We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood for an average price”

Shells Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 451 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went on a Friday night after 5pm, and had a 10 to 15 minute wait for a seat. The trout dinner, fish and chips, catfish dinner and the crab cake dinner were good. The service was good. We will return again.The only thing I can say on the negative side was the dinners all came with same vegs and rice, except for the fish and chips, and the bread was a throw away item.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolyne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 256 of 372 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

After not dining at Shells for several months we deceided to give it another chance,the quality of the food has deteriated over the last couple of years,not as fresh.They make you wait a lengthy period of time before seating you while the restaurants has half the booths empty.The hostess is rude and thinks they are the only restaurant in town,you can find better fish all over the east coast.Even with a reservation and many open tables they make you wait,guess they depend on the northerners to survive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robob1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent Blue point oysters. Warm friendly service. Small plates for Seniors and very reasonably priced. Staff very knowledgably about the fish they serve.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Davidterry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The overall appearance of the place was something out of a saved by the bell episode complete with 80s music. Our waitress complained about her arm hurting to put cheese on our pasta and was not attentive at all with refilling drinks. She had a poor attitude and never smiled. Our pasta had maybe a couple of pieces of seafood but mainly it was pasta. I could have made this stuff at home and would have been more satisfied. I will probably never eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CB21345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Manager at Shells Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Hi! Thanks for your honesty and we regret that you had a less than superior experience. We strive for excellent service, bountiful portions, and the best tasting seafood around in a welcoming atmosphere. We hope you will give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a fantastic meal at a decent price. Our waitress was a young lady (I think her name was Chelsea) who was very attentive to our needs and very friendly. Best food we have had at a restaurant in this area. You get your money's worth on the portion sizes. We were very pleased with the food, service & price. Highly recommend this restaurant!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Manager at Shells Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for the review and we are so glad you had a great experience. We pride ourselves in our larger portions, pricing and most importantly: taste! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shells Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Indialantic, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Shells Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing