We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hwy #1”
Review of Super 8 Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Melbourne
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
2,830 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 817 helpful votes
“Hwy #1”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Located right off Hwy 92 on Hwy 1, it's in the middle of Melbourne in 1980. That's when I spent the most time in this area. Business, shopping have changed in the last 30 yrs. Time has moved things to the beaches, or out to the toll road, or to Interstate 95. But Hwy 1 is still important. The Super 8, is a fine , clean, hotel It has a free breakfast, the coffee is good. The staff is good. The facility gives free WiFi. The rooms are clean, bed comfortable, TV, A/C. Cost $55. night.

Room Tip: Check noise level of A/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 387indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    70
    52
    51
See reviews for
86
85
48
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its convenience to the beach while still being rather cheap ($60). It's a pretty old establishment, which we expected. When we entered our room the air was not turned on so it was hot and musty and took several hours to cool down (luckily we were at the beach). Also, there are two floors but no elevator, so we had to haul all our luggage up the steps which I do not recommend. The mini fridge did not close properly. The comforter was worn and picky, the carpet tread down. It was cleaned well, just old and dank. The bed was comfortable enough. I've seen worse, but this hotel needs an update ASAP!

Room Tip: First floor - no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINESH P, General Manager at Super 8 Melbourne, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Madam,

We greatly appreciate the opportunity you provided us to serve you during your stay in Melbourne. We also appreciate that you took the time to express your experience.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Your feedback has been taken note of and we are working on improving on the negatives.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2014

we arrived, the hotle looks as if under construction, yellow tape all around the front. understanding maybe they are trying to upgrade this smelly, dirty hotel. check in was not problem. left to get dinner came back started to eat and was joined by roaches. manager then changed us to another suite, the room had a weird smell. restrooms werent very cleaned visable hairs on floor. i left the friday night returned saturday nightt to get my things, only one bed made, bathroom floor still not swept. nice staff but hotel not very clean at all even though the room was taken care of i spent the rest of my staff with the guest that i came to visit, the made room for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINESH P, General Manager at Super 8 Melbourne, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Miss Dana P,

We regret to now notice that despite our immediate efforts, each time, to correct any issue, whether it be the roach in the room by relocating you in a free upgraded room, to offering a free night stay (for which you were in fact willing to pay for!) to fixing your Wyndham Rewards Points, to lost keys multiple times, you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. We may have been able to better serve you had you brought any other issues to our attention.

Just for a records purpose, once we had relocated you, we placed several baits in the room to confirm/verify whether we do or not have "roach" problem. Not to our astonishment, though the baits were left in the room for over 60 hours, nothing was caught in them, especially since the property was treated just the day before your arrival by a nationally acclaimed pest control company. Therefore, it just may be a possibility that the one roach that you saw may have actually come in with the food you brought form the restaurant!, especially because it was still alive and on a table along with your food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is old. The room has a foul musty smell, which makes me feel that its dirty. It appears to have been cleaned, though. the hotel is far worse than what the pictures show. I would say "you get what you pay for" but for $73, i expect a little nicer place to stay. The doors are inside a corridor....which I prefer...but the door to the corridor from the parking lot is broken and does not shut. The room you enter into from parking lot is very dingy and dirty.... It has a old musty smell which is highlighted by floral freshener and cigarette smoke. There were a couple very shady looking people outside of the hotel when I arrived at night, which made me worry enough to give a description to of them to my husband over the phone, in case anything were to happen. I paid $73 for one night, PLUS signed a receipt for a "hold" of $50 on my card also for incidentals. The only positive thing i can say is that the man at the desk was friendly. I will not stay here again and would only recommend this hotel to someone who has absolutely no other choice. If you are looking for a room on a strict budget, look elsewhere. There has to be something nicer in the area for $73 (plus another "hold" of $50)!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINESH P, General Manager at Super 8 Melbourne, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Madam,

We sincerely regret to note that you were uncomfortable and did not have a better experience at our hotel. We thank you very much for your review as it does provide us a guideline for further improvements.

If I may explain, an incidentals hold is a very customary practice in the Hotel industry. It is also very possible that many "good" hotels do not disclose upfront that they are placing such a hold. We prefer to be honest in disclosing that we do place such a hold. Further, let me introduce a different perspective: it is a tool we use to avoid renting to individuals with malice in mind, and as such, reducing the possibility of having undesirables on the property. I will not elaborate much, but you be the judge, who do you think is more harmful - a person with "shady" intent or just with "shady" looks? What you may think is inappropriate, is actually tool that provides increased security for our guest as well as us.

Thank you once again, for giving me the opportunity to serve you and clarify our view on our practices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
1.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay
Suburban Extended Stay
#18 of 21 in Melbourne
96 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Melbourne
Days Inn Melbourne
#12 of 21 in Melbourne
687 reviews
4.1 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Melbourne

Property: Super 8 Melbourne
Address: 1515 S Harbour City Boulevard, Hwy 192 and US 1, Melbourne, FL 32901-4653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Super 8 Melbourne hotel near Melbourne International Airport is also close to NASA-related attractions along the Space Coast. Located just off I-95 in historic downtown Melbourne and just a block from the Atlantic Ocean. We provide comfortable accommodations at an affordable rate. Each of our rooms offers free high-speed internet access so you can stay in touch with family and friends back home. Rooms with microwaves and refrigerators are available. We offer limited free parking for your bus, truck, RV, or camper. After a restful night of sleep, start your day with a free 8-item SuperStart breakfast before heading to out explore the many attractions. Guests can also enjoy the option of early check-in and late check-out to better accommodate their traveling schedule. Head across the Melbourne Causeway to beautiful beaches, or watch Grapefruit League baseball at Space Coast Stadium, the spring training home of the Washington Nationals. See exotic animals at the Brevard Zoo, or visit Daytona Beach and Disney World. Book your wedding party, sports team, or other group travel at our hotel. Submit your request for information about special rates on blocks of rooms. Contact Super 8 Melbourne today for your next visit to Melbourne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Super 8
Melbourne Super Eight
Super Eight Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing