We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the refuge!”

Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wildlife conservation park is home to more endangered species than anywhere else in America.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Love the refuge!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We go to the refuge quite often. Be it a rainy day filled with gator spotting or a sunny afternoon spent walking the unspoiled beaches, the refuge always has something amazing to offer visitors.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachycarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    156
    22
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely sanctuary”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family visited in early June, which is not optimal wildlife viewing time in the area. We did find the Welcome center to be very nice, lots of great info there with a nice little boardwalk area. When we asked about manatees the attendant gave us a map to show us where the manatees were hanging out at a local boat ramp (which we checked out and were able to observe them) We drove the Black Point Wildlife Drive and saw very little wildlife, again, because of our timing. Would love to go back in the fall or spring.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Planning to return”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We started late, missing the morning birds but were not disappointed. For the non-fanatical there is Black Point Wildlife drive, a 7 mile car drive through salt marsh and marsh streams of the Indian river. They have set up very nice bird blinds, marked good stops to see birds plus there is a 5 mile foot trail for the more adventurous. Each stop on the drive has good signage describing the birds you should be looking for at the stop. The red wing black birds were in abundance while we visited and we were able to see baby herons being fed by mom. After spending some time at Black Point we headed to see the manatee viewing areas because we had not allowed enough time for our short visit. The manatee were easy to find at one of the boat launches. We watched 7 to 15 of them frock around the incoming bass boats. Locals and visitors all seem taken by the manatee. Some of the local kids told us stories about growing up with them. It was great, very much worth it. Clearly we had not planned enough time. We are planning to return in the winter months to see the migratory birds and check out the beach areas for wildlife. I was very happy we made the effort even for such a short 4 hour visit. Our next visit will be in days not hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great 5 mile hike!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We rode out here to do a training hike. Nice day, breezy lots of birds, crabs, horshoe crabs and flowers. We walked the outer trail and were the only ones on it. Perfect. It wandered around waterways and had beautiful views of the scenery with a couple of shelters. Could have easily had a picnic or romantic afternoon. Nice place to go for a stroll and take in the scenery out of your car.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank eihpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Visitor Center Closed due to Sequestration”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It would have been nice to visit the center but Sequestration had it closed on Memorial Day Weekend. We drove to the south side of Haulover Canal since the bridge was closed to kayak the canal and Banana River areas. The boat basin at Baird's Cove had several Manatees and has a Manatee viewing platform. There were Manatees and Dolphins out in the canal. The paddle out to rookery island was extremely windy but well worth the effort as it is teeming with wildlife. We drove the Wildlife Drive and it appears to be in severe drought conditions plus our timing in the middle of the day led to minimal wildlife presence.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Merritt Island, Brevard County
Merritt Island, Brevard County
 
Merritt Island, Brevard County
 

Been to Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing