We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view but nothing else”
Review of El Governor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Governor Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The only reason this hotel is Number 1 is because it is the only one!
Great location right on the beach but it is the ugliest place ever. It looks like the awful blocks of social housing built in UK 50 years ago and now mostly demolished. Time this place was demolished too. Mexico Beach deserves much better.
Ghastly dirty old lift up outside of building takes you to depressing external walkways.
Room pretty shabby though it was reasonably clean.
Very much overpriced at $156 a night.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LynGil_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 382 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had never been to Mexico Beach, and I guess "El Governor" as a corner on the market....Best thing about it is direct beachfront access. Floors were dirty, as we discovered when we walked barefoot on the wooden floors. Beds were uncomfortable. Cleaning staff nice and hotel reception helpful. Definitely needs updating!!! Pool bar was empty all of the time, not even sure if it is a "working" pool bar....??? maybe on the weekends...Closest restaurant about a mile away, so be prepared with driving and/or food. Kitchenette fine. Newest item in the hotel room was the coffeemaker.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbacree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

When we first checked in we were in the motel side of the building, and the room was smaller that what we anticipated and there was only one small slow elevator to get back and forth to the beach and pool, we were a little disappointed, my husband went to talk to the front desk manager and he upgraded us to the townhome and it was awesome! Beautiful on beach view, especially from the upstaris balcony. Nice walk to the pool on the Tiki hut board walk, easy beach access and kid friendly. The pool was outdoors, but heated so even in April we could swim. The cleaning staff was so friendly, we really enjoyed speaking to them everyday. Our refreigerator broke on the second day into our week vacation and they were prompt on getting a replacement. They provide a good amount of dishes and cookwear in the kitchen. Mexico beach is a very small beach area, when the tide comes in there is not much room to lounge on the beach, but it is very pretty and easy destination from Georgia. All in all we would visit again for a little getaway.... the hotel is older and could definately use some updating, but decent place to rest your head in between lounging on the beach.

Room Tip: Definately stay in the condo or townhome portion of this hotel!!! The Motel only has one elevator fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandtmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very rough older hotel that's beyond remodeling. Room was dirty. Front desk was not friendly. Best thing about this property is that it's right on the beach. Owners have miked this as long as possible. Time to level and start over.

Room Tip: Keep driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rivrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ended up at El Governor by accident - what a great find! Older, yes, but super charming and unique. Our room in the Annex was painted bright blue with a lime green bathroom! Very beach-like furnishings, bright colors on the bed, and fish painting on the walls! The kitchenette was well furnished, full sized fridge and stove, cupboards, good work space. Best of all, as everyone says, is the view - right on the beach overlooking the Gulf, superb! Atmosphere is friendly and laid-back. Other guests seemed happy with the lovely wooden swings, BBQ grills, lawn chairs. Water sports are available, the pool is handy, bar area accessible. There was one lovely lady at the desk and one cranky one. The gift shop was fun. Parking plentiful. Right on the highway but there wasn't any disturbing road noise. The a/c needed to be on all night but it was not too noisy either. Bed was super comfortable, bathroom smallish but everything was there. I could easily stay here for several nights and soak up that Florida beach ambience! Hope to go back.

Room Tip: I would opt for the Annex rather than the hotel part...better access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The view is worth a million dollars...Me and my husband and our kids have stayed at El Governor many times and we have always loved it,, Everyone is super friendly and the cleaning staff is awesome also..It reminds me of a place me and my mom and dad used to stay at when i was a young girl..We will return just like we do every year and we will continue to stay here....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mechelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This Vinetage Old FL style motel sits directly on Mexico Beach. Clean. Comfortable bed with lots of pillows. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice bar with live music. Unfortunately the ocean water is a dark tea colored due to recent dredging of the canal west of here. This made me very sad, as I have had a long standing love affair with clear blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
11.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
283 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
#1 of 31 in Panama City
525 reviews
18.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 31 in Panama City
67 reviews
22 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Governor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Governor Motel

Address: 1701 West Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
El Governor Hotel Mexico Beach
El Governor Mexico Beach
Mexico Beach El Governor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing