We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Leonia, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We fled the freezing cold of the north and had four wonderful days at Port d'Hiver. The vibe is a kind of Graham Greene visits Key West with lots of beautiful over sized mahogonny furnture and slow moving fans, at least in our room, the Creole Room. The linens are custom made and the 100 degree spa pool right outside our door was lovely. Drinks with other guests at 5:00 was fun and we traded stories about who had the coldest weather. The staff is very attentive and there are lots of nice amenities like 24-hour cookies and free snacks, free bikes and beach chairs. If you can have too much food, this is the place. The breakfast easily could have been two meals! Melbourne Beach was new to us, but it has a slower pace with an artistic feeling which we apreciated. We were right across the street from the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room so you don't hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
334
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We chose Port D'Hiver as our winter getaway this year. We are innkeepers at The Inn at Stockbridge in Stockbridge, MA, and enjoyed warming up in the Florida sun. Innkeepers are a fussy lot, but we felt truly pampered. From the spotless, luxurious rooms, to the friendly and attentive staff, we could not have been in better hands. Tasty breakfast, turndown service with a special treat, and everything at hand for a day at the beach, which is just a stroll across the road. Extra amenities included 24hr coffee, tea, cookies, water, snacks. We could not have been happier. Treat yourself to the carriage house..did I mention it has 2 TV's and a huge whirlpool tub?

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in mid January. We were impressed with everything from the helpful staff (they went way above and beyond the regular call of duty for us), nicely appointed room, tasty breakfast and the happy hour beverages and snacks. The extras that were included like beach chairs and bikes were appreciated too.
Gary & Shelly
Bay City MI

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryK48706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Everything about my stay was a wonderful experience. The staff is amazing and so are the amenities. The staff works hard to make sure you enjoy your stay and they seem to enjoy themselves while they are doing it, which makes it all the more fun. They are into the details. My room was exceptionally beautiful as were the common areas. I've been to quite a few B&B's over the years and this is my favorite. Also, Melbourn is a sweet area. I'll be back!

Room Tip: I loved the privacy, decor and overall atmosphere of my upstairs room that overlooked the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andeegail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

From beginning to end it was an excellent experience. Relaxing, beautiful rooms, friendly staff and delicious food. They paid every attention to detail. Convenient location and walking distance to stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had the Yellow room. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYPurple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The level of service and attention to detail was evident from the moment we arrived to the end of our stay. The rooms were immaculate and very impressive, from the architecture of the rooms (vaulted ceilings, wood beams, & furnishings), to the high level of service. The breakfast was far above what we were expecting, and the stay included many extras (beach chairs, coolers, cookies, etc). The managers and owners were extremely friendly and accommodating, and you could tell they really cared and liked their jobs.

A few things that prevented me from giving a 5 star rating was that I was hoping for a beach view from our rooms, although neither of our two rooms had one, and the B&B was across the street from the beach, and not right on it. But overall I highly recommend the Port d'Hiver, especially if you are looking for a quiet get away with very impressive accommodations and service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The accommodations were much like the rooms in my friends $3M house. There was attentive staff who also made me feel a great sense of privacy. Everyone was so friendly as well. The accommodations were much like that of a $6M house my French friend has in Miami. This was a great place that I will surely target to stay at every time in the area. I also have to THANK the morning chef, who insisted to make me a wonderful breakfast "to-go" which was very nice to have on the road that morning. Just a super special place!

Room Tip: Yellow room was wonderful. I very much enjoyed the wine and cheese reception (actually great wines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank star69GTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
20.1 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Property: Port d'Hiver
Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port d`Hiver b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing