We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

““My Way or The Highway” Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Everglades Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miami Everglades Resort
Save
You added Miami Everglades Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Carthage, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
““My Way or The Highway” Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The horrible experience with management expressed by KarenR14 “Get a New Staff With a New Attitude” and mjmj18 “Never Again” are consistent with my experience. Management was difficult to contact when issues arose. Staff seemed afraid to allow campers access to the management. When queried the staff would claim that the management was not present on site and that they did not know when they would be in. Calls to management were never returned. I don’t know whether this was a deliberate tactic to stall issues until they were overcome by events or the camper departed.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Some of the issues that were observed appeared to come from a lack of communication between staff and management, becoming a frustrating experience for both campers and staff. The staff are fellow campers on a full time or seasonal basis. They appeared to be coerced by management in not taking the customer’s side with fear of not only losing their jobs, but losing their camping privileges.

The management is from the “My way or the highway” school of thought. When the management were reached they were very curt and unprofessional. Management never demonstrated patience of listening to the customer. Arbitrary enforcement of rules by management makes campers feel that they are being discriminated against. Given the large size of the campground and amount of revenue it generates, it definitely deserves a trained professional hospitality management team.

Note: The resort does not have a fitness center per se, but there are fitness classes during high season and a nice one mile cycling / walking path available year round. There are limited opportutnities to exercise during rainy season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    57
    19
    5
    18
See reviews for
95
74
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visisted after 10 years absence. . They USED to be a KOA.

The sites are vaired Get 222 for a BIG camp site with lots of space and little shade. You are in Florida enjoy the sun.

Big round pool. Walking track . Plenty of activitites , Clean washrooms with showers. Laundry. Well equiped store.

Events all week.

People great the "non-seasonals" as firends.

Wow

Go to key Biscayne, Key Largo, South Beach

South of Miami is BETTER than the KEy.

Room Tip: Get a spot in the 200+ sites. The original sites are under avocado trees. THUMP.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at Miami Everglades twice, both visits during the Homestead Nascar race weekend in November of 2009 and 2011. It is crazy busy that time of year, but the staff here is always pleasant and professional. We never experienced rudeness or overly picky staff members. In fact, they go out of their way to ensure the entire park is clean, quiet and safe, even at max capacity with huge crowds drinking. Yes, they do enforce order, speeding and quiet periods and that is good! Very family-friendly. The pool, spa, grass/landscaping in the sites, bathrooms, outside games and field areas were super clean and well-maintained. The only complaint is the extremely weak WIFI in the park, but worked good in the laundry/office building. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aktraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This campground is beautiful. We stayed here for 5 days. Very well maintained, lots of activities, amd only 11 miles from Homestead! Couldn't ask for a better location at a great price. Easy access to local attractions and markets. Onsite mini grocery store and restaurant too. Check in package has all the info you need, including maps and local information.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenilutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to this campground for 25 years. I live 10 minutes away and it feels like I am miles from home. Love the peacefulness. Cabins are great. Prices a tad high, but where else can you go if you want to stay local.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casmi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

the place is neat, huge, quite, they have lots of spots to chose with electricity and water. The staff is friendly and helpful, we spent saturday noon to sunday with our 2 kids 4 and 5 they had great time chasing frogs at night, enjoying the pool and having a bbq. Bathrooms are clean and Im very very picky about that. I recommend it to a short get a way especially if you live in miami.. On sunday you can do the everglade parks. Really happy about this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaEugenia98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just returned from camping overnight there with our 33 ft travel trailer. This park is close to everything yet far in the farmlands. The staff was very efficient and friendly. The beautifully maintained grounds and foliage, immaculate bathrooms and facilities, coupled with the fact that it was quiet and serene-will definitely make this our number one destination campground when in Miami. We enjoyed the full hook-ups to include sewage, the free wifi and cable. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yeldred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Aloft Miami Brickell
Aloft Miami Brickell
#53 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridian Hotel
#3 of 17 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#11 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Everglades Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Everglades Resort

Property: Miami Everglades Resort
Address: 20675 SW 162nd Ave, Miami, FL 33187-3603 (Formerly Miami Everglades Campgrounds)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Everglades Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami Everglades Resort is an RV resort & campground with over 300 RV sites, tent campsites, cabins, and lodges for rent. The park is located just 30 miles south of Miami, half way to Key Largo. The park sits among avocado, mango and palm trees and is surrounded by tropical floral nurseries and farms. The location provides the perfect stop for touring Miami or visiting the Florida Keys. Both the Everglades National Park and Homestead Speedway are within 15 miles of the park. Amenties include: Lg pull-thru sites, free cable TV, WiFi, heated swimming pool, hot tub, spotless bathhouses, laundry facilities. A variety of recreational activities such as swimming, volleyball, shuffle board, and more are available withing the park and tourist attractions are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miami Everglades Campgrounds Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing