We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Rossetter House in Cocoa, FL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Rossetter House Museum and Gardens

Historic Rossetter House Museum and Gardens
Ranked #29 of 72 things to do in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our guided tours of the interior of the Rossetter House Museum, the Houston Cemetery, and the gardens include an entertaining and informative discussion of the history of Eau Gallie, the Rossetter Family, and the Roesch Family. We also offer several events throughout the year. Go to our website rossetterhousemuseum or our official Facebook Page Rossetter House Museum for more information on these special events.
Palm Bay, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Historic Rossetter House in Cocoa, FL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My movie group was using the Rossetter House in a movie they were filming, so I had access to photographing various areas of the property as well. There are 2 houses to the estate, with the office being across the street from the main house.

The interesting part of the main house is how it is connected to the rear of the house, with a separate area for cooking. Everything looks as if nothing was ever changed, original as it was back in the 1890's. Interesting to see how our forefathers lived back then.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 321AreaFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Neat piece of Melbourne History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My daughter and I decided to learn a little about the place she was born. We stumbled across the Rossetter House by accident. It was a neat little tour about an interesting family. Don't miss seeing the car in the garage and the history/story behind it.

Helpful?
2 Thank ComputerDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

the house is very pretty to look at ..not much to see ..the outdoors are very lovely and the people that work there are very friendly..i see that they throw events there and it makes a very lovely wedding pictures location..i didn't think it was worth the $7 that i was charged just to look at rooms in one house..but i guess i can chalk it up to keeping up with the grounds..

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank katbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Historic Melbourne Must See!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Whether you live in or are just visiting Melbourne, Florida, the Historic Rossetter House Museum and Gardens are a must see! As you wander through the cemetery and approach the Rossetter house, you get a sense of the great history of the area and the people who struggled to make this area what it is today. Although the second story of the house is not accessible by wheelchair, it is pleasantly air-conditioned and the guided tours last approximately an hour, being both very informative as well as interesting. The grounds and buildings are extremely well maintained and simply beautiful! You are able to purchase bottled water in the gift shop, so put on your walking shoes and bring your camera! Space is available for weddings and other events. Cost of admission is very reasonable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MelissaFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indialantic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historic and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Finally visited this place after taling about it for the last fourteen years.. Very intersting story about the families who lived here over the years.. Lots of Florida history

Helpful?
4 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Rossetter House Museum and Gardens also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Historic Rossetter House Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing