We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel/Bad Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Overall our stay was great, however, this was probably the worst breakfast I have ever had at a Hampton Inn. The eggs were fake and cold, the sausage was cold, the waffle maker did not work on our first morning, and only 1/2 of the toaster worked, so the number of people waiting for toast was always long.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Mike35704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 446 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

good place to rest. would use agian if i'm in the area. the only problem i had was that they only had a half a roll of toilet paper in the bath room. witch i did not relize untill 2am when i was useing the the bath room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My Wife and I had a two-night stay on June 21,21, 2013. This Hampton Inn strays far from the level of quality that I have come to expect from Hampton Inn and Suites.

The weather was quite hot and muggy during our stay, and one would hope for relief upon entering the hotel, but this Hampton does not provide climate control in the hallways or elevators! One could only rush to their room for relief.

The elevators smelled badly due to the accumulation of body odors, resulting from the heat and lack of A/C.

Then came breakfast (or lack there of). Perhaps I've been spoiled at other locations with freshly scrambled eggs, breakfast meats, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruits,etc.
But at West Melbourne, they served up some really nasty-looking, pre-formed/frozen, omelettes. They were much worse than anything I've ever seen at McD's!

No breakfast meats, no biscuits and gravy...Breakfast was Bad! This for me is very important as I love my Breakfast.

In summary, the Hotel and Rooms were clean, the beds comfortable. So the reason for the 1-star rating is that it would take so little for this Hotel to garner a 5-Star review, but owners/management are obviously trying to cut corners.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLBDK, General Manager at Hampton Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

I appreciate that you took the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We do read the responses and note any areas that need improvement.

I apologize for the warm halls. The hotel was constructed with the air conditioning vents located in the center of the halls. During the summer months, the ends of the halls do get rather warm. There are no controls to adjust the temperature.

In regards to breakfast, we must adhere to the Hampton Brand Standards and only serve products on their approved list. We are required to serve an egg product with either a meat or carbohydrate. We have an 8-day rotating menu in which we serve an egg item (cheese omelet, western omelet, or scrambled eggs) with a meat (turkey bacon, pork sausage patties, turkey links, or maple links), or a carbohydrate (home fries, bagel toppers, French toast, or sausage gravy and biscuits).

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I travel on business and have stayed in many Hampton Inn hotels. This is an older hotel but the rooms still open inside, not motel style. If you are staying for more than the night, there is not much around the hotel except a Denny's and and IHOP. It is right off 95 and far from just about everything.

Breakfast is standard Hampton food and was served by a cordial young man who did his best to make everyone feel welcome. The kitchen was stocked and forks spoons a plates were always available if you need them. Cookies, Otis Spunkmeyer, were served each weeknight.

They have a work out room that seemed smaller than the size of one of the rooms. It had an elliptical machine and a treadmill and some kind of pulley weight machine. It was adequate for one person, but felt claustrophobic with two people in there.

The real problem was with the rooms. I'll start off with the worst problem first. On my departure morning I noticed a single bed bug crawling on the sheets in room 305. I missed a review on this hotel from 2011, which also addressed this same issue. Seems as if they are aware of the problem but have not have gotten rid of the infestation, or they have a new one. I brought one of the insects to the front desk and the response was, "I'll let our exterminators know." I requested the 100% guarantee which I received.

Other issues are not as serious as above. The hallways were probably 90 degrees the times I stayed here. I tried a few rooms to get one that had not been smoked in and was relatively clean.

I try to always remove the AC grills in the room to see if the vents are open and if the filters are clean. In this hotel, in each room they were as dirty as the next. I'm not sure or don't remember if there were filters in these units. I'm not sure the vents open so I don't know where fresh air comes into the rooms. So if a room is smoked in, all they can do is spray a deodorant. The AC units were harboring old food (Fruit Loops in one of them) and some other disgusting stuff. The units looked like it had been a long time since they had been cleaned. Also, the AC is blowing right on the table and chair which makes sitting there or eating there uncomfortable. The table being right on top of the AC leads to food dropping in them I guess. Refrigerator and microwave were clean and adequate. I agree with another reviewer that the shower curtains could use some cleaning. They also only put just the required basic amenities of soap shampoo and I think conditioner. I know they did not have the mouthwash and cleansing sheets I usually find at Hampton hotels.

Another problem was that I came in Sunday and as of Wednesday night they had not changed the sheets. I called down and they said the sheets would be changed Thursday which they were, just in time for my departure on Friday. Because of this and the issues outlined above, I am concerned that the appearance of clean that others comment on is not addressing the filth that is not seen.

I gave a poor rating because of the cleanliness issues, things most travelers don't see in a one night stay. There are some good things about the hotel, but their long standing issues with bed bugs and their lackadaisical attitude towards ensuring their staff keeps even things you don't see clean, resulted in the poor review.

Room Tip: Avoid 305 and adjacent rooms. Go on line and search to learn the signs of bed bugs and how to prote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stompper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLBDK, Manager at Hampton Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

I appreciate that you took the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

The insect problem was resolved 28 Jun 2013.

Yolanda Lifter
General Manager
Hampton Inn Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel not only had very nice facilities, but really honored the 100% satisfaction guarantee. We booked this Hampton Inn to attend a funeral, and chose it because another hotel option had a warning on their site that their hotel had a large athletic youth tournament group in the hotel on these dates. We checked in after an 11hour drive and had dinner nearby. The elevator was full of water, perhaps from kids dripping from the pool, but this was cleaned up by the time we returned.
Our room was lovely, but we could not sleep due to very loud noise, partying from the lobby below. My husband went to the lobby and spoke to the desk staff, but they were coping as best they could with a great many poorly supervised young athletes. On a second trip down, he spoke with courtesy asking an indifferent chaperone if he could help to tone the kids down. Then we experienced a gathering right outside our door, followed by door-knocking by kids laughing and running away. The next day, the hotel staff agreed a warning on the web site might have been helpful, as the other hotel had done. We were offered a room change, but ultimately checked out after the funeral, since the tournament was still underway, with no hopes this unsupervised behavior monopolizing a very nice hotel property might change. We were assured we will receive a full refund. I commend Hampton Inn and would choose this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stcroixwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolanda L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

I appreciate that you took the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We do read the responses and note any areas that need improvement.

I am so sorry that your stay was ruined by the disruptiveness of the 2 groups in the hotel.

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Melbourne. I hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Yolanda Lifter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great Hampton, family friendly but not loud either. Good breakfast, lobby and all public areas. Very clean but some carpets are ready to be replaced/updated. It's off the main road and feels private as it's the only business on Dike Road. Somewhat rural feeling - in fact, we had a resident rooster great us just outside the front entrance every morning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolanda L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

I appreciate that you took the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Thomas, our rooster, seems to be very popular with the guests.

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Melbourne. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you're looking for a really nice room at a fair price, this Hampton Inn is perfect. Unfortunatley, the hotel is not near the beach or downtown Melbourne, otherwise it would have gotten "excellent" across the board.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank HK10N701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLBDK, General Manager at Hampton Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

I appreciate that you took the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Melbourne. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Melbourne - Palm Bay
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Melbourne-Viera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Melbourne West
Courtyard Melbourne West
#10 of 22 in Melbourne
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Melbourne
Days Inn Melbourne
#13 of 22 in Melbourne
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Melbourne Palm Bay/Viera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Melbourne

Address: 194 Dike Rd, Melbourne, FL 32904-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Melbourne hotel (I-95, exit 180), is located less than 15 minutes from the Melbourne International Airport, and is near most major corporate offices with easy access to beaches and local attractions. Enjoy free hot breakfast daily, free WiFi access and microwave and mini-refrigerator in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing