We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very fun evening with great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meg O'Malley's Restaurant & Irish Pub

Meg O'Malley's Restaurant & Irish Pub
Ranked #3 of 421 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very fun evening with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We traveled to Ireland 2 years ago and my husband has been wanting to find an authentic Irish place to eat ever since. Meg O'Malley's did not disappoint. Our waiter was even named Sean! We had the Trinity and the corned beef Cuban sandwich and they were both delicious. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was a lot of fun. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    360
    74
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't think twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is down right fantastic! The menu is amazing, they have spot on food. It will hit your irish tastebuds hard! Great place to watch the game or hear a great band play. Go enjoy a pint, and eat anything they offer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The ambiance was perfect, food was great! Had the Meg's Threesome appetizer with the corned beef cuban with a bellhaven beer. Perfect.The corned beef was cooked perfectly and wasn't all fatty. Located right off the little 'downtown' Melbourne with all the antique and random shops, we will definitely be back when in Melbourne. The prices were pretty good considering most pub styles can hike up the price a little more

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best pub experiences in my lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My favorite restaurant in the whole wide world is McGuire's Irish Pub in Pensacola, Florida. Meg O'Malley's is the closest I have ever seen at duplicating that experience. They serve the same 18 cent bean soup.

I ordered the 1/2 pound cheeseburger which came with a pickle and slaw. I also ordered a side of fries and the bean soup. Everything was great. The fries were a lot more cripsy than you usually get and that was a big plus too. I ate a late lunch at 3pm on a Thursday and the place looked dinner or lunch busy. That should tell you plenty about their quality.

I live an hour from here so getting back won't be automatic, but I plan to return with the family when convenient. The service was great. The quality and price make this place an exceptional value. I don't have any complaints.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChanceMan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

When you enter Meg O'Malley's you start to get the sense of being in an Irish pub. Dark wood and lots of ale paraphernalia. The hostess seemed a bit overwhelmed when she sat us, she might have been new.

I couldn't decide what I wanted to eat - the menu is impressive with all the Irish staples. I decided on the Kilkenney, probably one of the best sandwiches I have had in a long, long time. I added a side of Tater Tots which were perfect. From the salads to the kids meals, everyone left the restaurant full and happy.

One complaint - the booth they sat us at had a 2 top right next to it where one person at the 2 top would have their back right next to your side. It was weird.

Definitely will go back again and again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meg O'Malley's Restaurant & Irish Pub also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Meg O'Malley's Restaurant & Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing