We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Texas wishing i was on the beach
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

When I was driving to the hotel I was concerned as Melbourne is a really sleepy beach town this time of year. Once I got there and got inside I was pleaseantly surprise. The inviting lobby and the marvelous room with the ocean front view was awesome. The friendly staff at the front desk was welcoming after a full day of travel. My room in the south tower was very modern with a flat panel TV and a king bed. In addition I had a fridge and a balcony with 2 chairs. The view was spectacular - the ocean was wonderful to look at every morning before my meeting and after in the evening! We had a group event on one of the days I was there and I can only praise the staff for a great job they did. The food was absolutely fabulous! Overall everyone had a great time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkstar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    481
    193
    92
    38
See reviews for
460
551
66
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2009

-We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Hilton. Stephanie at the front desk was very accommodating to any needs.
-The rooms are spacious. We had an Oceanfront King. The breeze waved into the room and made it feel like vacation. Falling asleep to the waves every night was perfect.
-Any request that we made was promptly done.
-My few complaints are: the South tower has bigger balconies and there are no microwaves in the rooms.
-Will recommend to others and definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishanddream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

You can't find fault with the Hilton's location--beautiful white sand beach right on your doorstep. The hotel, however, is lackluster. The rooms were tired and a bit dingy, and the hallways appeared to be vacuumed about once every couple of weeks. If we had paid full price off of the Hilton website, I would have been disappointed/angry. Instead, we booked through a hotel consolidator and got a much cheaper price, and so I can't really complain. If you can get a decent price on a room here, then it's worth a look. Additionally, the hotel staff were great--very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islington185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markwilliams2, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
Thank you so much for your response. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Although we strive for perfection, we are not always perfect. I hope that your experience with our friendly and helpful staff will encourage you to try us again. We value your feedback and always use it to improve the experiences we provide.

Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I wasn't expecting much from the reviews I had read. I went ahead and booked a room anyway due to the beach being so close. When we got there it was fantastic. nice big clean room, excellent view, Liz at the front desk was so nice and accommodating. We were going to stay 5 nights but liked it so much we stayed another. The only issue we had was the restaurant. We went there for dinner and there were only 2 other couples in there, so I thought we would be taken care of. The manager sat us after about 5 minutes of waiting at the desk, then I think the busboy actually took our drink order. The manager brought us our drinks and it took what seemed to be a half hour to get our food, again brought to us by the manager. We didn't see our waiter until we were almost done and he ask how our meal was. (which was excellent). We are going to do it again nest year. Also, I would recommend staying at the south tower at a upper level room closest to the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dc8Louisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I booked through hotwire and to my surprise we received an oceanfront room. I was so excited! Beautiful view! The room was great, the AC wasn't loud, the bathroom counter was large, had free high speed internet (remember to bring your cord), and cable tv (not direct tv). The pool was great and their was enough room to get a lounge chair with plenty leftover, lots of space to walk around. The hot tub was large enough for 5 people comfortably. The pool towels were really large as well, great benefit. Only compliant is their was no refridge in our room, so we had to keep on refilling our cooler with ice. Other than that, I would highly recommend and I would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woogie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I checked into this Hilton property last night (1 night reservation). It was pretty late when we arrived (midnight) and after staying in the room for awhile, the room would not cool down; apparently the A/C was broken. I didn't want to change rooms because of the late hour, but finally I had to (almost 90 degrees in the room). Somewhat frusterated, I called the front desk at 1am and they immediately moved us to a vacant room a few doors down; which was real convenient. They had the security guard bring us new keys, so we didn't even have to go down to the lobby.

At check-out time, Liz at the front desk asked how my stay was and I politely replied, "oh, you don't want to know, but it's ok...". She insisted that I explain, so I did.

What caught me by surprise is that she didn't charge me for the room - something I still felt obligated to do. After all, the second room was great and it was myself who arrived late.

I started thinking... that's real customer service - something I haven't seen in awhile. If she didn't honestly want to know about my stay, I would have never told her, and I would have simply gone about my day. I would have also probably never stayed at that Hilton again.

But, since she did want to make things right and was legitimately concerned about my stay, I WILL ABSOLUTELY STAY at the Hilton again when I return to Melbourne. Thank you Liz!!!

As for the other things - great clean rooms, great view of the ocean, friendly staff, breakfast buffet (with eggs-to-order), nice pool, etc. See video below.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachE100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Just got back from staying 14 nights at this Hilton Hotel. As others have said it's not probably quite up to the normal standards of Hilton Hotels but generally the room was good and the hotel amenities are all you'd need.

I had asked for a room in the new block with a good sea view, I got a room in the new block as requested but my view was largely of the car park although I did still have a fairly nice view of the sea, just on an angle. You need to request a room on a high floor as the lower floors have their view obscured by air conditioning plant/roof etc.

The room was clean and fairly modern, large bathroom and nice shower/tub. We had a refrigerator for the whole stay without charge (already in our room when we arrived). However, the maid service was very poor. Only once was our room made up in the morning. Mostly it was made up around 4.30-5.00pm - far too late when you've had a hot day sightseeing or by the pool and want to come in for a shower and to relax in your room. One day our room wasn't made up until nearly 6.00pm! Also with 2 adults and 1 teenager I had requested extra bath towels, nearly every day the correct towels were not left and we had to locate a maid to give us more. The loo roll wasn't replaced regularly either, I had to ring reception one day and they took an hour to deliver one! Similar with the coffee machine items, often coffee/milk etc wasn't replaced. Just not the service you'd expect from this sort of hotel.

The pool area is quite nice. The pool isn't massive but large enough for generally having a dip. There isn't a shallow end though so not suitable for very young children possibly. The water was lovely and warm every day. There's not a massive amount of sun loungers but we managed to get one every day although there's only a handful of umbrella's so you may have to sit in the full sun. The tiki bar was ok but no atmosphere and often wasn't open, even if the pool area seemed quite busy and always shut dead at 5.00pm however busy the pool was. Nice small deck area to sunbathe on and the beach is lovely (though $20 for two loungers and umbrella). Hot tub ok but water far too hot to be able to use comfortably. Gym area small but adequate.

The hotel bar was dead most nights. Only time it was full was when there was a wedding (of which there are several every weekend). On a Wednesday there is a Hilton Honors happy hour with snacks and free drinks from 6.00-7.00pm. Breakfast buffet was nice and waiters friendly and efficient (Betty Rae very nice lady) though it can get very busy at the weekend and one time we were moved out of the restaurant to accommodate a wedding. Did not use the restaurant at night but didn't seem busy and plenty of nice places to eat within easy reach of the hotel.

There is free wireless internet in the reception area. I couldn't pick it up in my room. The wired internet in the room is free but extremely slow and I mean SLOW. Only one computer/printer for use in the business area.

On the last day my husband had his t-shirt stolen which he'd left on a sun-lounger by the pool whilst we took a walk down to the sea. The reaction of the receptionist when we reported it was indifferent. We didn't really expect a full scale stop and search of all guests obviously but some concern would have been appreciated. It just about summed the hotel up really, it has the makings of being something good but the staff and that certain 'something' seem to be missing.

If you're planning a short stay I'm sure you won't be disappointed, it's a lovely location and wonderful beach just don't expect to be pampered.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.1 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
4.2 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
4.8 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Property: Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3003 N Highway A1a, Melbourne, FL 32903-2133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel in Melbourne, Florida is located on the beautiful beaches of Florida's Space Coast. All 200 of our rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, personal refrigerator, in-room safe and stunning views of the Atlantic coast. Located in the beachside city of Indialantic, Florida, our green, eco-friendly Hilton Melbourne Beach boasts a classic Florida ambiance. From the moment you walk into the lobby of our Melbourne, Florida hotel, you will encounter our beautiful atrium with its floor-to-ceiling glass panels showcasing a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean. Each of our luxuriously appointed guest rooms is just steps from the ocean! Wake to a stunning sunrise and watch the rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean. All of our guest rooms feature FREE high-speed wireless Internet access, a spacious work desk, Hilton alarm clock radio, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Hilton Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing