We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachside getaway”
Review of El Governor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Governor Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Marietta GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beachside getaway”
Reviewed April 4, 2007

The best feature of this hotel is the beachside location at a moderate expense. Although this property is definitely old, the rooms were comfortable with a stove, refrigerator, and dishes for those who want to cook and dine. Rooms have balconies for sitting and watching the beautiful sunsets.

Mexico Beach has not yet booned like more commercial beach areas in the Florida panhandle. For those who seek a beach getaway without overwhelming crowds and traffic, this is the place to go!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MacGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    146
    56
    20
    14
See reviews for
135
135
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We did not stay here while we were in the area. However, we did spend time there while we were waiting for their boat to come in to take us on a parasailing trip. The poolside and beach were very clean and the staff was friendly and attentive. The parasailing crew was fantastic and the rates can not be beat. Even if you do not stay here, it is the best place in the area for water sports.

  • Liked — Excellent Staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joey207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

Best hotel for the money ever! Very clean and spacious rooms (had two rooms), Great friendly helpful workers, Terrific gift shop, Great view, Low price. Extremely impressed with this hotel!

  • Liked — clean room, friendly helpful people, great view, low price
  • Disliked — Gulf of Mexico ocean waves are much quieter than Pacific ocean waves.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't check luggage at airport, carry on whenever possible.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyTravler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2006

Hotel room was clean and staff were very friendly. Gulf Front room with an outside Balcony was a definite plus. There is no, restaurant on the premises, however, and the hotel web site advertised a Pool Bar - It never opened the entire 3 days we were there and nobody could tell us why?? The Gift Shop inside the hotel lobby had a lot of unique gifts. It was a great place to relax and walk the beach, but not much else to do without driving, even to restaurants.

  • Liked — Gulf View with Outside Balcony/Patio
  • Disliked — Had to Drive everywhere to do anything; The Pool Bar never opened.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you're looking to completely get away and rest, this is the place.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GraGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn haven fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

FOR THE PAST TWO - THREE YEARS I HAVE BEEN VISITING THIS MOTEL. I am a local ( 25 MIN DRIVE FROM MY HOME), but sometme i like to get away from every thing if only for one night. i generally like to stay during the weekend winter seasons (3 to 5 visits between the months of Dec and March). The SUNSETS ARE ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS from the balcony view, NIGHT TIME SCENERY IS BEAUTIFUL as well as romantic. The rooms are always clean, the staff is exceptionally friendly and the price is very affordable. I have never had a problem obtaining a room at the last minute. I RECOMMEND STAYING HERE TO ANYONE.

  • Liked — kitchette, quietness of facility
  • Tips/Secrets — prepare to relax completely
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynne-bannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

In June 2005 we planned a last minute trip to Mexico Beach, Florida. We had no idea where to stay. I made reservations at a place which shall remain nameless but when we arrived it was absolutely horrible. I would have slept in our family van before we would stay in that place. We drove down the Road to the El-Governor. Normally they stay pretty booked but they had opening for us. They were so friendly and the location and everything about it was fantastic. We've made reservations to stay there again this year and we recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank lovingmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn. N.Y.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the El Governor May 25th to June 1st and we were pleased with the accomodations. A feature that would be an added plus is a key safe in all rooms for cameras money jewerly etc. coming from New York City we are used to seeing these features in Hotels. Although we had a wonderful stay and would recommend others to experience it also. All of the staff were very cordial.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
11.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
18.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
22.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#2 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
23.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Panama City Area Lynn Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Governor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Governor Motel

Property: El Governor Motel
Address: 1701 West Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
El Governor Hotel Mexico Beach
El Governor Mexico Beach
Mexico Beach El Governor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing