We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“AMAZING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
Book In Advance
Special Offer
$84.99*
and up
Miami and the Keys Explorer Pass
Ranked #7 of 318 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Huge area to cover..but great using maps..so worth it..loved the giraffes...loved it..my daughters are big girls but so enjoyed the day there..we got there before lunch so most of the animals were out and not asleep so we were able to see most..clean..just great and our first visit to Miami..we all thought we would include a little of everything..zoo being one of them..great day

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryannjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,820
    1,047
    294
    81
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A walk in the wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a superlative attraction for all ages. The zoo is located on a large tract that looks and feels like a wild animal park. Separate areas are devoted to animals from Asia, Africa, Australia, and South America, and the cageless exhibits are located on expansive islands that leave the impression that you are out in the bush. Maybe it was the excellent weather and light crowd, but for whatever reason, animals were visible and active the day we visited, especially the Sumatran tiger and African elephants. The animal-motif playground and splash park will be a big hit with kids. Lakes and tropical vegetation contribute to the park atmosphere. Overall, a world-class zoo housing many endangered species.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Princeton919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Zoo we've been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Zoo Miami is by far the best zoo that we've been to. Our two year old just kept going and going with all of the exciting animals. The open concept enclosures gave him clear site lines for watching the animals move. We used our zoo pass from our local zoo and got half price admission plus 10% off on the gift shop and food stops. We could have easily spent an entire weekend at this zoo and not been bored.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kids love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have a friend that goes every sunday with her child and still enjoy it. I have been there two times only and think is a great place for the family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hparra76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome zoo !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I really loved this zoo. My girlfriend and I travel all the time and everywhere we go we try and visit the zoo. That being said I think this is one of the best zoos ive ever been to except for the san diego zoo. The open concept is awesome it feels like you could just jump the rails and touch the animals. We watched the river otter show and it was great. They feed them fish and the otters went crazy especially the babies. We also rented the bikes which was 32 dollars for two hours which was worth it becasue the miami zoo is quite large and with the bikes we was able to cover a lot more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank arc_lineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing