We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Little Havana: Colorful Escape!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Havana

Little Havana
Book In Advance
and up
South Beach Electric Bike Rental
Ranked #24 of 320 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The spirited Cuban neighborhood of Miami where the sights, sounds and smells are intoxicating. Be sure to sample a traditional Cuban meal or grab a quick sandwich cubano and some empanadas at any of the walk up counters.
Vidalia, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Havana: Colorful Escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Little Havana is an escape to a colorful Cuban culture. If you want to have a great time and meet great, friendly people plan to attend the Calle Ocho Festival! There is great food, great music and awesome people on hand! I've done extensive research on the Little Havanna community for my book, "A Shark in Calle Ocho." It was some really fun research! You can purchase "A Shark in Calle Ocho" at Amazon.com.

Visited September 2012
3 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A piece of Cuba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Little Havana actually makes the visitor feel like he's in Cuba. Everyone speaks Spanish, there are great Cuban eateries and visuals all around. Even if you're just on a layover, take time to make a stop here. You can grab something to eat at Versailles and then walk across the Latin Walk of Fame and over to Parque Domino (Domino Park) to watch some mean domino games. I loved the flavor of this piece of Cuba in the US.

Visited July 2012
4 Thank Tamika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nothing to See”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We heard about Little Havana as a place to exprience some Cuban culture. But there is really nothing to see or experience. We just drove along the 8th street. It was empty and desolate. Nothing going on. You can just cross out this stop in your plan.

Visited March 2013
7 Thank Byron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Run down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Looks like a hood. Run down and full of drunks and crack heads. Not a safe place to be at night. There is nothing to do here either. Run down store fronts and everything is made in China

Visited May 2013
9 Thank SharonBayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Living Breathing Cuban Neighborhood in Miami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had been here before but now I work here and am here mon-fri. It's more than a place worth a quick drive thru of glance because it's living and breathing. I am on the city bus now headed to my broward county express bus and these people on the bus live, socialize, pray, eat and work here along 8th (Calle Ocho). Plan to spend a day. It's not a big place but you must be leisure like those that call this home. There are a number of walking tours for the houses and buildings and there are more organized tours. Be sure to: have a cafe and pastry (cuban coffee is a tiny shot of caffeine and sugar!), lunch of slow cooked, oh so tender pork, beans and rice, beer and/or cocktail, watch or play donimoes (mostly men but a few women venture in), a movie at the tower (subtitled), the many galleries for art (or showing on street), at night more elegant meals and music/dancing (flamenco) and just the tiny shops for food, trinkets, fabric, all the places a community who walks needs close by. Prices are reasonable if for the locals. You may not be understood if you only speak english (like me) but a smile and/or bilingual person to help goes a long way! Slow down and enjoy the place!

Visited May 2013
3 Thank PattyMayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Havana also viewed


Been to Little Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing