We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

The ultimate in comfort. Great location on Melbourne Beach with groceries, restaurants, liquor store, etc within 2 min walk. Beach gear (chairs, umbrellas, towels, boogie boards, & bikes) were available on the property. The staff was amazing - the most accomodating we've ever experienced -- they were happy to help with reservations, ideas for attractions, etc. And the breakfasts were top shelf every time. Complimentary snacks and drinks were always available at the spa/pool. The room was great but there were so many great things to do we didn't spend much time there except at night after enjoying wine by the pool - with an outdoor wood-burning fireplace to add the perfect compliment to the experience. This will be our Florida vacation spot for years to come. Hats off to Val and the rest of the staff.

  • Liked — Everything was great - especially the breakfast and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SATraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
341
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding. It was such a nice escape after the busy days leading up to our wedding! The food each morning was amazing, and the staff is so friendly and down to earth- this makes such a difference because although the place is very elegant and classy, you never get a stuffy or snobby atmosphere at all. It was a lovely getaway and we will definitely return!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank gretasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Port d'hiver is a best kept secret...well it's not really a secret anymore. What a great spot! This will please you on every level. It's starts with the location right across from the beach with quality lawn chairs and other equipment for your use. They even provide a complimentary stock of beverages and snacks to keep you satisfied througout the day. The property itself is neat and nicely landscaped. The pool/ spa is a great amenity as the water is a very comfortable 95 degrees or so and you can turn on the jets for even more water therapy. I love the water feature at the base of the spiral staircase and it was relaxing to hear the sound as you made your way to and from your room. In my opinion, the reason this place is so special is that they enhance your experience to the fullest. The rooms are exquisite yet homey; as I walked in Jack Johnson was playing and I was so in relaxation mode instantly. They also have above average bathrooms which is really important to women. I like my space and my big tub. The Spa products of above average size were a big plus.
Another idea I love is the 5pm "happy hour" with hors d'oeuvres and wine...what a nice touch for a bit of socializing and enough to hold you to dinner; I had some sushi and red wine. Another very pleasant surprise was the Dijans restaurant about 6 blocks away. The food was above average (not amazing) although the calamari and lobster bisque were a sure fire choice. We woke up in the morning to a set up of fresh coffee and breakfast bread on our patio table...how wonderful. This is what I mean by the enhanced experience....there were all sorts of nice surprises during this stay. HOWEVER, let me just tell you that the shining star of this place is their breakfast. And not only the food, the linens, the flatware, the glassware...I could truly appreciate it all and it was very special. The breakfast was a wow and I'm coming back just to eat the breakfast, especially the blueberry scones and the brownies I had late night. Oh yeah, they also have fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea in the dining area 24 hours....There's hardly room for improvement and they surely have got it right at Port d'hiver.

  • Liked — Rooms, food, location extra amenities, relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — check in area
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkodream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Fla
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

We had a lovely time here. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated with the warmest welcome possible. This service and warm ambiance went throughout our enter stay. The appearance of the property was out of a story book. We actually drove by the property twice on our way home from visiting my mother and had to step in and visit. After a quick tour we were sold and spent our 1st anniversary there. It was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luluB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

We planned a beach wedding with just the two of us. I did all the planning online with limited phone contact. I was not disappointed. The staff and the property were exceptional. The food was absolutely delicious. The turndown service with the personal touches was wonderful; candlelight, music, and sweets. The unlimited access to soda and snacks was great. The cookies were out of this world. The room was gorgeous - exactly as pictured on their website. The staff was accomodating and thoughtful. They made our dinner reservations and changed them at our request as well. We only wish we had been able to get away for longer. We can't wait to go back to celebrate our anniversaries in the future.

  • Liked — location, food, and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KricketFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
228 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

I am writing this review in praises of not staying at the bed and breakfast. I want to compliment them on their customer service. My husband and I had planned months ago to stay at the B and B while attending an event in the area. Last minute the event was cancelled. We were concerned about our reservation and the staff and owners were very compassionate to our circumstances. If we ever get a chance to return to Melbourne, you can bet this will be where we will stay. I always go where the service is...and this place has it.

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank NikR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

We spent one day. Unfortunately it was rainny, but we enjoyed our stay thanks to Port d;Hiver

  • Liked — Clean and welcome
  • Disliked — Small room, but attractive
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luvkalalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
20.2 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Property: Port d'Hiver
Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port d`Hiver b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing