We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Melbourne
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Frequent traveler to the Melbourne area--first time at this hotel. Worst hotel in the area! Dirty, elevator smelled like pets and smoke, and halls/rooms smell. Dogs barked ALL night long. Walls must be paper thin because you heard doors slam ll night as well. Did not sleep more than 15 min without getting woken back up by barking dogs. Was suppose to stay 2 nights, left after 1. Front desk did not even address problems.

Room Tip: Stay at Comfort Suites! Clean, no dogs, no smoking.
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Linda W,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the hotel conditions. I want to assure you that your comments about the elevator has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice hotel, great staff, everything you could want in a room. Dishes, toaster, dishwasher, comfortable bed full sized fridge and a stove and the price is right. Only drawback, is extended stays, maid only comes once a week but very nice. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: restaurant across the street but still close to everthing else.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fgrahme, Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

On behalf of the Management and Staff, we greatly appreciate your comments. We are truly glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank You,

Angellea Stone
Manager On Duty
Candlewood Suites Melbourne, FL
321-821-9009
2930 Pineda Plaza Way
Me

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was in a king room for two nights. All rooms have full kitchens, which I didn't really use. The rooms are nicely equipped and appointed with a good layout.

The staff at this hotel is very friendly and competent. They get five stars.

The common areas, such as the lobby, are minimally appointed and not very appealing, but the rooms and other useful facilities are good and a good value for the price.

Bed was ok but not super.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wb2trf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fgrahme, Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

On behalf of the Management and Staff, we greatly appreciate your comments. We are truly glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank You,

Angellea Stone
Manager On Duty
Candlewood Suites Melbourne, FL
321-821-9009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Nick, the General Manager was insightful from the very first phone call before even arriving! We are a military family traveling with an infant. They provided a crib and are a pet friendly hotel with seemingly no weight limit. The room was updated and clean. It would be nice if they built a pool one day. The snack bar has a variety if items for sale plus complimentary coffee and tea. I will agree that even though the 4th floor is apparently smoke-free, the halls smell of smoke. The biggest compliments to the staff , housekeeping as well as guest services desk. We frequent the area to go to the Air Force base and they have been the most accommodating even allowing us to have a late check out Sunday evening for a fair fee.
Good job!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romanellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fgrahme, Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

On behalf of the Management and Staff, we greatly appreciate your comments. We are truly glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank You,

Angellea Stone
Manager On Duty
Candlewood Suites Melbourne, FL
321-821-9009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The General Manager and the staff at the Candlewood were very responsive in accommodating us during our long term transition stay. They were genuinely concerned with the quality of our stay and went above and beyond on items that needed attention. The set up of the rooms and location of the facility was also a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fgrahme, Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

On behalf of the Management and Staff, we greatly appreciate your comments. We are truly glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank You,

Angellea Stone
Manager On Duty
Candlewood Suites Melbourne, FL
321-821-9009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The room on the 4th floor we had was in poor shape. The recliner was warn and old and the bed spread had holes in it. In addition we had reserved a one bedroom suite and were given a smaller studio. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatbobOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear fatbobOrlando,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into. I have taken notes of your feedback and assure you that proper measures will be taken to improve the quality of service we offer.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was moved from the 4th floor, to the 3rd floor, then the 2nd floor to supposedly escape cigarette smoke in the bathrooms off all the rooms I was moved to! I am pregnant and have a 3 year old. We chose to stay here because the candlewood suite staff said it was "smoke-free". The smoke was also in the elevator used to get to every room. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear dorid1,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the cigarette smoke. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Melbourne Viera
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Melbourne-Viera
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Viera Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Melbourne
Days Inn Melbourne
#12 of 22 in Melbourne
720 reviews
8.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay
Suburban Extended Stay
#18 of 22 in Melbourne
97 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Melbourne

Address: 2930 Pineda Plazaway, Melbourne, FL 32940-7342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $89 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the 'Comforts of Home' bedding collection at the new Candlewood Suites Melbourne Florida hotel, where we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big, built for comfort or an extended stay. It's the ultimate suite hotel for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Suntree Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing