We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Bad Experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Property was formerly a Best Western previous to Hurricane Andrew. Can not compare with the level of service and amenities available at the Crowne Plaza. Fiance' had no sleep the first three nights due to noisy neighbors. Room was a two room suite that sleeps four; however, they were very stingy with the towels leaving only 3 for 4 people. Breakfast was very poor; hash browns that looked like they were taken from the freezer and thawed in a microwave, slimy eggs, greasy bacon and sausage. Food temperature was very poor. Restock of items such as toilet paper and tissues was poor. The only good thing about this experience was the private oceanfront balcony.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    663
    241
    100
    58
See reviews for
875
640
73
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I stayed here with my 2 teenagers and a friend. The room worked out great, since it is set up like an Embassy room - living room with a pullout sofa, bathroom divider, and 2 double beds in the bedroom. The bathroom/shower were a little tight. The room included a mini fridge and a microwave - perfect for me, since I eat gluten free. The room has a perfect view of the expansive beach, and you can watch the sunrise from your own private balcony. The pool is nice, and they had live music on Saturday. Food and drink are available poolside. The beach is great for walking and calm enough to play in. Best value for the money that's oceanfront!!! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was great without any upgrades!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advicequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale az
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed one night at the Doubletree Guest Suites to watch the Space Shuttle Launch (which was amazing!). Long time Hilton Honors member and am used to the Doubletree properties being a step above but this location needs some work. The first issue we encountered, which was NOT the fault of the hotel, was the infestation of the Lovebugs. There were thousands of them everywhere! In the lobby, smashed on the floors, smashed on the walls, by the elevators...don't even think about going out by the pool or enjoying a cocktail outside. We had reserved an oceanview room with balcony and couldn't even open our door to the balcony because there were hundreds of bugs out there (we were on the 5th floor). This hotel has outside room entrances and whenever we wanted to leave our room, it was a mad dash out the door, into the lobby (and more bugs) then a mad dash out to our car. Also ran out the lobby, down the stairs and to the beach where the bugs weren't so bad...at least we got a bit of fresh ocean air.

Since we couldn't spend any time outside, we decided to go online with the laptop and get a little work done. This hotel does not have wireless in the rooms, not even for a fee, which is amazing to me in this day and age. I plugged my laptop into the ethernet cable and no connection. The instructions in the room give a tech support number to call so I did that. After spending 15 minutes on the phone with a technician, he determined that the cable must be bad. I ran down (thru the bugs) to the front desk in hopes of picking up a new ethernet cable. No such luck. I was informed that maintenance would try to find another one but no promises. About 40 minutes later we were given a new cable but this one didn't work either. So no internet at all except in the business center in the lobby where wireless was available but I paid for a room and would rather be in it, possibly having a cocktail and watching a little TV while I work, than in a business center.

The room itself was a nice size suite with 2 double beds and 2 flat screen TVs, smallish bathroom. I realize that hotels on the beach face their own set of upkeep problems due to the wind, sand and water. But we also had 2 lightbulbs burned out in the room (one at the makeup mirror so only one side lit up) and when I tried to call the front desk for a wake up call, the phone didn't work. I ended up calling the front desk from my cell phone! I had to set the alarm on my cell phone so we wouldn't miss the shuttle launch. These are problems that aren't a result of wind, sand and water but poor housekeeping and management.

On a positive note, Ryan at the front desk was a jewel. Lots of information on the Launch, nearby locations to grab a bite to eat and just a pleasant personality. He was without a doubt the best thing about this location. We had spent 2 nights before and after our stay on the coast at a Hampton Inn in Orlando and for less money, it was a much superior property. Could not wait to get back to it after staying at this Doubletree.

Room Tip: Make sure everything works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpipher, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a response in regards to your visit with us in June. We apologize about the love bugs and unfortunately they visit the area twice a year. We are going to be undergoing some renovation projects starting as early as October and lasting the next 20 months. The entire exterior of the building will be painted along with some new features added to the rooms. We are looking forward to the renovation and will post new pictures as soon as some of the projects are completed. On another note, we are also looking to add wireless to the rooms as soon as possilbe. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami,Fla
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had to find a room at the last minute after we decided to leave the Extended Stay America in Melbourne (check out my review of that hotel titled: "Gross"). There was a cancellation of an oceanfront room so we decided to take it. Although the room was way overpriced, we were so happy to be out of the nasty hotel room and on the beach. The staff members were very friendly and professional. We had a couple meals in the lobby restaurant (good, but a little overpriced). They gave us a late check out so we could enjoy more time on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for late cheack out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami_FlaWaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

What a nice surprise! We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel--the front desk and staff were all very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, spacious and had great views from the oceanfront balconies. The pool and whirlpool were well kept and enjoyed by all--close access to beach with beach service. The laudromat was clean and easy to use. The warm, fresh cookies available any time were a nice touch! Unfortunately the restaurant was really slow---the food was good just took a really long time to get it! Don't go there if you are really hungry. The neighboring restaurant Squid's Lips was wonderful--nice menu with open air on the waterfront. Also enjoyed the Eco SUP trip (stand up paddleboarding). Was great to watch for the sea turtles as they came to shore to lay thier eggs. Keep in mind this beach is kept in its natural state which means it has a lot of seaweed-fortunately NO jellyfish when we were there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsrice0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

After booking months earlier for Memorial day weekend, we get a call at 5:00 p.m. the day of our reservation that there had been a problem with our room and the hotel booked us at another area hotel which was absolutely not acceptable. After confronting the desk and demanding to see this "damaged" hotel room, they found us a room. Never have had this happen before and we travel a lot. I will never stay at another Doubletree.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuscaloosadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We booked a two room suite with two queen beds and a living room. The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

We were given vouchers for a couple of breakfasts and drinks at the bar. We were visiting friends and didn't make it back to the hotel before 11pm. By that time, the bar was already closed so if you are planning to book a room and hang out at the bar instead of going out, it won't be a late night. One of our friends met us for breakfast and the price for what you get is ridiculous if you're paying. The fruit was good but that was the only thing on the breakfast buffet that was worth paying for. We didn't use the vouchers the next morning and, instead, went to get breakfast elsewhere. And, because breakfast was so disappointing, we didn't bother eating any other meals at the hotel restaurant. However, the front desk frequently had homemade cookies and those were very nice.

The pool area was very nice and there was a nice view of the pool and tiki bar from the hotel lobby. The rooms are outside access rooms but we had to use a key card to access the hallway leading to them once we got off the elevator so it wasn't as insecure as outside rooms frequently are. The ocean view is beautiful and, in the evenings, there are few lights on up and down the beach to keep the sea turtles from being drawn to the lights so the beach view is dark but relatively unobstructed. The hotel provides a request in the room to keep curtains drawn if the lights are on.

It was not the nicest room I've ever had in a Hilton chain but I realize that you sacrifice size and some amenities because of the location. It was still a nice hotel and we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evilqueen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.6 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
1.8 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
3.1 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing