We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Miami Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
Ranked #33 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful but there were numerous service problems. Upon arrival a bellman took my luggage into the hotel...of course I tipped him. He then turned over my luggage to another bellman that indicated he was taking my luggage to my room...of course I tipped him. The bell captain then indicated that my luggage would be delivered shortly. After sightseeing, 3.5 hours later...still no luggage in my room. I went to call the front desk and neither phone in the room worked so I had to go down to the front desk to report the phone problem and inquire about my luggage. Finally a bellman delivered the luggage to me while I was speaking to the concierge....of course I tipped him. 3.5 hours and $25 in tips to get my luggage....outrageous. The valet staff was great and it was comforting to see hotel security. However, the layout of the hotel is very confusing and I really couldn't recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Providing excellent service is our top priority and we sincerely apologize if your experience was anything less. It is regrettable to learn that you were inconvenienced in any way during your stay as the result of miscommunication between our associates. All guest feedback, positive or otherwise, is greatly important to us and we will share your comments with everyone here to reinforce our commitment to providing the highest level of service to all of our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,949 - 1,955 of 3,817 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Miami - Hilton Downtown
The Hotel is very well located for visiting Bay side, South Beach.
We stayed three nights prior to a cruise.
We spoke to the concierge who was great and booked our Everglades tours, and told us about free metro to bay side plus, $2 bus to South beach, and £42 transfer to Fort Lauderdale cruise terminal, great advice.
We ate one night at Bayside Lombardi’s and Tony Chans Water Side see separate review.
The rooms are spacious, but no mini bar/fridge. The hotel needs some updating as we felt it is showing its age.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

The Hilton Miami Downtown provides the very best pre or post cruise accommodations! Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our concierge can share some helpful insider tips and tricks for getting around Miami and is always happy to direct our guests to the best that the area has to offer. Please do know that refrigerators are available upon request and if there is ever any way we can make your stay more comfortable, we would love to know! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Visited this hotel for business and it was great for a quick stay. I would not suggest if you are interested in partying on South Beach as it is about 20 min away (don't let the bellman fool you) and you can find comparable rates directly on the beach. Beds were comfortable, service was good and room service menu is pretty comprehensive-- not much more to ask for on a business trip.

Room Tip: Lower floors still offer a nice view, but aren't as hard to get to with elevator traffic. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfessorVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you so much for providing your feedback of your stay with us at the Hilton Miami Downtown. From your comfortable guestroom accommodations to the service you received, it seems as though you had a positive stay and for that we are truly grateful. The downtown Miami area is just a short trip from South Beach but also offers some amazing attractions right outside our door from the AmericanAirlines Area to the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts, shopping, dining and more! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a great location and the staff is friendly and helpful but the condition of the hotel is disturbing. In early March of 2013, we stayed here several nights - coming in early for a conference. It was cold outside at night (40's and 50's) and there was no heat to be found. As the week warmed up, the AC didn't work either. At night the hallways were freezing and we put a towel under the door in order to prevent the cold air from streaming into the room. One day, with warning they had to shut down the water for two and a half hours. The first morning of the conference, several hundred attendees, they ran out of hot water and even at 1:30, there was no hot water for a shower. There was no hairdryer in the room and when we requested one, they sent up a used one that stopped working after 20 seconds due to overheating. They did replace the broken one right away. The maid came in to clean and said that since the next day was our last, she wasn't changing the sheets - said she was tired as she had been working 6 days a week. Another attendee said that their bathroom hadn't been cleaned when they checked in. Many of the conference attendees did complain of the same issues. Views from most of the rooms are great of the port and performance centers and financial district. Room was nicely arranged and comfortable. Can't imagine that the Hilton name is standing behind this hotel. But think they will doing an overhaul soon or selling to someone else.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators and vending areas - we had to ask twice to be moved. Even if you ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

It is certainly disappointing that we did not live up to your expectations, as we strive to provide exceptional guest service and to create a positive, memorable stay for all our guests. From what you have described, yours is certainly not the type of experience we would hope and for that, we are truly sorry. While we appreciate knowing you enjoyed the location of our hotel, we deeply regret if you were in any way inconvenienced by any maintenance or housekeeping issues and your comments will be shared with everyone here. It is our hope to be able to welcome you back again for the exceptional stay that you deserve. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Rooms are comfortable, but rooms, furnishings and hotel in general need updating. Mold on bath/shower wall tiles. Cramped bathroom and small closet. Rates are too high for what you get - nothing particularly better than lower priced brands. And you have to pay extra for internet access. Inconvenient elevators - you have to take two different elevators in different locations every time you want to go to or from street level - stupid design. Staff are mostly invisible - too busy talking amongst themselves rather than serving customers. Conference facilities are good with surprisingly good food service.

Room Tip: So-called bay view rooms mean that you have to look at an angle around other buildings to maybe see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSPtravelerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

All guest feedback, positive or otherwise is truly appreciated. While we are glad to learn that you found our guestrooms to be comfortable, it is terribly disheartening to learn that you were not completely impressed with your stay. We always encourage all of our guests to share any concerns with us at the time of their visit, and regret that we were not able to resolve your issues while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Your feedback will be shared with all of our associates to ensure that our strict attention to detail and service are being maintained by all. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the free skytrain station but the condition of the hotel itself and rooms are running down, it sure need some upgrades and remodeling.
Also this hotel do not have any elevators that can take you straight up to your room, one has to take the elevator from the ground floor up to the lobby area for check-in, then take another set of elevators to go up to your room, but if there's a convention going one with a full house of guests, waiting for those elevators is a pain in the neck. Rooms are still prettty spacious but the bathrooms should need some upgrades and renovation. The downfall at this hotel is that they only provide free wifi down in the lobby area so if one wants to work quietly in their room, you have to pay (per day) for internet usage fees :-(

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, at least 3rd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

While we love to know you enjoyed our convenient location and spacious guestrooms, it is certainly regrettable that you were not completely impressed with all aspects of your stay. As you mentioned, we do provide complimentary wireless in all public areas of our hotel but we apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way. We will be certain to share your comments with our management team in an effort to improve our services to all. We hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can fully impress you with all that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I must admit that by changing their Concierge Room to Diamond only members, Gold get a continental breakfast or a discounted buffet. My water was delivered hot later by a bellman that wanted a tip which he did not get, I was disappointed right off. The staff other than the Brisa Bistro and Valet were not very friendly I asked directions and one even made me feel rather silly.The rooms are showing their age in wear and tear mine had hand marks all over the windows marring my skyline view and the desk had a sticky substance on it. The a/c units are noisy. The Bistro and valet staff were very friendly and attentive making a difference in my day.

Room Tip: Facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your point of view. It is with great regret that we learn of your stay, as this is not the experience that we intend for any of our guests. All reviews we receive are taken very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback with our management team so that we can resolve any matters you have brought to our attention, both with regard to maintenance and housekeeping. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can regain your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 127 in Miami
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#27 Family Hotel in Miami
#36 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $167 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing