We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When I die, if I see the Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast, I'll know for sure I'm in heaven!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“When I die, if I see the Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast, I'll know for sure I'm in heaven!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

The property is extremely clean. The rooms/amenities are very cozy and perfectly appointed. The breakfasts are of the highest epicurean quality and originality. The Innkeepers, Linda and Mike Rydson and Valerie Garofalo are among the most cordial people we've met in our MANY years of travel, both in the U.S. and abroad.

We are, without a doubt, spoiled, after staying at the Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast. I give the Port d'Hiver my strongest recomendation to anyone wanting a blissful, relaxing get-away place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masterchiefpianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
336
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

Charming. Architecturally, culturally, aesthetically peaceful and thoughtful. Homemade cookies, both gluten-filled and gluten-free available daily (and easily pilfered), choice of breakfasts served indoors or out. Cloud-like sheets, pillows and mattresses. Huge, deep bath tubs. New Orleans style architecture with gardens and fountains that successfully obscure road noise. Across the street is a wide, white sand beach shared mostly with birds. (Second only to fisherman (both authentic and of the retired snow bird variety))
Inn-keeper's readily available with suggestions for good restaurants, live music (both plentiful) and ideas for day trips. The town of Melbourne is the first Florida town I have ever visited that has retained its local flavor. Nice people, some serious art and good thrift shops. Really great nature preserves near by.
One could wish the little Inn was on the other side of the street in a different part of town, but then we probably couldn't afford it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank appreciator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

The three day stay was a pleasure from beginning to end. The beds were immaculate, breakfast was lovingly prepared according to our individual preference, decoration was in extremely good taste and the inn keepers were helpful and fun. It's an exquisite piece of property that has been restored with great attention to detail. We were very content.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank VeronikaVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

the reviews are spot-on. Linda did a meticulous job with the rennovations and the new buildings. the courtyards are stunning, the heated pool soothing, the firepits lit at dusk in each courtyard added more charm. What was best was... the staff. Linda, Mike and both Whitneys bent over backwards to accomodate your stay. Whitney brought breakfast up to our room!....we had the Sunrise room so we had difficulty tearing ourselves away from the balcony... Mike made a special trip to bring wine to the pool at happy hour - although it's normally just served in the main house. What's really amazing, is that I lived in Melbourne in the late 80s and early 90s and had no idea where this was because it was so rundown that nobody even noticed it. If you know the area, it's right across A1A from the Melbourne Beach sand volleyball courts and used to be hidden by tons of overgrowth. Now it is definitely beautiful and wonderfully refurbished.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ejh470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

I cannot do anymore justice to this amazing Bed and Breakfast than has already been done. From the moment we booked to after we left the service has been second to none.

It was my husbands birthday the day we arrived and I requested the romantic package for him and I was totally blown away. There was soft music, rose petals. candle light and a bottle of champagne on ice the room looked magical. I'm not really that good at keeping secrets and was really glad that I didn't let this one out even though I was really excited because he was lost for words and didn't realise at first it was for him. The attention to detail to everything left me in total awe I found myself just walking around or looking around our room because there was so much to take in. It was amazing. We stayed over the New Year and I asked for a table to be booked at Scott's On Fifth which was done for us with what appeared to be no trouble at all.

The breakfasts are the BEST we have ever tasted and filled you up for the day! Linda if you already haven't I think you should write a book with your recipes. It was great getting together for a chat with other guests at 5pm for drinks and nibbles- really civilised.

We shall definately be back one day. Many thanks to all of you ,your combination works.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OnATour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

The ultimate in comfort. Great location on Melbourne Beach with groceries, restaurants, liquor store, etc within 2 min walk. Beach gear (chairs, umbrellas, towels, boogie boards, & bikes) were available on the property. The staff was amazing - the most accomodating we've ever experienced -- they were happy to help with reservations, ideas for attractions, etc. And the breakfasts were top shelf every time. Complimentary snacks and drinks were always available at the spa/pool. The room was great but there were so many great things to do we didn't spend much time there except at night after enjoying wine by the pool - with an outdoor wood-burning fireplace to add the perfect compliment to the experience. This will be our Florida vacation spot for years to come. Hats off to Val and the rest of the staff.

  • Liked — Everything was great - especially the breakfast and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SATraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding. It was such a nice escape after the busy days leading up to our wedding! The food each morning was amazing, and the staff is so friendly and down to earth- this makes such a difference because although the place is very elegant and classy, you never get a stuffy or snobby atmosphere at all. It was a lovely getaway and we will definitely return!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank gretasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
20.1 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Property: Port d'Hiver
Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port d`Hiver b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing