We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot be done in one day”

Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wildlife conservation park is home to more endangered species than anywhere else in America.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cannot be done in one day”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went in early December, which is not prime migratory season, but we still saw avocets, stilts, ibis, egrets, herons, roseate spoonbills, ducks and many more. The good part about early December was no bugs. As we only had one day for this wonderful refuge, we chose to do the 7 mile Black Point Wildlife Drive - many places to pull over and walk or just take the binoculars to the wading birds. This was more than worth the $5 honor system fee at the entrance. All the many other walking trails were free. The visitor center was also worth visiting and had a good short walk behind it. Much of this refuge is handicap accessible. Wish we had time for a longer visit. One tip - the manatee viewing area will not be worth the trip if the water temperature is below 68.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank xiphosuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    152
    22
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Must Experience for Nature Lovers”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

It's hard to put into words the natural and unique beauty of this refuge. There are several different trails and "loops" to explore as well as a very interesting and informative visitor center. I have been here 3 times (having just moved back to the Space Coast) and still have so much more to explore. Each time I visit, I wish the day wouldn't end. One morning I arrived at sunrise and was treated to a priceless viewing of roseate spoonbills, storks, herons, egrets, osprey having their "breakfast". I tiptoed along the path, with my camera and binoculars trying my best not to intrude-I was definitely a foreigner in this natural paradise.
If possible, visit in the winter months when the bugs won't chase you away. Also, bring binoculars and lots of "film". Plan to spend the day-you won't want to be rushed. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sybsiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitland, florida
Level Contributor
319 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Options For People That Can't Walk. Car Tours”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I spent the entier day here hitting all of the exibits, trails, and car tours. It was a great place for with a variety of birds and wildlife. People traveling with wheelchairs will have a whole lot of things to see in their more then 10 miles of car tours. The also build boardwalks for those that are handicap.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mpeacock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting and Beautiful”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent 5 hours today driving through the Refuge, walked the board walk behind the visitor's center. Saw a couple of manatees at the manatee observation platform, saw every type of bird imaginable in Florida including several hundred white pelicans and flamingos. The Black Point Drive was lovely and we even saw a wild black boar quietly on the side of the road. Then we went to the beaches which were unimaginably beautiful and we saw grey whales and dolphins breaching clear out of the emerald green water.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIPSPOINTBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing wildlife”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This area is great for anyone interested in nature! Amazing numbers and variety of birds, alligators, manatees, butterflies, dolphins, good information, easy access and lots of opportunities to clear doubts with birders. Black Point Drive and the manatee observation point are absolute musts, there aren't many places where you can so easily observe rare species. As a european traveller it was quite amazing to see how close you can get to the birds. The daily fee to the refuge is quite cheap (5$) and the visitor information centre is well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abetarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Merritt Island, Brevard County
Merritt Island, Brevard County
 
Merritt Island, Brevard County
 

Been to Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing