We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Gluten Free options!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bald Strawberry

The Bald Strawberry
Ranked #29 of 421 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 100% Gluten Free Goodness! Gourmet waffle sandwiches and waffle pizzas! Desserts & treats too! Try something new, try something delicious!
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gluten Free options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Both the bakery and the cafe have excellent food! Waffle pizzas and sandwiches are unique and delicious, and the baked treats are great as well. I have never been disappointed here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kju001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    21
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, FL
Level Contributor
257 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a waffel cafe, so almost everything is made with waffles. My husband and I share the Sweet Daydream and the Strawberry Haze. I wasn't sure how I would feel about a sandwich made on a waffle but I must say is was a wonderful treat. The waffles here are made just the right thickness for a sandwich and they are crispy on the outside but fluffy on the inside. The Sweet Daydream was WONDERFUL, the combination of the sweet potato, black bean hummus, cashews, avocado & spinach was perfect. We had the Strawberry Haze as our dessert and it too was perfect. Wish they had one of these back home closer to us because it would be a favorite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First 5/5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, great value, speedy, flexible store hours and delicious gluten free cake for my daughter's birthday party.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pyrozu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“gluten free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A total gluten free café. Great bakery items, and sandwiches. You can also buy the flour mix, croutons and other items. The best carrot cake ever. My fav sandwich is the California Rueben made with real turkey not deli meat. It made seem unusual to make a sandwich with waffles but they are wonderful!!!! So glad this place opened up in my area!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank centurygigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gluten free, vegan, dairy free, and vegetarian options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is an amazing find for people in the area who have food sensitivities. They are open for breakfast and lunch, sometimes dinner. Meals are sandwiches on waffles or waffle pizzas. Both are fantastic! Hormone free, antibiotic free, nitrate free meats, even a vegan/dairy free cheese option! Their baked goods are to die for, and the selection changes often enough so that boredom would never be a problem. A bit pricy, but it is more than worth it. Pretty much everything is made from scratch. And the atmosphere is very homey and welcoming. The store is moving from downtown Melbourne to 1280 Sarno Road(I think) at the end of August 2013, which is sad for us. But they need more room, to hold all the awesomeness!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank char w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bald Strawberry also viewed

 
Melbourne, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to The Bald Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing