We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome with kindness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
Ranked #38 of 122 Hotels in Miami
como
Level Contributor
381 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
“A warm welcome with kindness”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is located just above the north part of Miami downtown.
Like the nearby hotels, such as Marriott, Doubletree, .., it can be easily reached from the airport by taxy or by public transportation (if you choose this method, you can take a metro at the airport to the metro rail station, then a train for 2,5 dollars each to government center, then the metro mover which has a station of the Omni loop next to the hotel).
The hotel is a high and big building, like many of the Hilton's chain, all covered with glasses and mirrors.
To reach the rooms you have always to take a lift to lobby, pass through it and use another elevator to the floors: this is the only strange aspect of this place I did not appreciated.
I loved our check-in experience with Liza, who gave us a double room at floor 21, the highest, since I had asked for a high room, and has been kind and able to respond to all our requests.
Unless you are Gold or Diamond HH (who gain free wifi in all the hotel), you can have free wifi only in lobby and at the bar, or use one of the pcs next to the reception, while the wifi in room costs 10 euros per day.
The floors and rooms are many, and the 5 elevators are often not fast enough, especially in the morning, so if you are assigned a room at the highest floor you can wait long to use one lift.
Our room was pretty big, with two enormous bed and a spectacular, amazing view of Miami downtown and a little part of South Beach and the inner part of Miami.
The furniture was a bit old, but still in good condition and working. We found even tea and coffee facilities.
The bathroom had a nice bath and all the toiletries we needed.
I expected to find a fridge in room, but for us it was not essential.
The soundproofing between rooms was almost perfect, but it wasn't between the room and the outside.
For the last day, we asked for a late check-out and they gave us.
The personnel of this hotel met all our expectations so I have to recognize that they made us feel like special guests here.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms have an amazing view towards Miami downtown and South Beach. High floor rooms are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucoh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We couldn't be happier than to read your review, thank you for providing such detail about your stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown. From our spacious and comfortable accommodations to our convenient location, it is wonderful that you were able to enjoy much of what we offer, and we appreciate your highlighting it all! Our associates truly love to help create a memorable experience for all of our guests and we will share your comments with everyone here. Please do know that refrigerators are available upon request. Wireless Internet is, as you have noted, complimentary in our public areas. We do hope that you will return, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    1,411
    637
    232
    128
See reviews for
946
942
185
879
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west hartford, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

excellent hotel in downtown miami- Parking was expensive but the proximity of metromover (free) makes it easy and economical to sightsee and travel around the city. We did have to make transfer to buses or metrorail to go out farther than the downtown. We took bus 208 after getting off at the government center stop and found an excellent Spanish restaurant (casa Juancho) in little Havana

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
The MetroMover is a favorite way to get around the area for so many of our guests and we are delighted you enjoyed the convenience! Thank you so much for sharing your comments as well as the details of how you were able to travel with such ease. Miami certainly has so many amazing dining choices. We hope to see you again at the Hilton Miami Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It began with the check-in. We were "offered" complimentary wi-fi being told that it was a "promotion for the month of September". I was pretty confused as the hotel already provided a free wi-fi service as part of the hotel ammenities. This service was horrible and so frustrating as it would only cut out every couple of minutes; so go elsewhere for wi-fi. Their complimentary breakfast was of a plate bought to your table that consisted of 1x yoghurt, 1x crossaint, 1x bowl of fruit salad, 1x muffin, 1x jam and 1x cream cheese spread (none of your choosing). You also get a juice, tea and coffee. Our food was stale on the 2 occassions we had breakfast so we stopped going. The room was clean and tidy with nice big windows overlooking the street/opposite buildings. We were high up and were not bothered by outside noise. The room only had a kettle but no fridge. The pool was average; I never swam in it. You can visit the Venetian Pools (which are gorgeous) for $11.50 entry or head to South Beach which is lovely also. This hotel is not situated in the best location. If you plan on heading to downtown, South Beach or Bayside (like we were), you are best staying at a location like Holiday Inn. They are right across the street from Bayside which has lots of restaurants including Hard Rock and shopping. Tour buses also leave from here. It will save you an absolute bundle on taxi fares. Tourists get easily scammed with these ridiculous taxis- traveller beware. They were the worst I had experienced across the states.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TraveLeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your opinions, your feedback is extremely important to us. Our staff strives to ensure that all of our guests always enjoy their stay, so we are disappointed to learn that your experience with us did not reflect that. While we are certainly glad you appreciated your clean, comfortable guest room, we truly regret if any other aspects of your visit did not meet with expectations. Please know that there is a fee for Internet access in individual guest rooms, but wireless is complimentary in all public areas. We do apologize if you encountered any issues while accessing the web while you were here or if the continental breakfast choices were not more to your liking. We are deeply concerned when a guest is not fully impressed and we will be certain to share your comments with our management team. It is our hope to have the opportunity to win back your trust in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have spent one night in December 2013 and it was a very good experience as usual in Hilton Hotels. Crew very professional and good accommodations. We recommend it. The hotel is well located, there's a train station just around the corner, as well as some shops, gas station and supermarket.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fmonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are so glad to hear that your visit with us at the Hilton Miami Downtown was such a good experience! Our associates strive to provide the very best service and it is wonderful to know you found them to be professional. Our convenient location allows our guests to enjoy Miami to its fullest. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed three nights at Hilton, and had a great experience. While selecting hotels, we were choosing between this hotel and the hotels at Bayside, but figured Hilton would be better value and I beleive we were right. They did not charge us for anything but the room and parking ($25 per night to self park, $28 to valet).

You could consider any hotel close to the Metromover to be central, and it's just around the corner from Hilton, which means max 10 minutes to Bayside and 20 minutes to Brickell. If you don't mind walking, you'll probably reach AA arena in 15 minutes, and Bayside in 20 or so.

The rooms are not modern, but proper, and you can really get an awesome view over the city or bay. The pool area was great, and the fitness room had the standard cardio and weights equipment. Staff was generally super nice, but the lobby bar staff were a bit odd.

All in all we were very happy with our stay. Starbucks coffee in the lobby bar was a big plus too.

Room Tip: Get bay or city view - it is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liawim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
It is fantastic to know that your three day stay with us was such a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Providing excellent service is of utmost importance and we are so glad you found our associates to be so nice. As you mentioned, the MetroMover is right outside our door, taking you to Bayside Marketplace and more while AmericanAirlines Arena is just a short walk. From the views to our City Vu pool and more, guests can enjoy so much while staying. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to the Hilton Miami Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our family of five just returned from a week stay at the Hilton and we were overall very pleased. The staff was more than helpful when we asked for a room change, restaurant advice, and directions. Our first night there we ate at the restaurant in the lobby, our meal took quite a long time to get to our table and when it did it was incorrect. The manager apologized and comped our entire meal the following night. The only real negative aspect was the taxi drivers outside the hotel. They will quote you a price for your destination, except they never knew how to get there. They would drive around with the meter running until we gave them directions from our phones. This happened on two occasions, so beware of the taxi drivers!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank goredbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed our downtown Miami location for your family’s week long stay, as well as the service you received from our associates. While it isn’t clear as to what transpired with your dining experience it is great to know that you were satisfied by the arrangements our manager made for your next meal. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The lobby is very nice, the other common areas are showing a little wear and tear, but the real issue with this property is sound proofing. There was some sort of outdoor concert nearby where you could hear every note no matter where in the room you were. After being relocated twice we finally got a room that made it possible to sleep but it took multiple attempts before the staff treated the problem as serious. The front desk staff that checked us in and out were very nice but the people we dealt with over the problems spent more time putting up barriers and making excuses than helping us. Once we were in a proper room things were fine but the ordeal of relocating us was made so much more frustrating than it needed to be I am not confident we would have been treated well had anything else occurred.

Room Tip: Only accessible rooms have soundproofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cow_manx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. We are truly disappointed that your stay did not live up to your expectations and if you had any issues with your accommodations or sounds from outside our hotel. While we are glad that our associates helped provide you with a guest room that made you more comfortable, we apologize for the frustration you encountered. It is our hope to welcome you back in the future for a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 122 in Miami
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Property: Hilton Miami Downtown
Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
#36 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing