We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always good”

Toucan's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Mexico Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Nothing complements Toucan's great, fresh seafood and refreshing tropical drinks like the cleansing salt air, gentle breezes and waves rolling onto the beach just steps from our door. The menu at Toucan's of Mexico Beach reflects exactly who we are. Toucan's of Mexico Beach Florida combines the three must-have ingredients for the perfect seafood restaurant experience: An amazing menu of the freshest Gulf of Mexico seafood, a fun, friendly family atmosphere, and ocean-side dining with a relaxing view of our white sand beaches.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“always good”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

food is very good, can be hectic during tourist season, excellent locale, on the sand. excellent place to take out of towners for the scenery.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honest R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    298
    212
    98
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Go for the location”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The atmosphere reminded me of a Mexican restaurant on the beach. The view is spectacular. The oysters were delightful. The waiter was honest about the monitors made fom a mix. I would not bother with them. The she-crab soup was rich and delicious just order a cup I wouldreccamend as it is so rich it is worth stopping by.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epazota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location with mediocre cuisine”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Reopened after the Christmas season our experience might have been marred by start up jitters. This should never interfere with the quality of simple seafood. Snapper or grouper in a wine sauce should not be that difficult to prepare but it was oily with strong , sharp , fishy overtones. Nothing delicate surrounding this dish. The restaurant is on the beach with a beautiful view of the Gulf. Better for drinks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stmartinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Touist trap”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Me & the biker gang do not stop here any more,, we complained about paying $4 a beer to the owners during the off season and they said, "We are not here to service the locals." So we spend our money else where!!!! Only time I go is when friends come to visit and want a nice restaurant right on the beach !! Mexico Beach Artifical Reef Association use to have their annual fish fry there but the new owners did not want any part of it!!!! However, I will say for you first timers,,,sunsets are excellent, Tiki bar upstaris, beach store & surf shop, building is trimmed out with pecky cypress , waiters are friendly, seafood is fairly good! Little pricey on menu & coctails..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is good and nice to eat on the deck with view of the ocean.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have eaten here several times and has been consistently good..Pricier than some of the other local restaurants but nice location and the service has been consistently good to excellent. Friendly staff who seem eager to please. One nite was eating in the restaurant and the upstairs bar crowd was a little louder than usual but this has not been our usual experience. The grouper imperial and the baby back ribs have been some of our favorites.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pfcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toucan's Restaurant also viewed

Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Toucan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing