We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the beach with cooking facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Mexico Beach B&B and Inns
GLOS
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“On the beach with cooking facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Lots of different rooms to choose from. Really nice garden. Lots of water features. On the beach so the views were amazing. Its only about a 15 min walk to Toucans, the only beach side bar & grill. We only stayed one night, but we will come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spydog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    56
    16
    22
    17
See reviews for
37
76
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olmsted Falls, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

We just returned from a trip to the Florida Panhandle. We did not make reservations anywhere, and we decided to "wing it". Since we did not want to battle the "spring break" crowds in Panama City Beach, we decided to try Mexico Beach, FL. The first night there, we stayed at a local large motel, but on a walk down the street in the evening, we discovered The Drifwood Inn. The grounds were so very meticulous and quaint, that we decided to try to get reservations for five nights. We struck it lucky and were able to book the reservation. It is such a relaxing atmosphere! Even though the weather did not cooperate - it was only 59 to 62 degrees the entire time with lots of wind, there was beautiful sunshine which created a relaxing atmosphere for reading a book or just "veggingout" on the veranda. I would recommend this motel to anyone who likes quiet and relaxation on the beach on their vacation. There are no fast food places or chain stores close by. The "Scoops" ice cream store across the street has the best ice cream cones and malts on earth!! The Fish House Restaurant has a wonderful coconut shrimp special that is to die for! We thoroughy enjoyed our stay in Mexico Beach. The peace and quiet makes you feel like you are in another world!
Ernie & Carol Peto
Olmsted Falls, OH

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Torpeto0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville,SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

You will have to realize that Mexico Beach is a beach nearly 20n miles from Panama City and roughly 10 miles from Port St. Joe, with that being said, there are only about 3 hotels on the strip. None are major chains just home owned. So after stopping at the other hotels along the way which may I say were only $5.00 less, and run down we stopped at the Driftwood. We are so glad we did. It was the most I had ever paid for a room $154.00 for one night, but I will tell you it was the most wonderful place I can remember. I travel alot and by far we had the most fabulous time here. We knew the area because we used to live in St. Joe, so therefore we bought our groceries and relaxed. There are only a few rooms there possible 12? It is very quiet, quaint and beautiful. The rooms are decorated with antiques, it is right on the beach so you won't have to worry about crowds because the beach area is private, we loved that. It has a beautiful children's playground right out the back of the hotel. It was just fantastic we can't wait to return in 09. When asking my children where is your favorite vacation spot and we have been everywhere it seems they always reply Mexico Beach. Don't be afraid to stay here it is a beautiful place for making memories!

  • Liked — Beauty, views great location!
  • Disliked — Internet access only in the lobby. But I really didn't care the views were so beautiful!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank homedecor4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mija95
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We just returned home from a trip to Florida, Alabama and Mississippi.
Of all the places we stayed I enjoyed The Driftwood Inn most. We arrived without reservations but thank God, due to a last minute cancellation they had a room available for us.

The very nice lady at the front desk let us see the room before we actually checked in and the room and grounds where beautiful!
I looked at my husband and said "I'm home".

* The room was very clean, nicely decorated in what they described as "victorian beach". Comfortable beds. Tile floors in the room and bathroom. The bathroom was very small but clean and the water pressure in the shower was awesome.
*The kitchenette area was clean and had all we needed for light cooking/grilling.
*The grounds couldn't have been more beautiful. Front and back are an array of plants, flowers, bird houses and feeders, as well as a childrens play area and a gorgeous length of clean beautiful beach. There are sitting areas scattered throughout with umbrellas over some and a small covered area with several hanging porch swings. A safe walkway out to the beach. This beach isn't covered completely by people which is a lovely change from the chain hotels.
*It's also really nice to have a street side door and a beach side door so that you don't have to worry about the "outside world" once you're in your room.
*There are a number of grills so that you can cook for yourself and not have to venture out...unless you want to...in which case, there is a book with the local restaurant menus in the room. On the down side ... because nothing is ever perfect.
*There was a small area of mildew on the ceiling, more than likely water damage from the upper floor.
*Cell phone reception was bad all over Mexico Beach. It was very difficult to make a call and it usually was "dropped" within a few seconds of connection.
*Tyndall AFB (just west of Mexico Beach) performs manuevers all day long and you can hear the planes whenever you're outside ... I didn't mind this a lot but I did wish my grandson, who loves airplanes was there to see them.
Some other items to note.

Mexico Beach isn't as built up as Panama City Beach so you don't have a huge number of eateries. The dozen or so there are good and reasonably priced. Local seafood is easy to come by (as I mentioned above there are menus in the room).

A small grocery store about half a mile from The Driftwood has decent prices and a good variety of food and other stuff.

It's a fair drive into more populated areas so be prepared to stay once you get there. You'll enjoy your time more if you don't run out for each meal.

We can't wait to go back to Florida and will definitely stay at the Driftwood Inn when we do.

Many blessings!

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, beachfront, not a chain
  • Disliked — poor cellular service in entire area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

I have stayed at the Driftwood Inn one weekend a year for the last three years. It has gone from "nice" to "ok"...to "awful". The Inn is on the beach, which is nice. However, on our most recent stay our room had:

-cigarette butts overflowing a cereal bowl from the kitchen

-a shower that would not drain

- pubic hairs in the bathroom

-mold in the bathroom

-Fly swatter on the bedside table

-no water to wash off with when you come off the beach

If you could put a college dorm room on the beach, this is it. Oh and to top it all off, my daughter left her favorite pillow and they have refused to send it back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AtlantaJanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico Beach hotels

Marietta, Ga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

First, this is not a B&B..they discontinued the second "B" (breakfast) some time ago More about that later. First the good stuff: Great outside stuff...plants and decorations good...very "Key West" like. Big rooms are really big. Beach is right outside the door and not crowed. Good shells on the beach. Now for the "down" side. As I said, no more breakfast any longer. No Wi-Fi, no morning paper, no restuarant, no 24 hour office, a very "cold" staff. Based on the down side, this place is quite overpriced. For 130.00 - 155.00 a night you should get a lot more. You can rent a condo on the beach for almost the same price and you get a lot more room.

  • Liked — Room size..view
  • Disliked — Price for what you get
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nanaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

We visited Mexico Beach for 3 nights at Christmas, 07. I don't suggest anyone try this for next year. There was no where to eat. Our room at the Driftwood had a kitchen & lucky for us the Piggly Wiggly in Appalachicola was open (which must have the best stocked wine selection of any other P.W.). It would have been nice had the hotel owner told us in advance to be prepared to supply our own food. Also, we had NO maid service at all. The office was locked our entire visit. The location on the beach was great, but would suggest heading to Destin, or better yet, Appalachicola.

  • Liked — location directly on the Gulf
  • Disliked — no maid service, no warning to bring food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GATravel1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
13.9 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
11.3 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
17.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
21.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
21.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#3 of 31 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Property: Driftwood Inn
Address: 2105 Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32410
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Mexico Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing