We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was Just Ok!! ”
Review of El Governor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Governor Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Was Just Ok!! ”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights in March of 2010 for spring break. Myself I am a business traveler and say in hotels over half the year. This was not a place that I was very impressed with. The rooms are very old and show a lot of wear! The elevator did not work and the ice machine was covered in rust!
The biggest problem we had was we arrived late sat night on Sunday afternoon around 4:30pm we left to go out for a few hours. The housekeepers where just a few doors down we did not have a DND or anything on the door. To our surprise when we returned around 8Pm housekeeping never serviced our room not even a clean towel.
The next morning we decided to go somewhere else in Panama City to finish our vacation!! Also we notice a week after getting home that we were overcharged for the 1st night. However a call to the hotel did correct it and they credited back our credit card for the overcharge!!
It was just an ok place to stay!!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    146
    56
    20
    14
See reviews for
135
135
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean, it has a stove and full fridge pots and pans if you want to dine in. The beds were comfortable and clean. The view was awesome from the balcony . We watched the fireworks over the ocean New Years. The price is very good I will return during the warmer months.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbie2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckner, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Rooms are clean had a corner rm on 3rd floor great views stayed 5 days thru New Years.Room was very dated need to be refreshed. The staff was great helped in in any way they could. For the money the hotel was a 10 out of 10 this time of yr.If you want to get away from all the traffic in panama city then come to mexico beach area you can not go wrong.

Room Tip: corner rooms are the best big windows to see the beach the west side i stayed in and had a look at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeye46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Got a beautiful 4th floor room overlooking the beach with a great view of the pier. The room had 2 beds, a full stove and refrigerator. It also had a full setup for 4-pots, pans, plates, glasses, silverware-everything needed to make your own meals. The staff were very efficient and super friendly handling everything in a fast, friendly way that is "the Mexico Beach way."
The El Governor Motel is the cleanest, most modern, place to stay in the area and I would suggest to everyone to not bother looking for another motel-just book here and enjoy yourself right in the middle of this nice, quiet little town. And don't forget to check out the tiki bar-it is fully stocked and has a great view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbluemarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Not new/fancy, yet perfect. Clean, freshly painted, small kitchen, balcony facing miles of BEACH. Port St. Joe/Apalachicola close by for trinity of good restaurant choices. Walking, fishing etc... Mexico Beach, FL is tiny and similar to small Florida towns ca. 1965. You know, childhood memories of the beach!

Small local IGA had perfect stock selection + a tiny butcher area with excellent meats.

Adored the lack of red lights/traffic, incredible white sands, gorgeous water.

Will go back to El Governor.

Room Tip: Away from the bar/live music !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taradillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the El Governor for three days for our anniversary weekend on Dec 6th. We had a corner room on the fourth floor with spectacular views of the Gulf and beach both from our beach facing picture window and side picture window. (The end rooms have two large windows to view the beach). Our room was well appointed with tropical decor and color scheme. We had a King with a full bath plus bonus sink outside the bath, a pull out love seat and comfy chair with table. There was a full size refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with a butcher block counter which housed plates, cups, bowls and glasses. We left the door to our balcony open in the evening and slept to the sound of the surf rushing up on the beach. It was absolutely outstanding. We ate breakfast at Sharon's Cafe...a very homey establishment with excellent food and had a pizza at Crazy Beach Pizza. The pizza was very good however the antipasta salad was good but not what we were used to. The El Governor also has a heated pool, enclosed patio area which featured a band and Tiki bar in addition to an outside Tiki area with wet bar. We had read a review stating the elevator was slow...obviously it had been repaired as we had no issues with it. The staff also were extremely friendly and helpful both at the front desk and the gift shop. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a few days and just "chill", the beach colony of Mexico Beach and the El Governor is for you. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If you have an option...select an end room for the two picture window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stay at least 2 to 3 times a year at the El GOV. The rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. The motel itself could use a cosmetic refresh on the outside, but nothing major. The rooms are comfortable, clean and with a fantastic beach view. The staff is friendly and always great. We love the fellowship of the regular people each year at Thanksgiving in the very casual Tiki Bar. Overall our expericence is always fun and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missteacup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
11.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
18.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
22.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#2 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
23.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Panama City Area Lynn Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Governor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Governor Motel

Property: El Governor Motel
Address: 1701 West Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
El Governor Hotel Mexico Beach
El Governor Mexico Beach
Mexico Beach El Governor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing