We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance & upkeep badly neglected... don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Melbourne
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Maintenance & upkeep badly neglected... don't stay here!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the nicest decorated Residence Inn lobbies we've visited, and friendly front desk staff, but the positives end there. We were scheduled to stay for 2 weeks, but checked out after 2 nights!

Sadly some investment groups that own franchise hotels often focus primarily on profit while neglecting upkeep of the facility, refusing to fund sufficient housekeeping, and ignoring comfort of their guests -- all to maximize the bottom line. I strongly favor capitalism (& earning profits), but not at the expense of providing a quality product. I don't know if this property is owned by such a group, but it definitely fits the earlier description, and treats this property like a 'cash cow,' allowing quality to deteriorate unnecessarily.

Also poorly designed: The toilet/shower area is so cramped it must have been intended for use by Lilliputians. (We are normal sized people.) Literally less than 4 inches between the toilet & the door which must be navigated to enter tub/shower area. This was difficult when the floor was dry; dangerous when the floor was wet. Very difficult for able bodied people; can't imagine how a disabled person could do it.

My wife's comment, "I have never before needed to struggle to get between a toilet & the end of a door to access a hotel's shower/tub... ridiculous!"

Soil was left in room from prior guest(s); we found hair in most of the dresser drawers when we checked in. Maid service is very poor; linens not changed when requested.

On the second day we completed a form at the request of the front desk to have our room serviced daily at 1 PM; when we returned to the hotel at 2:30 PM it still had not been serviced. When we inquired about it we got "attitude."

Much of the suite's furniture is in need of replacement or refurbishing. See the photo of the fabric worn off one of the chairs; this excessive wear was common throughout the suite.

The worst negative for us was their alleged WiFi service. When it works it is very, very slow; more often the WiFi either kicks the user off the network or IT DOESN'T WORK AT ALL! It took more than an hour to get one email message sent out because it kept kicking us off the network! Skip this place if WiFi is important for you.

We moved to an oceanfront hotel for just a few dollars more... it was well worth it!! There are half a dozen or more nice hotels on the coast, just a few miles from the Residence Inn... check them out, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    82
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
72
53
12
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable stay at this impeccable hotel. The reception personnel was very welcoming: friendly and efficient. They accepted our early check in. The lobby is pleasantly decorated with sober and elegant burgundy colors, comfortable armchairs and a cozy atmosphere. We were given a suite on the 6th floor. The suites are very spacious, comfortable and bright. The color scheme is nice and elegant, the many amenities an added plus: a spacious vanity and closet, a full kitchen with dishwasher, a comfortable king bed, chest of drawers, a spacious living room, working desk and good lighting in every area of the suite.
Complimentary breakfast offers a variety of fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals, oatmeal, hot and cold items and good coffee.
The hotel is central Babcock Str. close to the old Melbourne Town, to the shopping area of New Haven ( Melbourne Square) and right across there is a convenient shopping center with a Publix supermarket. The hotel is very close to the Florida Institute of Technology ( Florida Tech) , making it a very convenient accommodation if your visit is related to the University.
The value is excellent. Our expectations were exceeded and we shall return to this hotel on our next visit to Melbourne. Highly recommended.Excellent.
Melbourne is a very nice town, it offers good shopping, beaches, good restaurants and the Space Center is only 45 minutes from the Hotel. A car is needed.

Room Tip: Our room on the 6th floor was good with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this extended stay suite hotel many times and each time is always great. The King Studio Suite is roomy and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast each morning is always fresh and changes daily. The staff is always gracious and friendly. Monday thru Wednesday an evening cocktail hour ( and a half) offers complimentary draft beer and wine and a variety of food and snack items. Tuned In was Monday night and consisted of hot pretzels, carrots/celery & ranch dipping sauce, a variety of Pepsi products and some mini chocolate bars. Tuesday night was called " The Manager's Toast" which consisted of cheese boards and an assortment of deli meats, spinach dip, salsa and chips. While it may not be enough for a guest with a big appetite, it does make for a nice snack.

The only complaint that I have is the free wifi. I was unable to secure a good connection. Actually had to bypass Ibahn in order to type up this review.

I am happy to say that I will continue to stay at this hotel. Hands down. No doubt!!

P.S. The beach is less than 10 minutes away from here!! Which is definately a plus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimRidenour, General Manager at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks.......your kind words and observations are most appreciated and we are working very hard on the HSIA....

Jim L. Ridenour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Usually, I enjoy being a guest of Residence Inn. I've been to properties so generous that they helped me complete a pot of chili by sourcing ingredients from their own kitchen.

The evening receptions were parsimonious, at best. Breakfasts equally disappointing. Coffee only available at breakfast, or evening meals.

Check-in was nightmarish. There was an extra $20 per night fee tacked on for “incidentals” yet to occur. I have *never* encountered this fee on previous stays at Residence Inns. Equally off putting was the occasion of a purchase from the market pantry. The item was purchased with a twenty dollar bill. The front desk clerk took the bill and held it up to the light before giving me my change. If checking bills is policy - something more professional should be implemented such as use of black light, and posted warnings about which denominations will be spot checked.

The low slung furniture made my stay eqaully as uncomfortable as the callousness of the front desk staff. Friends and colleagues await my bubbly stories of experiences at Residence Inn.
This stay was a huge disappointment. While not soured on the brand - my next trip to Melbourne will be spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimRidenour, General Manager at Residence Inn Melbourne, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Our sincere apology for your less than acceptable stay as we pride ourselves on getting it right the first time, every time. Our Team prides itself on efficient check-ins, but we will relook at your particular issue. As for the $20 psr night for incidentals, that is an outgrowth of Dodd-Frank and the new Banking procedures. Our Social Events are set up to be Social in nature and are not met to be a full meal or a substitute for dinner. Whereas, our Breakfast is quite extensive and we do rotate a different main item every day so as to give our guests a different option daily. To conclude, I have a lot of confidence in our Product and our Team, as most all our reviews are excellent or better.....and hope you'll give us a second chance next time you visit the Space Coast.

Jim L. Ridenour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed only one night in this hotel but it was very comfortable. Perhaps somewhat of an awkward location for a large hotel (there's a nearby stand-alone Sears, and a Publix across the street) but I think it added to the comfortable feel. The room was clean as expected, complimentary breakfast was very good, and they have a single computer with internet at the front which helped us navigate the iffy weather during our trip. Hotel staff were very nice. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmaniac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel was spotless despite the furnishings and decor being a bit worn. Beds were however very comfortable. Nice spacious rooms. Breakfast was good. Staff was nice. Only problem with our stay was that people went to smoke on a patio just outside the pool. It definetly made the pool experience less enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The place is filled with art decor, very pleasant colors on the walls, ultra modern facilities with a free extra rolling bed for my son. Comes in single bed and 1 bedroom king unlike other residence inn that has 2 queens. Food is excellent as always. Pool is small but clean.

Room Tip: pleasant atmosphere, very vibrant wall paint, granite kitchen tiles, artsy decors, awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kudang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
4.2 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Melbourne West
Courtyard Melbourne West
#10 of 21 in Melbourne
297 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Melbourne

Property: Residence Inn Melbourne
Address: 1430 S Babcock St, Melbourne, FL 32901-3025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Melbourne is the perfect location for those marathon business trips. We are here to help you stay strong and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing