We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room, for a very short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Melbourne
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting in the area. Due to bad weather and delayed flights, I didn't get to my room until about 11pm and was out by 8 the next morning. However, the room was very nice with and equipped with a full kitchen. The staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast in the morning was very good. This hotel would definitely be on my list to consider on a return trip to the area.

Room Tip: Request room away from elevator and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimRidenour, General Manager at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello JVBV,

Thanks so much for you kind words regarding our Residence Inn as well as your vote of confidence for any/all return trips. All is most appreciated.

Best Regards,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We are Marriott Reward members so we try to stay at Marriott properties. This was a good choice since it we were in town for a basketball tournament and needed to move to different locations. Well maintained, typical breakfast and the décor was contemporary. I am fussy about comfort so the mattress could have been a little more comfortable.
The staff that we encountered was friendly and housekeeping was spot on. The exterior is appealing and I asked for room on the backside of hotel as others had recommended and didn’t experience any noise issues. However, I didn’t think the roads surrounding the area were very congested since it was a weekend.
There is a Publix across the street for any items you may need so that is very convenient. I would stay again at this property is we are in the area.

I would score higher on value but I only get 5 points per $ spent on this type of Marriott property vs. other brands. So, you need to weigh the pros and cons in hotel choices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimRidenour, General Manager at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We thank you for your kind comments on our Property and our Superb Team....and we hope to see you again real soon.

Best Regards,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great breakfast. Great rooms. Great staff. Simply a great experience. The location was nice and quiet while being close enough to my work location. There is a publix and Hooters in walking distance but all the good restaurants are a few miles down the road. If you are in town for business and need some rest at the end of the day this place is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimRidenour, General Manager at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about our Property and our Superb Team. We hope to be able to host you again real soon.

Best Regards,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went over to Melbourne for spring break with the family and stayed at the Residence Inn on Babcock Street. The hotel is convenient to area locations to include the beach, and area restaurants. The front desk was very friendly on check-in and made some recommendations on eating out. In checking into our room I noticed the dishwasher inside was blocked up. When we went out the next morning they took care of it. The room was clean, but you can tell that things are starting to break down at the property. The furniture was a little worn and the throw pillows were fairly nasty. I don't know what would be easier to steam clean them or just have staff go get new ones?

Places to go nearby are the Green Turtle Deli, which is about 3-4 miles away off of Eau Gallie Blvd. The other place is Meg O'Malley's off of New Haven Avenue, which is the downtown district. The food and drinks are always great there, and the atmosphere in the area is casual/cool. If you like cigars, take a walk into the Executive Cigar store in the 800 block of New Haven avenue. IF you like the beach we explored out from the norm and went to Sebastian Inlet about 18 miles South on A1A on the right. It's about 8 dollars to go in and you have the calmer Banana River side and the ocean side. The waves are really great on the ocean side and there are no huge crowds. To me that beats the hell out of having to keep going to the parking meters off of 192! That can be such a pain in the rear end having to keep putting coins in the machine. Another good eating place we found in the town of Melbourne Beach was "Sand on the Beach." The mahi-mahi wraps were awesome and my son had the Mahi Finers with fries. You can tell fresh caught fish when you see it. THe staff was friendly, and the cooks did a great job.

all in all a good experience. The morning breakfast at the hotel was very good and I recall the cook who took care of all of us. Her name is Jesenia, and she did a great job! Always positive and smiling considering you get some real winners down there in the morning. Thanks Jesenia!

Room Tip: nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimRidenour, General Manager at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind rmarks regarding our property as well as the constructive comments. We have been open since 2008 and agree that we need to address some of the soft goods and our planned soft good renovation scheduled for 2014 will fix these issues. Meanwhile we keep replacing soft good items as we can and as required and obviously we missed the pillow in your room. Also, thank you for the kind words for our breakfast service as well as for Jesenia as she does a great job and with a continual smile.

Glad you enjoyed your Spring Break with us and we hope to see you back next year if you choose to visit the Space Coast again.

Best Regards,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean and relatively new hotel. Great service from check in to out. Comfortable bed and decent central to all of town location. Excellent value as well, can highly reco and will be back. Lives up to the Marriott Residence Inn brand nicely.

Will return next trip to Melbourne.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jonathan H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our first stay at a Residence Inn. We were very pleased would definitely return if we are in the area. The woman at the front desk greeted us warmly and offered good information so that we could make a wise restaurant choice for dinner.
We were very pleasantly surprised at how spacious and immaculate our room was! The bed was extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was adequate. Overall, we felt as if this place offered a great value.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tonirog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimRidenour, General Manager at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your compliment regarding our cleanliness. We hope to see you back again real soon........

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's central location and recent reviews on TripAdvisor. I'll divide this review into two parts, one positive and one negative.

POSITIVE:
Lovely decor and amenities. Granite counters, contemporary colors and Paul Mitchell bath products.
Well appointed kitchen, full size refrigerator, full sized microwave, dishwasher and even a garage disposal.
Very clean and well stocked, coffee, assorted teas, popcorn and even candy in a jar.
An assortment of newspapers provided in lobby, but get there early, they go fast.

NEGATIVE:
A wireless keyboard is provided but getting into the WIFI is impossible. I tired every day and night for 4 days without success. Tried with both my laptop and IPad, with no success. The only page that would load, once connected, was the Marriott homepage! I asked the front desk the first night and was told they had someone coming to work on it. By 10:00pm, same answer. Next day, same answer, but was told I could use the ONE public computer in the lobby and amazingly, it does have WIFI. Very frustrating, especially if you are there for business. This is an ongoing problem, check other reviews.
Firm (hard) beds. Okay if you like firm, but I don't.
Lots of noise from the very busy road this hotel is located on.
Hospital is close-by and ambulances, police & emergency vehicles scream by all night long.
Breakfast is provided and is adequate, but nothing special. Scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, sausage patties in the hot food area. Bananas, oranges and mushy looking fruit. Milk tasted sour, although it was not out of date. No yougert, the waffle machine broke, and a very slow toaster with a few choices of breads. Mini apple muffins and a mixed chocolate muffin, same everyday. Generic coffee and one choice of flavored creamer(vanilla) or half and half creamer.

All in all it was an okay stay, but not the quality I would expect of Marriott. I've had better food and much more comfortable beds at Holiday Inn. Too bad, because the rooms are very small, but very nice and housekeeping does an exceptional job.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeniseS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
4.3 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Melbourne West
Courtyard Melbourne West
#10 of 22 in Melbourne
307 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Melbourne-Viera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Melbourne

Address: 1430 S Babcock St, Melbourne, FL 32901-3025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $153 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Melbourne is the perfect location for those marathon business trips. We are here to help you stay strong and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing