We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Dove III

The Dove III
Ranked #2 of 443 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

After reading the stellar reviews, we expected a great meal. The food was just average, the service and decor even less so. The staff was friendly enough, just not the service you expect for the price of the food. The portions were immense, but did not make up for the quality of the preparation or ingredients.

Helpful?
5 Thank lalee1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    57
    21
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tolland, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Amazing Dining Experience"”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Based on several recommendations we scheduled a dinner at the Dove III in Old Melbourne. With friends we all enjoyed the ambiance, décor, and especially the food. From the time we entered the front door until we left we were treated as 'special guests' by the staff and the owner. Our waiter was both knowledgeable and efficient. Our meals were among the best we've ever enjoyed. The filet mignons were cooked as ordered and to perfection. From the breads, soup, salads and palate cleansing to our entree's the flavors just kept amazing us. The finishing touch was the home made aperitif that topped off the best meal any of the (4) of us could remember. Will definitely return before our trip back to snow country.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint Italian”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We met family and a friend here , it's in the historic downtown section and is a hidden treasure with a wonderful staff serving you a great meal with all the extras to make your dining a very tasteful experience .
It hard to describe , other than to say you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kylemech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, NY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We were a group of five who ate here because of the reviews I read on Trip Advisor. They were spot-on... We had a very friendly and thoroughly knowledgeable waiter who totally made our evening! The food was amazing and we loved how they cleanse your palette before starting the main entree and then an apertif (?sp) after your meal was done. We had 4 different entrees and everyone was thrilled with their choices. Everything was impeccable. We will definitely come back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VonAdams_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just recently moved from Thailand to Florida. We have enjoyed many fine Italian meals all over the world including Italy and we really must say the food at the Dove would stand up to anyone of them. A friend introduced the Dove to us several months back and this is our second visit there - the service is excellent, the ambiance reminds me of that little country cafe in Tuscany and of course the food was simply delicious. Try the Sprimp Diavolo and the Veal Parmesan - they are fabulous!! The price is very reasonable and the friendly is there to ensure your dining pleasure. Highly recommended and we will be back with more friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asianesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dove III also viewed

 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to The Dove III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing