We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Getaway”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Getaway”
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My husband and I went to the Port d' Hiver Bed and Breakfast for our 25th wedding anniversary. Staying at this bed and breakfast was even better than we could have imagined. We stayed in the Sunrise Room which was a good size. The room had a large whirlpool tub and a flat screen television that pulled out from the wall. The room also has a private porch which has a view of the ocean. The innkeepers and the staff were extremely kind and met our every need. Every afternoon their is a social with wine or soda (your choice) and a snack. The breakfasts were unbelieveable and extremely filling. They provide you with towels, beach chairs and even bikes! Also, snacks such as chips are available along with water or soft drinks 24 hours a day. There is a pool which is doubles as a spa at one end. This was the best 25th anniversary my husband and I could have had and we highly recommend the Port d' Hiver bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — The room was gorgeous and the food was delicious, and the innkeepers were wonderful!
  • Disliked — Nothing, our stay was perfect.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYCFan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
359
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, GA
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My wife and I recently took a bed and breakfast tour to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary and when we arrived at our destination,the Port d' Hiver Bed and Breakfast Inn in Melbourne Beach Florida ,we were most pleasantly suprised. This magnificent Inn evoked "old" Florida architecture but everything was brand new and emaculate. The Inn consisted of a rennovated main structure, housing a cozy living room, sun room and lovely dining area, 12 luxurious rooms scattered throughout a small fenced and private "compound". Each suite included french doors leading to private verandas, and a beautifully landscaped courtyard with private spa pool. We toured all the suites, and each was unique and beautifully appointed. We selected the "Windward Suite" and were rewarded with rich, red pastel colored walls, hardwood floors, plantation shutters, period antique furniture, a fabric draped four poster "Rice Bed". and a huge spa tub/shower.We knew we were in a very special place.
The Inn Keepers, Mike, Linda, Val and Kay were the most gracious hosts and were always there to serve our every need. Each morning during our stay, we would awaken from a deep comfortable sleep to discover another pleasant day, with a light breeze blowing across our private veranda ,providing a perfect environment for our breakfast "feast." And I do mean "feast". We were treated to the most creative, sumptuous morning meals we have ever experienced. Val and Linda never ceased to suprise us with one of their inspired culinary masterpieces.
We most enthusiastically support and recommend the Port d'Hiver Inn. This is how a Bed and Breakfast should be; beauty and comfort, impecable service, personal and kind hosts!!!!

  • Liked — Our gracious hosts, their culinary morning suprises, our suite and private veranda, spa pool
  • Disliked — There was nothing I disliked. Everything was incredible
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We just returned from a wedding that was held at the Port d'Hiver B&B. All guests stayed at the B&B. It is absolutely incredible! We were warmly welcomed by the innkeepers and shown around the property and to our room. They have warm cookies (awsome buttery chocolate chip & coconut) for guests around the clock. There's a snack room with waters/sodas/ chips/pretzels/granola bars. The courtyard is breathtaking and cozy - several fountains can be found around the property with a warm spa as the centerpiece. We stayed in the Indian River room. It was incredible. We had a luxurious bed, a 300 yr old French wedding armoire, flat screen tv, plush robes, deck, and jacuzzi tub. The beach is across the street and the B&B supplies towels and beach chairs. There's refreshments daily at 5:30pm, drinks and an assortment of horsd'ouves. During our stay they had baked brie & rasberry preserves, homemade buschetta, and cheesecake to name a few. Breakfasts were incredible and could keep you full all day. The owners do a fanstatic job of making you feel at home while catering to your every need - you can tell that they love what they do. There are lots of nearby attractions, and it is a beautiful location for a wedding. I would love to return!

  • Liked — The ambiance, food, comfort, and beach.
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boston730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Fl
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2008

The only way to truly understand the magical experience of this most charming bed and breakfast is to visit and see for yourself.
From the time we walked in and Val greeted us with her warm, friendly smile, showed us around the property until the time we checked out, our experience here was truly amazing. First of all, the decorating and ambience of Port D'Hiver is one of a kind. Each of the beautifully decorated rooms is unique and has such a wonderful charm. We were treated like royalty the whole time we stayed there. From the delicious homemade, elegantly prepared breakfasts which were served like fine dining in the beautiful courtyard to the happy hour every night with complimentary wine and finger foods to the constant array of fresh baked cookies, brownies, and muffins all day long for you to help yourself. They even turn down the bed each night and put a "treat"on the pillow. There also(for your convenience) is a refrigerator which is fully stocked with water and snacks for your convenience as well. They even supply the beach chairs and towels. Each and every time we were spotted by Linda(the owner) or Val or one of the many other most helpful staff, we were constantly asked "äre you okay?""Do you need anything?" My husband and I travel a lot, and we never had such an attentive staff to meet each and every need. To talk about the wonderful, exquisite decorating will take up about 10 pages( I think you get the picture) Even when we went to check out, Linda said to us"oh, take your time, you can even go to the beach and come back and take a shower later"we were in disbelief because usually at 11:00, hotels are kicking you out to turnover the room. Just another wonderful quality about Port D'Hiver. Our whole experience here was phenomenal and we cannot wait to plan our next trip back!!!!!
Sincerely,
Lou and Sheri Solomon

  • Liked — It was immaculate and the ebach location
  • Disliked — that we had to leave and go home
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SSBOCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We could not be more pleased about finding this perfectly placed, beachside gem on the corner of Ocean Avenue off of A1A in downtown Melbourne Beach. The owners, Linda and Mike are warm , welcoming, and attentive hosts that have a talent for interior design, an appreciation for luxury, and a knack for creating and presenting tantalizing breakfast treats! Each unique room (there are twelve to choose from!) offers a cozy classic ambiance through elegant modern design. Because each room has it's own special offerings, we were unsure which to stay in. Linda and Mike took the time to show us each room and served us wine and fresh baked cookies while we mulled over our choices. There is a room for every personality and taste. The rooms are even BETTER than the website portrays...HONEST! We have already booked another room for Valentine's Day weekend. We LOVE this place! And cheers to Mike and Linda for saving a Melbourne Beach historical landmark!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank PepperJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.8 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
285 reviews
20.2 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Property: Port d'Hiver
Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing