We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was fine, no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econolodge Port Canaveral Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merritt Island
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Nice place. Included free breakfast at attached restaurant, choice of a few things (eggs, omlettes, etc.). Room had refrig and microwave. Wireless internet was pretty weak but they gave you a gizmo to use in your room which improved the reception a whole lot.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2009

I fly out to Kennedy Space Center 4-5 times a year. This has been consistently the most satisfactory hotel within the gov per diem. So much that I have stayed here for my last 7 trips. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. As a female traveling alone for business, I feel safe staying at this hotel. The staff always make me feel at home. The hotel is very convenient, restaurant onsite is great. The FREE hot breakfast is yummy at the Omelet Station which is attached. Lots of shopping, restaurants and museums close by. I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank onmyway8802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

After reading all the comments on the hotel, I find it hard to believe they were talking about the same hotel we stayed in. I read all the comments and was prepared for a bad experience, however, the staff was wonderful, the room absolutely clean, furniture was great , bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was a little above the average "breakfast included" fare. I also did not think it was "in a bad part of town" or "rundown area". I guess some people expect a silk purse for the price of a sows ear. I definitely would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank nfossaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

This hotel is not in the best part of town the area is ran down and dirty.they advertise that they have 'new rooms'. while it is true that the furniture is new,everything else is ran down.the bathroom is old the paint is peeling everywhere, from the outside it looks abandoned. Furthermore it doesn't seem safe. It looks alot worse than the photo's that are on this website. also we noticed that the room we were given still had the tip from the previous renter in the bed, which said alot about their cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank aos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

The staff quickly and courteously moved us from a room where the AC failed. The rooms are clean, but you can see the wear-and-tear on the hotel. The pool area is pleasant, with plenty of sun and shade, and an evening bar. The location is central to almost all the tourist stops.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fastpitch4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
East Greenwich, RI
13
Reviewed February 17, 2006

We stayed here for 5 nights -- we choose this hotel because we stayed here 5 years ago and liked the location. It was our first trip back since moving from Florida and they made it very accommodating for us. We arrived very late at night due to our flight delays - the staff was extremely helpful and friendly at all times. The business room(open 24 hrs)with computer was a great feature to have - making it easy to look up directions and print boarding passes for our return flight. They also have a washer/dryer which was helpful as well.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2006

I stayed at the Clarion for one night in mid-January. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, that was the only positive thing about my experience. My room needed serious renovating, including the rest of the facility. Throughout were very worn carpeting, peeling paint, and very dated decor. I would not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merritt Island
5.7 mi away
Best Western Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
5.5 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Port Canaveral Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Cocoa Beach Port Canaveral
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Port Canaveral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Port Canaveral Area

Address: 260 E Merritt Island Cswy, SR 520, Merritt Island, FL 32952-3637 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Kennedy Space Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Merritt Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Merritt Island
Price Range: $99 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econolodge Port Canaveral Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Port Canaveral Cruise Terminals, Kennedy Space Center, Beaches, Historic Cocoa Village with Waterfront Park, Antique Malls and Unique Restaurants. Boat rentals, water taxis, kayaking, golf, fishing nearby. Only 2 blocks from Merritt Square Mall. Free Cont. Breakfast. Spacious Pool Deck, Tiki Bar, Tennis, Fitness Center & Free High Speed Internet Access. Voted Best Hotel in Brevard County for five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Port Canaveral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kennedy Space Merritt Island
Clarion Hotel Merritt Island
Clarion Merritt Island
Merritt Island Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing