We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymooon”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect Honeymooon”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My new bride and I were looking for a place to stay that offered a quiet off the beaten path feel. We didn't want to do the typical resort stay at a crowded beach area and we wanted to pick what we wanted to do if anything. Port D'Hiver was the perfect place for us. We arrived in the front door and immediately we were given the tour of the grounds and shown all the amenity's of the B&B. I knew, when I saw that they provide beach equipment for its guests they nailed a perfect rating from me. But the next few days, every morning, we were greeted with a pleasant smile and genuine "Good morning". Which was followed up with a breakfast that would fuel you all day long. These meals were gourmet and very fulfilling. Never the same meal twice and they were always done exactly as you asked. Fresh fruit, hot biscuit and orange juice that fell off the tree and into your glass.
Our room was perfect, the shower was HUGE and the toilet set even fell with grace and not a thud (which every new marriage will be spoiled over).
I want to thank all the staff who made our stay here a great one which we will definately treasure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikekrysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
349
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at Port D' Hiver on our Wedding night. The Carriage House is the most romantic place I have ever stayed. This TOPS our stay on Waikiki Beach in Hawaii! Beautiful property. The rooms are elegant and beautifully decorated. The hospitality and the breakfast on our balcony was amazing. I can't wait to go back. I highly recommend Port D' Hiver!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I were looking for a beautiful B&B near the beach and we decided to try Port d'Hiver. It was amazing!! More than we ever could have imagined. We were met by a very accomodating, genuinely nice staff (the owner himself), fresh baked cookies, a beatiful room and amazing ocean view. We were treated like royalty the entire time. The food was gourmet quality, and delivered to our room every morning. There was not a speck of dirt in our room the entire stay. We stay 4 nights, 5 days, and wish we could have stayed another week. The spa pool in the courtyard was an added bonus, heated with spa jets, heavenly!
My boyfriend actually proposed during the trip! He let the staff know about an hour before we were leaving for dinner (little did I know), and when we came back from dinner, our room was decked out in rose petals, candles, chocolate and a bottle of champagne on ice at the bedside. It was more than I ever could have asked for. They did this all for us on such short notice.
We definitely now know where we will be going each October to celebrate the anniversary of our engagement!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara201054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I want to live here!! Around every corner was yet another elegant surprise ! The decor was elegant! the breakfast was fantastic! We will be making this trip again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asmile22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I am quit a particular traveler when it comes to my food and rooms and this is one bed and breakfast that exceeeded my every expectation! Every detail is well thought out and perfect. The staff truly wants to meet your every need. They include everything from beach towels, chairs and even bikes! They have a cold and warm drinks, snacks and even homemade cookies available 24 hours. There is even a room in the front of the house with books and a laptop for your convinence. The nightly happy hour is not to be missed with delicious appetizers and wines! They will gladly deliver your huge breakfast and paper to the balcony off your room. It is perfectly located in Melbourne Beach allowing you to choose the ocean, river or both for leisure. The beds are very comfortable and everything in the room and on the property is well maintained and clean. You will feel relaxed and rejuvianted after a stay here! Do not hesitate to stay here, treat yourself and you will want to return over and over!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelorandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz Parker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

What a lovely weekend stay! The staff was amazingly accommodating and the property was impeccably beautiful. They really did not miss a beat, from the fresh flowers in the room to the mood music playing when we came in. Breakfast and cocktail hour were absolutely lovely. Having a child on a gluten free diet, we were thrilled at the service and fabulous food provided for him. Coffee was brought to our room in the morning, and a turn-down service with snack in the evening. We enjoyed the pool on site, and also the umbrellas, beach towels and chairs, coolers, and beverages provided for us to take across the street to the beach. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Big beautiful rooms and baths, extremely CLEAN! A Spa Pool with waterfall - excellent Breakfast on our balcony, Wine, Beer and Snacks as we arrived. Friendly staff, games to play, just across from the beach, restaurants all around, It was just SO relaxing for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacecadet099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
276 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
20.2 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Property: Port d'Hiver
Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port d`Hiver b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing