We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Choice !!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Governor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Governor Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Choice !!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We got here and our room was ready and clean . Very nice staff when we checked in . The rooms seem to be newly redone and are very nice . We have a wonderful kitchen , bath , 2 queens & plenty of room . The view is Amazing !!!!! Very peaceful and steps from our room the beach !!!! I would recommend this place to any beach lover who doesn't like the hustle and bustle . Paradise is what I would call it . If u are going to Mexico Beach El Govenor is the place . Old Florida @ it's best :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paradiseluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    140
    52
    20
    14
See reviews for
131
126
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Directly on the beach in the quiet town of Mexico Beach, location is the best thing about El Governor and the friendly people who work in the office, gift shop and housekeeping staff. In trying to decide how to accurately describe the motel my husband said "if it was a hotel in Nashville, we wouldn't stay there but then we don't have an ocean with a beach ". All rooms face directly on the ocean (location) with small but adequate balconies. We had a room on the end near Sunset Park - the opposite end from the pool. Our room was clean upon arrival but it is an older motel and not kept up as it should be. After a severe rainstorm one night my husband noticed water had come in the side window, pooled on the ledge below and run down the wall wetting the carpet. The housekeeping staff immediately notified maintenance personnel and the gentleman's main concern was for our possessions which was appreciated. Nothing of ours was damaged but no attempt was made to repair the window during the rest of our stay but as it did not rain again I am trusting the window will be re-sealed. Housekeeping was good about putting out new towels and fresh bed linens but our room was never swept or vacuumed during the week we were there - we never saw housekeeping with a vacuum and never heard any but concrete walls do deaden sound. Neither of our sinks were cleaned the several times we requested maid service but new bottles of shampoo and soap were put out. We did have to ask for more coffee for our coffee maker which was simply forgotten in the fast cleanup and quickly remedied. Admittedly we did not request daily maid service (we normally stay in condos) but when they did come it was below basic standards for any place we have ever stayed. We don't think of ourselves as picky as we don't require clean bed linens every day - we don't do that at home and don't require it on vacation. The "special" rates of $60-75 a night more accurately reflects the correct rate for a motel of this type and not the standard $116 for September which with added tax becomes $129. They are very good about giving you special rates if you have signed up for the email specials. There is a nice gift shop inside the hotel and comparing prices with Gulf Foods - a market up the street - we found the gift shop to be actually cheaper on some items. We rolled with these things knowing from tripadvisor of the issues with this older motel and having stayed in a beautiful Hampton Inn on Pensacola Beach, found we experienced both ends of the hotel/motel spectrum. If you can catch the sometime special Sun-Fri rate for $300 then it is a good value. Our biggest gripe in "rolling with it" was the WiFi service which sometimes worked but mostly didn't. Our 4G iPad saved us. Ask for Sharon in the office - she is a jewel - but everyone we dealt with was very nice. We are still mulling over our experience in visiting the Mexico Beach/Port St Joe area and not sure if we will return to the area again.

Room Tip: End rooms have two windows and let in more light. Rooms near Sunset Park, at the opposite end from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TnCatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here Labor Day weekend and departed on Monday. There were a few issues initially but were quickly worked out by Wiley the District Manager. This was my first experience at El Governor. It won't be my last. Overall and after the issues were corrected, it served it's purpose. A relaxing get away from the hustle and bustle of life.

Peggy Randall

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reginia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the El Governor motel in Mexico Beach, Florida. We were attracted to the motel because of its waterfront location and advertisement of full kitchens and balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico in each room.

What we found was an old, out of date facility in serious need of upgrades and repairs. Upon entering the room, we were greeted with the overpowering smell of pine cleaner. The room was tidy, but far from clean. Matresses were torn and all counter tops were coming apart. The room lived up to its promise of a balcony view, but the room was very narrow and cramped. The small bathroom opened into the kitchen area. The pool was poorly maintained with a scum film on the tile rim and an oily layer on the top. Matresses were shreded and sheets were worn thin. Housekeeping failed to service our room at all during the entire stay, we had to call the office for fresh towels.

Pros: Nice beach location, all appliances were in good working order.

Cons: Not very good value for the price, lousy service, upkeeping was lacking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctctall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a pretty cool hotel. The thing you have to remember is that this is a small town and that it is s beach area so don't come expecting something fancy. If you don't need fancy to survive, then you will like this hotel. They have 2 properties a 4-5 story building and cottages. There's 2 beds, a tv, a micro, a stove, they provide you with the essentials to cook. And almost forgot, the 4-5 story building has balconies facing the beach! That was pretty cool! I will come stay here again next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie_sassy_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well don't expect to much. We had to go outside in the stairwell to connect to wifi. Do NOT get a room west of the elevator above the 3 rd floor if you want Internet. Mexico beach does not take care of the June grass, it was awfull and everywhere !!!! You can not enjoy outside after dark because the mosquitoes are so terrible you cannot stand it. The housekeepers are great and friendly. We saw 1 roach on the wall in 7 days. One is to much. The dryers are from 1972 and only 2 worked for a couple of days , then only 1. They got them fixed a day before we left. Serious --1972,I looked at the model number. The elevator is super slow, take the stairs if possible.parking is good though.dont loose your key or it will cost you $25.00 for another one. On a scale of 1 to 10 I give them a 5. Don't know if I would stay again. Drunks talking smack to the women is not good and people trying to pour beer on me when they are upon the 4 th floor and I am on the ground floor. With my wife. Good luck!!

Room Tip: Stay east of the elevator if you want wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snoop1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My family recently had a reunion at Mexico Beach, Florda, and let me say first of all, this is the first "beach vacation" I have ever taken in Florida where you can actually see and enjoy the beach. The state of Florida has ruined its beaches by over development. The last time I came to the beach in Florida was to Panama City. What an eye sore. Condos everywhere and no sight of the beach unless you went behind the "concrete canyons" rising up on what used to be a beach. Not to mention the only people in Panama City Beach were the college "party crowd" who were a little to loud for my taste. So this time with a tip from a friend, I tried Mexico Beach and what wonderful suprise. We stayed at the El Governor Motel and were quite pleasently surprised. One word of advice, stay in the single story annex. The main hotel is a multi-stored hotel like you'd find anywhere. It is very attractive, clean and decorated nicely. Just sort of generically "beachy". But, the annex is charming. It is a single story block of rooms surrounded by green lawns, flowers, picnic tables, gazebos with porch swings, etc..You can just hang out, watch the ocean roll in (its right on the water), swim in either the gulf or the pool, and enjoy being at the beach with all that that implies. Its very family oriented and quiet. The pool has a little pool side bar where there is a muscian or band every weekend, but not too loud or rowdy. Just enough for enjoyment. Each room has a kitchenette and a grill right outside of the room. We had one night where everyone cooked something and we had a group meal. They have an area with "tiki huts" set up for this. With multiple tables, grills, a couple of counters and sinks. Perfect for a crowd. All in all it was a wonderful place for adults and kids to come together and with enough diversity that all age groups had something to do. Right down the beach (within walking distance) is Toucan's bar and grill. A really great place to eat, hang out, listen to the band, play volleyball on the beach and just be a tourist. We had a wonderful time and will be returning next year for our reunion.

Room Tip: Stay in the single story annex. It has easier access to the beach and the rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
11.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
18.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
22.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
18.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Governor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Governor Motel

Property: El Governor Motel
Address: 1701 West Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexico Beach
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
El Governor Hotel Mexico Beach
El Governor Mexico Beach
Mexico Beach El Governor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing