We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

What a nice surprise! We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel--the front desk and staff were all very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, spacious and had great views from the oceanfront balconies. The pool and whirlpool were well kept and enjoyed by all--close access to beach with beach service. The laudromat was clean and easy to use. The warm, fresh cookies available any time were a nice touch! Unfortunately the restaurant was really slow---the food was good just took a really long time to get it! Don't go there if you are really hungry. The neighboring restaurant Squid's Lips was wonderful--nice menu with open air on the waterfront. Also enjoyed the Eco SUP trip (stand up paddleboarding). Was great to watch for the sea turtles as they came to shore to lay thier eggs. Keep in mind this beach is kept in its natural state which means it has a lot of seaweed-fortunately NO jellyfish when we were there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsrice0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    646
    236
    97
    56
See reviews for
844
624
72
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

After booking months earlier for Memorial day weekend, we get a call at 5:00 p.m. the day of our reservation that there had been a problem with our room and the hotel booked us at another area hotel which was absolutely not acceptable. After confronting the desk and demanding to see this "damaged" hotel room, they found us a room. Never have had this happen before and we travel a lot. I will never stay at another Doubletree.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuscaloosadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We booked a two room suite with two queen beds and a living room. The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

We were given vouchers for a couple of breakfasts and drinks at the bar. We were visiting friends and didn't make it back to the hotel before 11pm. By that time, the bar was already closed so if you are planning to book a room and hang out at the bar instead of going out, it won't be a late night. One of our friends met us for breakfast and the price for what you get is ridiculous if you're paying. The fruit was good but that was the only thing on the breakfast buffet that was worth paying for. We didn't use the vouchers the next morning and, instead, went to get breakfast elsewhere. And, because breakfast was so disappointing, we didn't bother eating any other meals at the hotel restaurant. However, the front desk frequently had homemade cookies and those were very nice.

The pool area was very nice and there was a nice view of the pool and tiki bar from the hotel lobby. The rooms are outside access rooms but we had to use a key card to access the hallway leading to them once we got off the elevator so it wasn't as insecure as outside rooms frequently are. The ocean view is beautiful and, in the evenings, there are few lights on up and down the beach to keep the sea turtles from being drawn to the lights so the beach view is dark but relatively unobstructed. The hotel provides a request in the room to keep curtains drawn if the lights are on.

It was not the nicest room I've ever had in a Hilton chain but I realize that you sacrifice size and some amenities because of the location. It was still a nice hotel and we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evilqueen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and were very pleased. The hotel staff were friendly and professional. We picked this hotel because it was dog friendly and we brought our two small dogs with us. The hotel is pet friendly and the dogs, leashed of course, are allowed on the first floor. Due to city ordinance dogs are not allowed on the beach though, which the staff informed us of when we checked in. We wanted to just get away and sit on the beach so the location was perfect for us.

The hotel is directly on the beach. The front of the room faces toward the street/parking lot and the back of the room (where the bed is) faces the ocean directly. We stayed in a King Suite. The room was clean and was a good size. The bathroom is very tiny though. It has a stall shower and a toilet only. The shower itself is a good size, but takes up most of the bathroom so it's a tight fit. The sink is outside of the room. Since we had pets, we stayed on the first floor, which was nice because the back of the room has a sliding glass door that opens up to a grassy area we could walk to the dogs (although the view would have been nicer on a higher floor.) Although you are right on the beach, there are Sea Oats that block access to the beach, so you must go through the hotel to get to the actual beach.
I think the price of this hotel is great for it to be ocean front. I liked best that it is a pet friendly hotel with reasonable rates. We saw a few other people there with their pets too. what I liked least was that there is not a ton of restaurants around it. We were only there a couple of days so if we were to come back again I would research places to eat online just to have some variety. Overall, It's a nice place I would stay at again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bostons2ppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpipher, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear 2bostons2ppl ,

I wanted to say thank you for your great review of our property from your most recent stay. As we strive to make every guests' experience exceed their expectations, I certainly hope we did in your case. I hope that the next time your travels bring you to Melbourne, or the next time you take your vacation to our area of Florida, that you choose to stay with us!!!

Again, thank you very much.

Sincerely,

Trent Pipher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This was my third stay here in less than a year, and will be going back with my family in July for vacation. We were there for shuttle launches for work and this was definitely a great place to stay. EVERY ROOM faces the ocean with a balcony / patio. The staff are incredibly friendly. We hosted a meeting at the hotel in April and everything was perfect! I can't wait to return! The poolside bar and grill is great, as is the inside restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is a great beachfront hotel. It's not in a highly commercialized area so it's QUIET! It has enough onsite (restaurant, bar, pool, etc.) to where you don't have to leave if you don't feel like going out. I think it's a great place for couples, young families.... I think young adults seeking excitement might want to go somewhere else. The rooms are well laid-out and very comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drobotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

From land-locked Orlando, we went on a driving beach escape to Melbourne. The DoubleTree offers all suites with one bedroom and a cozy living area, each with a 42-inch plasma TV, a wonderful oceanfront view, really comfortable beds, and a balcony. A small fridge is on hand, along with a microwave. The beach is not too wide; the water just active enough to let you know you're in the ocean, and seashells wash up for beach combing. While there are some signs of wear, hard to avoid with salt/sand air, the hotel was lovely. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Very satisfied with our experience!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsasenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
1.6 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
1.8 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
3.1 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing