We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of El Governor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Governor Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Cairo, Georgia
110
Reviewed March 7, 2006

we stayed there for about a week and we loved it it was great and we are planning to go back now

  • Stayed: June 2002
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for El Governor Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 378 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Golconda, Il.
110
Reviewed September 11, 2005

Great view of the ocean. We ran into the last of the red tide and were warned before we got there. They reduced our rates and even gave us money back when we checked out because of the red tide. Beach smelled a little of dead fish because of red tide but they were out cleaning every day. Had a full size refrig and stove in the room and microwave and coffee pot. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Had to get medicine out of car at about 2am and the security guard was there and even helped make sure I found everything o.k. It was nice parking under the motel and not having to worry about the car. Took the grand sons and the youngest one didn`t want to come in even to go tobed. will be back often. As good as it gets.

  • Stayed: September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2005

We had a wonderful time, even though it was on the threat of Hurricane Katrina. The staff was wonderful and the rooms are nice and clean. There was a full size frige, stove and microwave. Also had a balcony. We needed more towels and some were brought to our room promptly. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Mexico Beach is so much better than those other places!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank savvysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
229
Reviewed August 6, 2005

The El Governor Motel has been our vacation spot for over 20 years. We go down twice a year along with other regulars. We always stay in the annex building so we are right on the beach. I also remeber the people who wrote on this web site that they were robbed at the hotel. They were scam artists. The police even said that they scammed the hotel out of money. It upsets us to see people writing bad stuff against our favorite hotel. The staff IS wonderful. Anytime we have a problem it is fixed right away. The manager is the nicest guy you can come across.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

We have stayed at El Governor several times over the past 25 years while on vacation or visiting relatives. We have always had a great room and have never had a problem with security. The rooms are a little expensive for the area but I would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RomeListener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

We had heard great things about Mexico Beach and were not let down. The town was great. The hotel is another story though. It only took 45 minutes on the beach the first day there for us to be robbed. Most of our cash, jewelry, and even our hairdryer were stolen. Worse still is the fact we were accussed of master minding a scam. Not only were robbed of our possessions but also of our dignity. Come to find out there is an ongoing investigation against this hotel and their "wonderful staff". It seems this type of thing tends to happen on a regular basis at El Governor. If it came down to staying at El Governor or never having another vacation I would gladly accept the later.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank Himes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2004

This July was our first trip to Port St. Joe. We booked accommodations at a hotel on Rt 98, the beach highway. Upon arrival, we found our room was dark, dingy, with mold in the shower and cobwebs in the windows. Yuck! The room was so bad, we gave up our deposit and went looking for a different hotel. By good fortune, we stopped at the El Governor. They had a clean, comfortable, gulf front room with an efficiency kitchen available at a reasonable rate. We stayed at El Governor for four days. We totally enjoyed the experience. Beautiful beach...friendly staff...We definitely would return!

46  Thank maineiac027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
11.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
18.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 31 in Panama City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
436 reviews
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall
22.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Governor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Governor Motel

Address: 1701 West Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
El Governor Hotel Mexico Beach
El Governor Mexico Beach
Mexico Beach El Governor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing