We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Restaurant - The Nomad Cafe”
Review of The Nomad Cafe

The Nomad Cafe
Ranked #12 of 443 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Locally sourced ingredients, internationally inspired cuisine
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Surprising Restaurant - The Nomad Cafe”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We finally got to this place as it has a good reputation but usually requires reservations on weekends to get seated. The place is on the small side with 12 tables [2 to 4 people each]. The location is surprising, being an old gas station location and the exterior more resembles a road diner. Inside everything changes as the decor is tasteful, tables have tablecloths, etc. Service is prompt and friendly. The food is very good: I had a special, Pork Oso Buco which was great. I'm not a big fan of a side dish of plantains but these were tasty. My wife had the Grouper/pasta special with cream sauce and declared it very good. The prices are a little high but not extraordinary. We enjoyed our visit and would go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunrunner45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    89
    26
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor food, bad service, bad prices”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had heard about the nomad so I went tonight. Spanicopita (sp?) was soggy and burnt. Service was horrible and slow. I asked for extra cheese for my chicken fajita - wannabes and I was charged an extra dollar. I will never go back there. Horrible place ... Horrible service... Very bad food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maxgator33607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Omg”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Then food is fresh with popping flavor. There is Mexican dishes but this is a cafe of food fusion of them world. Don't miss desert! They outside does not show how wonderful there food is!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freshFoodLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Fresh homemade guacamole was great (in terms of value and taste) as was the cod. The organic roasted vegetables were a little pricey for what you got, but still very good.

Service very good. Would go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doggone31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“eclectic menu, fresh local eats”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My friends and I really enjoy eating here. We usually get one of the specials because theyre always unique. One of my favorite dishes is their carrot puree soup, creamy and full of flavor. The fajitas are some of the best ive ever had and more than enough to share. The salads are super fresh and full of super foods, served with made in house dressings that make your tastebuds sing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nomad Cafe also viewed

Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to The Nomad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing