We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Trinity, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly Relaxing”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a weekend get away with my husband to celebrate our anniversary. We booked the newly renovated Walters Suite and couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful and charming with a view of the Atlantic Ocean. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. My husband commented several times on how friendly everyone was. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and filling enough that we skipped lunch each day. The 24 hour fresh baked cookies were a delight as well and we looked forward to them upon our return. Thanks for a wonderful stay and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
341
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was looking for a small and quiet weekend get away sandwiched in between business trips and this was the perfect place. Havana room was beautiful, the service immaculate and the breakfasts delicious. Restaurant across the street on the beach was good too. I highly recommend this B&B. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 356PorscheFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was looking for a very romantic and quiet B&B to celebrate our wedding anniversary and after searching and searching I definitely made a good choice! It was a surprise for my wife and she loved it and we enjoyed it very much!
We stayed at the "Indian River" room..very romantic, beautiful and quiet. The porch was lovely and with the ambiance of the water cascade from the spa.
Breakfast and cookies were amazing! We had breakfast twice at the room's porch and everything was delivered perfectly and delicious.
Service was excellent! All staff was courteous and always ready to help.
Bicycles, beach chairs and umbrella were included. Also plenty of snacks.
The web site is very professional with excellent pictures that give you a good perspective.
For all of the above and more is the best B&B we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room and don't care about the view, stay at the Indian River / South Cabana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lualqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After doing Orlando and touring Florida - came to Melbourne for three nights romantic get away to chill - and just couldn't have been better. The location, the rooms and the breakfast (breakfast is just not adequate to describe - morning feasts are more accurate) are just amazing - the web site and info received just don't do the place justice - and I've run out of superlatives to describe the friendliness, the service the facilities and the constant food - cookies, 5pm canapés, and again the breakfasts - as well as a home made cake treat on the pillow each night. Loads of advice on where to eat and visit as well as chairs and all equipment and drinks you could need on the beach. Our room was the Indian River room and I could just trip down the steps into the plunge pool - luxury all round as well as a Jacuzzi in the room. Classic old Florida house with shutters and verandas - just could have wished for more - we will be back as soon as we can arrange it. My Google of 'B&B on the Beach' just could have been more successful!

Room Tip: Any room in the south cabana for us - cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantkeepstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to Port d'Hiver to celebrate his 42nd birthday. We had a great time. Positives about the resort: the staff is really friendly, breakfast is great, love the video library where you can get DVDs to watch in your room, the bed in our room (Elle Belle) was amazing, also love that they provide beach chairs, towels, snacks, beach toys, etc, the wine hour was great too! There are many positives about the resort. I was torn about whether to rate it excellent or very good. The reason I chose very good was because some things were a little a miss. The first night we were there we didn't get a turn down service which was unfortanate because we were looking forward to tasting the homemade treat that is left on the pillow every night. We did get it the second night, and it was awesome. Also when our room was cleaned we weren't replenished with toilet paper or soap. We had to call for toilet paper, which isn't really a big deal just a little inconvenient. It was brought up promptly in like 2 minutes after we called. So these things weren't really that big of a deal. The other thing was that the room beside us was going through some renovations during the day, and it was a little loud when we were trying to nap and rest. So just a few things that made the place slightly less than perfect. We will however probably give it another try because we realize that these things happen sometimes. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast for a romantic weekend get away. Personally I wouldn't stay longer than a long weekend just because of the location. It's in a cute, sleepy little town where there isn't really that much to do. My husband and I were there for a romantic weekend, and that's what we had!!! :)

Room Tip: As others have said, if you're a light sleeper, do not choose a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksoldati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Spent our two year anniversary here and it was well worth every penny. We stayed in the Creole room and although that room doesn't have a view it's pretty spacious with a large bathroom: stand up glass shower and spa jetted tub. Breakfast was delicious and employees are extremely courteous and helpful. Very relaxing trip and Port D'hiver made our anniversary that much more special!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the first time in a B&B for my wife and I...WOW is all I can say. It will be tough for all the others to live up to the expectations set by Port D' Hiver! It was a little pricey but when you think of what all is included for that price it is well worth it. I do recommend the Creole Room, but I will be eagerly looking forward to trying them all because we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWT412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
4.9 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
269 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
20.2 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Property: Port d'Hiver
Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port d`Hiver b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing