We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Had a blast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
Book In Advance
Special Offer
$84.99*
and up
Miami and the Keys Explorer Pass
Ranked #7 of 318 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had a blast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved the giraffe feeding. It was totally worth it. The food wasn't as expensive as I expected to be. I didn't like that you had to search deeply for the animals because most of them were hiding. It's a long park so you have to really know your way around to actually see everything. Overall, a nice place to enjoy your day with the family. There's a splashing area where kids can get wet and run around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,821
    1,049
    296
    81
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami and Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Miami Metro Zoo is sooo nice! Animals have a lot of space and not in small cages. To walk the park you will need about 4 hours!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank StoneCrabLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Huge the zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I would definitely recommend to rent bike in the zoo. It is really huge. I didn't and it was mistake. Save your time and feets

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldMoscower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having read previous reviews on this site we were not sure what to expect. It's fantastic! The animals are up close and personal and despite what others have said you do not need binoculars. Some are at a little distant but this simply means they have lots of space to enjoy and they do wander closer at times. You certainly do not need the bicycles, we walked the whole zoo comfortably in 5 hours - you will miss things if you cycle. Do feed the giraffes and visit the childrens' zoo, even if you don't have any! The staff are passionate and knowledgeable. The place is well laid out, really just one route to follow and designed so that you don't miss anything. VERY clean and the animals look happy and well looked after. Do check online though for coupons,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SugarbabeVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beauties/Beast's and other rare creatures ……......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I, hubby and friend's went to the Zoo on a Saturday and it was not too crowded. My husband had the idea to start our trip counter-clockwise which was a great decision to get away from the crowd ;) The grounds are very well kept and the more than 1200 plant variety overwhelming beautiful. My favorite was the Aviary, Wings of Asia with all the different birds walking/flying around and that you can be so close-up with them. It was just sad that I didn’t have more time to spend there….so better be there when the Zoo opens;) I will definitely visit again!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing