575
    174
    85
    54
See reviews for
567
1,086
132
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Miami EPIC Hotel on several occasions and it is always fabulous! The customer service is outstanding and the hotel is spotless and classy. I highly recommend the EPIC to everyone. Spend your money here, it is totally worth every penny!

Room Tip: Request a view of the pool and water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laffinalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Laffinalot
Thanks for your excellent review. We appreciate you recommending us to other travelers. We promise to continuously wow you with our outstanding customer service and EPIC amenities.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wow. We had heard some very good things about EPIC, but really didn't do any research before deciding to make reservations. As Kimpton fans, we were expecting a well-designed, creative, non-cookie cutter experience with nice room and good restaurants. It was all of those things...on steroids. The biggest surprise was the size of the building (half hotel/half residential)--gigantic. Beautiful lobby design and decor.

Check in was simple and friendly, bell staff extremely helpful and friendly, and the guest room truly impressive. We opted for a water-view room, which was well worth the extra $. It is not typical oceanfront, but rather on the Miami River looking out to Biscayne Bay. The juxtaposition of the water and all the interesting buildings made the view very interesting, especially at night. We were up pretty high (34th floor I think), which made it all the more spectacular. Great to have breakfast on the balcony looking out at everything. Just hold onto your croissant--it can be really breezy.

The bars and restaurants were chic and high quality. And the size of the crowds there on a Sunday night were unbelievable. We had some very good and creative drinks at both, and dinner at the Asian restaurant on the first floor. Terrific bartenders--one gave us amazing information on the special ingredients he was using--all fresh juices, purees, and ground spices. Tasty, fancy, great service.

Loved the roof-top pool area (on the 14th floor, not the very top of the hotel). Two beautiful pools, great seating and sunning areas, and helpful, friendly pool staff.

Only 2 negatives I would point out. Parking is extremely expensive for anywhere outside NYC (but the parking staff was efficient and nice). The other was a wanna-be model acting (not convincingly) as a front desk person. I was looking for an area guide, and she said I needed to get it from the concierge, who was literally standing 8 feet away from her, and busy with 5 people. After several minutes I went back to her, to ask her if she could grab one for me. After an audible groan, she asked someone else to get it. The only joy of the situation was when I said "sorry for the trouble", she didn't recognize sarcasm and said "that's alright". Could be worse, should could be a wanna-be model posing as a nuclear scientist.

Any way, a really great experience, and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Book a high floor with a water view. Spend some time sitting at the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBuchmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
TheBuchmans
Thanks for your wonderful comments from your stay and being such loyal Kimpton fans. Sorry for our competitive valet rates and for our ‘wonna-be front desk model’. We are thrilled your overall stay was very enjoyable and you were very impressed with our guest service, hotel amenities and ambience.
We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful sunny Miami weather at our pool area on the 16th floor, overlooking Biscayne Bay and the Port of Miami.
We are happy to hear you will be visiting again, please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wow, what a great place. I stayed - in best hotels in Paris, London, Amsterdam, Tokyo, Moscow...this one tops them all. The Spa on 16th floor is amazing. The staff is very attentive. We were welcomed by Alejandra at the front desk. Let me tell you - this girl can win Miss Universe EASY!
Stayed in Rm 2708 - nice view from a balcony.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InnAtSweetWaterFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
obninsk23
Wow – what a great review. Thanks for giving us 10 stars and for rating EPIC above all top hotels in the world. We truly appreciate your comments about our amazing staff and our very own “Miss Universe” Alejandra.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

I have to go 6 times a year to Miami and I stayed always in the mandarin oriental hotel. To be honnest I think the Epic hotel is much better! It's newer and the people working in epic are more friendly! You have to stay in this hotel! A great thing is their club level... For 75$ a day you have free food and drinks as much as you want. The only negative point is that there is no jacuzzi...

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Emmanuel V
Thanks for your wonderful review and for naming EPIC the best hotel in Miami. Your comments about our friendly staff and club level service are truly appreciated. We totally agree – a room on our club level is definitely worth it, as we offer different meal presentation during the day, from a healthy start to good night delights, something for everyone.
We are glad you had an amazing time and looking forward to your return. Please be our guest again.
Best wishes,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

A very nice place to stay. Top end without top end prices. The staff is very helpful. They make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Make sure walk along the river and dine outside. The views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curtbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Curtbauer
Thanks for your nice comments. It makes us happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff was helpful and welcoming.
We are looking forward to your next stay at EPIC. Please return soon.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We loved our stay in the nice hotel in the downtown part of Miami .
The rooms are comfortable and quiet, with a nice terrace. Overall is pretty clean too. I love it because is out of the busy area of south beach. Inside the hotel there is a fantastic Japanese restaurant.
We totally raccomand it and we will for sure be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EleUdinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelinePloettner, Manager at EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
ElenaUdin
Thanks for your nice comments. We are happy to hear you loved our hotel and had a comfy and relaxing stay. It is great to see that you had an amazing dining experience at ZUMA, which is famous for its modern and contemporary Japanese cuisine. We appreciate you recommending EPIC to your friends and family. We are looking forward to your return. Please be our guest again.
Kind regards,
Jacqueline Ploettner, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Suite 29, Miami, FL 33131-2123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EPIC Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Miami, a sparkling cosmopolitan destination on the bank of the Miami River where it meets Biscayne Bay. A stunning addition to Miami, this hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, epitomizes urban design while offering guests a level of style and service expected of such a resort. With exceptional amenities, breathtaking views and dining venues like Area 31, EPIC Hotel makes for an unparalleled Miami experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epic Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing