We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Ritch Grissom Memorial Wetlands
Ranked #3 of 75 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just a couple of miles outside of the busy strip malls of Viera/Melbourne is this incredible man-made wetland (it's actually a sewage treatment plant - you can smell the sewage on the road that leads you to the park, but no odor within the park). You can drive around most of the area, but I definitely recommend getting out and walking some of the closed (to car traffic) roads. Most of them are 1 mile loops, and we saw herons (many varieties), egrets, Ibises, a Sandhill Crane, and many other small birds scattered throughout the park. Also saw a few all alligators. We visited in the afternoon (~2pm).

All in all a great break from the city and a good 1 hour diversion

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripHound_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    70
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, FL
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Birds Afloat”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We drove here this morning for our first visit to these wetlands. We weren't disappointed. We saw lots of coots, a pair of sandhill cranes, white ibises, glossy ibises, an osprey, little blue herons, great blue herons and maybe some others I forgot about. There is a choice of a couple different roads you can drive and stopping to watch the birds is easy as the road is wide enough for others to pass. No one has to wait for anyone who is taking pictures or using a scope. It was a good morning and good light for pics. There is no visitors center or indoor restrooms but there are two portable toilets outdoors.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Engand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Surprise Twist at Land's End...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you can find the Rich Grissom Memorail Wetlands, you are in for a treat. Stay in the car and slowly make your way around the twisting dirt roads. On most days, you will see some beautiful wildlife and maybe even a gator or two. This is one of those "stop and smell the roses" kind of places. Enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ValleyVoyagerMangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, MI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what we expected, but it's free”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

There weren't many birds. It's kind of a wide open area. Guess I thought it'd be more woodsy. On the way out we did spot little crocs by the water's edge.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank beej55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“wonderfull place to see wildlife”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place has easy access and from your car bike or by walking you can see hundreds of birds species

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Normu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritch Grissom Memorial Wetlands also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Ritch Grissom Memorial Wetlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing