We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Irish Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meg O'Malley's Restaurant & Irish Pub

Meg O'Malley's Restaurant & Irish Pub
Ranked #3 of 420 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent food and beverage in downtown Melbourne, FL. Make sure you try out the Corn Beef & Cabbage!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Odd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    343
    72
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“18 cent soup, yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We sat outside on the patio, which was nice. Our server was very attentive, offering information about the items on the menu and highlighting a bean soup that sells for 18 cents a cup. It was delicious. our entrees were good, too, and our server brought over a big piece of bread pudding in honor of my birthday. Yum! The manager came over to see how everything was for us. Very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank out2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't wait for St. Patrick's Day. Dine in now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Meg O'Malley's has excellent Shepherd's Pie, Corned Beef and Cabbage, Parliament Bean Soup for 18-cents (yes, you read that right and it's delicious). They also have excellent Fish and Chips, Bread Pudding, and much, much more. This is a treat you won't want to save for St. Paddy's Day. It's a very congenial bar and restaurant. The food and service are terrific.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is one of our favorites in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Whenever we go to visit my mom, we always make sure we stop by Meg O'Malley's at least once. It's a casual Irish pub, and they have some pretty good food and beer choices. We always start with the Irish Parliament Bean Soup, of course. We've probably tried almost everything on the menu by now, and my favorites are Meg's Threesome, which comes with potato balls, cabbage rolls and sausage wraps; and the Kilkenny. I don't think I've ever had something I didn't like here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsPattiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place has been around for awhile. It was great before a fire closed it. After the rebuild, management must have changed. The food was consistently good as was the service. Since the re-opening it is a hit & miss place. Waitresses look like they are Tilted Kilt wannabes. Service can be unbelievably slow.
Food is so-so. It seems like the food is cooked ahead of time and reheated prior to serving (so why so long of a wait?). The food is not heated all the through. Cold mash with bangers?
This is supposed to be an Irish pub. Even the Irish would be embarrassed.
Go for the beer and skip the food. Or better, find another place that has both beer and edible food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelLover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meg O'Malley's Restaurant & Irish Pub also viewed

 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Meg O'Malley's Restaurant & Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing