We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Melbourne
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Babylon, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Usually stay at Fairfield Inns but everything booked the night we drove in so chose another Marriott option. Room was very nice, quiet, comfortable firm mattress. Needed ice for cooler, and although booklet in room said refrigerators available for ice, ours had no ice made in freezer. Asked front desk and then manager who appeared annoyed that I should even ask, and promptly told me they had none (kitchen but no ice?). Received small amount of ice after annoyed husband went back down to ask. For $176 you would expect to be treated better.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank grammysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraKafer, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good Day!

We appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share with us your feedback. We sincerely thank you for selecting the Melbourne Residence Inn by Marriott for your past stay. Feedback from our guests, both negative and positive is the key to our continuous improvement process and our ability to provide quality service and a quality product to all our guests.

On behalf of our General Manager we do apologize for your recent experience here. As you know and experienced our rooms all have refrigerators with ice machines. In order to keep everything hygienic, we make sure the ice that is made from the previous guest is disposed of. This way each guest can make sure that the ice is “fresh” so to speak.

Yes, we do have a kitchen but we do not have an ice machine. We have a cube machine, which makes just enough for our needs in the kitchen. Believe me, I wish we had an ice machine.

If you would like to discuss anything further, please feel free to reach out to me or my general manager.

Thank you,
Chiara Kafer
Chiara.kafer@marriott.com

Jim Ridenour
Jim.ridenour@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    81
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
72
53
12
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Normally not a fan of Residence Inn's simply because of the weak bonus points and so-so breakfast. I however would stay here again as it is close to the airport and some pretty good food places. I enjoyed the elite member plinko as it helped the point total more than a normal RI. The rooms are the standard new RI look that I do like over the old townhouse style.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraKafer, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Good Day James!

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you won big in Plinko!

We thank you for your Marriott Loyalty!

Chiara Kafer
Property Coordinator
chiara.kafer@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is comfortable and convenient to downtown Melbourne. Great full breakfast, free parking and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I had thought I left some clothes behind when I checked out and they were very helpful and phoned me back. They checked with the next guests staying in the same room. Many guests were staying there with their dogs. Also, many young kids with a group. The hotel gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. Would stay there again if in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if you want quiet. Many kids were staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraKafer, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Good Day!

Thanks for the great review! You must have been here the weekend of the Thespian Competition. That is always a fun filled weekend.

We appreciate your patience with them.

Thank you again and we hope you visit our property again.

Chiara Kafer
Property Coordinator
chiara.kafer@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I love Residence Inn but this one was not the best. The first think that hit me as I walked down the hallway was the odor. It wasn't better once I got in my room. My wife had to spray the room. I would not recommend it for anyone traveling highway 95. It is quite a distance from the freeway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcLauchlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraKafer, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Good Day!

Thank you so much for your input. We are in the process of researching this and want to thank you for letting us know.

Chiara Kafer
Property Coordinator
chiara.kafer@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Even though this Residence Inn did not offer a manager's reception at night, my stay was exceptionally pleasant with a spacious suite, wonderful breakfast buffet, and extremely professional staff on board. My only complaint would be that most of the area's restaurants were located approximately four miles towards I-95 and were not within walking distance.
Overall it is a great location with a Publix across the street and a historic district near by with specialty locales for dining.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors were extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladd298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraKafer, Property Coordiantor at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderul remarks about out Residence Inn property. I will pass on your wonderful coments to our team. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience our local areas of interest.

We hope to see you soon!

Happy Holiday!
Chiara Kafer
Proeprty Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks on business. I usually try to stay at a Residence Inn when I am away. This one is different than others I have been to. I noticed they don't offer dinner Monday through Thursday like many other Residence Inns I have stayed at. Coffee is not available 24/7 in the lobby like most others.

One thing I did not like was my room was located in the rear corner of the hotel and I was woken up several times very early in the morning by the garbage truck emptying the dumpster. I also would like to note that the ottoman in my room was very worn to the point where the vinyl/leather material was cracking all over.

I just checked my credit card and I was apparently charged a small fee for some incidental I assume. I am not sure what exactly I was charged for and it is not worth my time calling to find out as it is a small amount. Another thing is the tv channels are very basic channels, I would say less than 20 channels total and most of them are news channels.

If I ever have to return to Melbourne for work I will probably stay at another hotel just because of the lack of tv channels and the odd charge on my credit card. One other thing I would like to mention is that the staff was very friendly but the staff alone won't make me return to a hotel unfortunately.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAB111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraKafer, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Good Day!
Thank you so much for your input on how we can improve our property. It is guests like you that help with your comments, whether good or bad.
We strive to make each guest experience a wonderful stay from Check in to check out.
I understand that when traveling you expect an experience to remember and I apologize you did not get that during your stay here.

In regards to the “odd charge”, our standard operating procedures are that we authorize the credit card at check in for room and tax and then an additional $20 for incidentals daily. If the odd charge is still showing on your account please reach out to me.

We are in the process of replacing the ottomans and in 2014 will have a new cable system that will provide an increase in the number of channels. We encourage you to please try us again in the New Year! If you do return please let me know personally so I can make sure you get a great room away from the back of the hotel.

Thank you,
Chiara Kafer
Property Coordinator
Chiara.kafer@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to all of the area attractions , my wife and four year old grandson stayed from Friday to Monday, and had a wonderful stay. The front desk was one of the most friendly groups of people I've had the pleasure to meet. From directions to great places to eat, they were on the money.
We had a 1 bedroom w/king and a sleeper, very comfortable small kitchen large fridge. the pool was warm and very relaxing. Over the weekend they had a soccer and cheerleader groups in the same time not a problem .

Room Tip: room 508 was great you looked out at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellygrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraKafer, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Good Day!

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments.
We strive to make every guest moment memorable and I am glad we were able to do that for your family.

We hope to see you soon!

Thank you,
Chiara Kafer
Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
4.2 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Melbourne West
Courtyard Melbourne West
#9 of 21 in Melbourne
293 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Melbourne

Property: Residence Inn Melbourne
Address: 1430 S Babcock St, Melbourne, FL 32901-3025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Melbourne is the perfect location for those marathon business trips. We are here to help you stay strong and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing