We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live animals were exciting; shows/exhibits a little lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$57*
and up
Dolphin Experience at the Miami Seaquarium
Ranked #25 of 215 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Live animals were exciting; shows/exhibits a little lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We loved all the live animals at Seaquarium--the dolphins, birds, orca, sea lions, etc. The show and the exhibits seemed a little lacking. The exhibits didn't seem to offer enough information, and two of the three shows were lacking the interest of shows at other seaworld-type attractions. The orca/dolphins show was the most interesting and fun. The manatee exhibit seemed so small and a bit sad. This is a good attraction, but not the best of the best, IMHO.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glzz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the shows and animals. Many of our manatees are being rehabilitated from accidents that occurred in their habitat. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small scale Seaworld”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you are just looking for a place to take the kids for some dolphin action this will do but don't expect Seaworld - its a relatively small place but offers enough coordinated shows you can enjoy a long afternoon here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review. We are a great place to enjoy by yourself or with your family. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great animal shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The best part of the Seaquarium are the animal shows such as killer whales, dolphins, and sea lions. It is an interesting experience for kids. It was impressive to see what some of the animals can be trained to do.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the shows and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“to go with your family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Nice place to visit with your family. I went with my family and they really enjoyed the time there. There are nice water shows. Good place to walk as well

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive reviews. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with your family and appreciate your positive comments.

We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sea Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went for half a day and saw a variety of its shows -- the dolphins, flipper (dolphins), sea lions and killer whales. Very entertaining and fun for the family. There's a specific schedule to follow in order to see all the shows and luckily we went with others who knew exactly when and where to go. The only improvement could be to the sound system. It was very difficult to hear/understand the presenters during the show. Otherwise a great time.

If you do not want to get wet during the shows, do not sit in the first few (5 or so) rows.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KCNY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review. It's great to hear that you were entertained by the shows and that you were able to find your way to each one. When you first enter, we hand out schedules, we are sorry for missing you. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing