We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for, quaint place RIGHT ON THE OCEAN!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Mexico Beach B&B and Inns
Plainwell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for, quaint place RIGHT ON THE OCEAN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Mexico beach is so incredible and this inn is the perfect place to enjoy it. Earlier in the day I actually was disappointed in what's seemed like miles of condos, then we drove into Mexico beach and wow! Just what we were looking for. Quaint, a little eccentric, and so welcoming. Love it!!! Great service, great price, clean rooms, great beach!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    16
    20
    16
See reviews for
34
75
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a great place to go if looking for a relaxing place away from your hectic life. Very quiet sleepy beach town during our visit August 2013. Room was fine for two people, futon located in kitchen area. Cottage #4 right on the beach. Loved the gardens and shade areas. Wonderful being greeted by Woody the Harlequin colored- Great Dane. Very nice atmosphere. My negatives, would be how dark it is at night. Improvement needed for more lighting nears steps and seating area for safety Our back porch light was not working and the wood chairs need to be replaced/repaired. There is no breakfast served or restaurant on location. You will have to bring your own (if you have a kitchen) or look elsewhere. Gift shop could use some updated items. If you cancel after 48 hr. required notice you will lose your deposit. Overall loved our weekend vacation!

Room Tip: Cottage #4 and #3 downstairs on side/private and awesome view of beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a great, fun property and the beach cannot be beat. But it is hard to
enjoy that when the furniture is in disrepair. Antique is one thing, 50's chairs with broken
rungs are another. Not only was the older mattress uncomfortable, the bed squeaked at
every wiggle. The room was very clean. The bathroom was beyond tiny, and the linens were dated. So much care and thought has gone into the gardens and exterior, it is a shame that they stopped short of providing the cozy comfort the property evokes.
The dog and parrot that greet you in the lobby are interesting- unfortunately, their odors greet
you first.

Room Tip: ask to see the room- they vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZillerChiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Most of us who visit the coast of Florida are used to staying in hotels or condos which tend to be generic in nature. Tall, boxy high rises with concrete back decks and swimming pools. Seen one, seen them all. But on the water in Mexico Beach, Fl is a secret. A Victorian Inn with a back yard instead of a back deck. Where wooden porch swings surrounded by roses invite you to sit a spell. Where green grass and flower pots full of blooms greet you every morning with the sounds of birds feeding at the many bird feeders scattered around. It's like discovering a secret garden. The rooms are filled with antique Victorian furniture and each room has a charming little kitchen where you can fix a little tidbit to munch on while you sit under an arbor watching the waves roll in. A perfect place for weddings as they have their own little chapel. They also have separate Victorian cottages if you don't wish to stay in the Inn. Truly a beautiful place. A secret garden right on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

A quaint beachy inn right on the sand plenty of shade if needed. Be specific with housekeeping, it can be spotty. Rooms are good size but new mattresses badly needed. Enjoyed the beautiful beach & atmosphere.

Room Tip: Reserve the larger rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennis45_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prattville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

this was our fifth year staying at the drifthwood. when I made my reservations I made it for room 11 when I arrived I was told I was staying in room10 because she had no one to clean room 11.
after trying to discuss this the owner just laughed it off, I should have left then,but my husband said to let it go .the next day I ask the housecleaning staff for clean towels and got a dish rag and two washcloths and a kitchen hand towel. Upon check out I ask for a copy of my bill before I paid and discover that my name address and city were all wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!
When I brought this to the staff's attention she said she must had been day d.reaming.
I will never stay there again and am very sad to see such a beautiful place fall in such disray. Rude people you deal with everyday, I try to treat people with kindness and respect. Staff at driftwood you need to wake up ,people do not like to come on vacation to deal with rude,ugly staff .for the money I spent for 3 days I will get a clean towels,nice staff and a nicer welcome the next time I come to mexico beach. thanks for the night mares of my last stay @ driftwood lana thornton Prattville alabama

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lana t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico Beach hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from 3 days at Driftwood Inn. Loved it. The rooms were clean and nice and having a kitchen was so nice. We loved all the birds and beautiful flowers in the gardens. We were greeted by Woodie ( a big and sweet great Dane) and Joe Joe the Macaw. It will not be our last visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelycotinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico Beach
11.3 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
13.9 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
17.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 31 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
21.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
18.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Property: Driftwood Inn
Address: 2105 Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32410
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Mexico Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Mexico Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing