We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Natural Adventure”

Cypress Lake Airboat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come join us for a one hour tour in the beautiful Central Florida Everglades. Pristine lakes, rivers, creeks and marsh and no houses or commercial sites... Guaranteed! See alligators, birds and various wildlife. You can actually hold a live alligator too. This is Nature at its best! We are the highest rated airboat tour in Central Florida. We are open daily from 9am-6pm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Apalachin, New York
Level Contributor
475 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Great Natural Adventure”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This airboat tour takes you on the James River and into the swamps. As advertised, the only building you will see is the camp that the boat leaves from. Please note the camp that the boats leave from are away from civilization just follow the directions given. We saw numerous allegators up close, a few 8-10 feet long. Got great pictures. This is a 1 hour tour and our captain was had great information and knowledge about the tour. He answered any question asked in detail.

What was really great was that he asked all those on board to be lookouts and if they saw something he would go to that site. It worked our great with a lot of eyes. I am a birder and saw lots of birds including 1 bald eagle, many herons, ergots, a "snake" bird, etc. The captain also explained about some of the plants in the marshes along the river and in the swamp areas. We were informed that this area was the headwaters of the everglades which are south of the area.

This is a bucket list event we can check off.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank msmacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"EXCELLENT FAMILY ADVENTURE!"”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I came out there with my two sons for a airboat tour and my sons were looking forward to seeing a lot of gators on the tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided the boys with an outstanding experience. My youngest son counted the gators on our trip and he counted at least 89.There were so many gators that we saw on the tour in comparison to the other lake type airboat rides we had previously taken. I would highly recommend this to any family who is looking for a real adventure.


JIM
RUTHERFORDTON,NC

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun time but had hopes for more”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is the second airboat tour we had been on , the first being Black Hammock Adventures on lake Jessup...We chose this because the website said it was on rivers/marshes a lake and swamp and the first one was basically just on a lake..it cost a little more but was twice as long plus i prefer to do not to do the same thing twice.

The pro's...the price is right you get an hour on the boat and cover a lot of ground and the Captian is informative,entertaining and knows where to find the gators,we even saw a bunch of baby gators.
The con's..its really hard to distinguish when your on a lake when your on a river and when your in a marsh and i really didnt see anything like what i envision a swamp looking like very few cypress trees no hanging vines etc..maybe i was just hoping for louisiana swamps in florida but i was kinda disappointed ,i didnt see anything ..also it was unexpected that you buy your tickets in kissimee then they tell you that your driving another 40 miles to get to the actual site and you have to make it by a certian time..we really thought the tour was right there in kissimee so basically it ended up being a 2 1/2 hour drive(round trip) for a 1 hour boat ride tho i admit it was efficient cuz we arrived and waited no more than 10 minutes till we were in the boat
All in all I wont give this a negative review because it was still fun and despite my minor complaints i do believe its worth the money but of the 2 i've been on so far it is my least favorite

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our ride! Always speak up!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We checked TripAdvisor prior to our trip trying to decide which airboat ride to take. We were staying in Kissimmee. Friends had told us to Make sure we didn't get on a boat that only went around the shore of a lake. We are a family of 7 including 5 boys ages 11-20. The reason we chose this airboat tour over the others was due to their advertisment . "We offer a breath-taking one hour tour that begins on beautiful Cypress Lake going several miles into the marsh, river, and creek which no other airboat ride company can offer." THAT was the selling point. Well we got to our tour and we were a little confused as this airboat company shares a dock etc with another airboat company, in fact we didn't even see any signage for Cypress only the other name which I can't remember. We got on our boat and went out for the ride, unfortunately due to the cooler weather in Dec there weren't a lot of alligators but we did see a few, and many birds. The first 1/2 of our 1 hour ride was spent out on the lake, so I asked the driver when we would get off the lake and he said we wouldn't be! so I reminded him of the quote about being the ONLY boat tour that leaves the lake, so reluctantly he took us down a creek and it was spectacular. We didn't see any alligators down there but the foliage and trees was incredible, really gave you a feel for what the real everglades must be like and how creepy it would be at night. That was the best part of the ride! I think the other 4 people on the boat were very happy that I spoke up and we got to see more than just Open water. All in all it was a great experience and I would recommend it, just be sure to speak up if you are expecting something and it doesn't happen!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Ride”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

First time on an airboat was worth every penny. Knowledgeable, friendly captain and boat guide very accommodating. We saw lots of gators (one 13footer), bald eagle, turtles, large birds, ducks, and scenery. Since the temperature was in the 60's the gators were sluggish and the captain able to get right up close to them. Great photos and videos.

Tip: the regular price is $45 for a one hour tour. If you call up and make a reservation for your group (3 or more) there will only charge $35 per person. If only two of you go there is a $4.50 discount coupon in the coupon books.

The guide really made this a 4 1/2 star trip!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Lake Airboat Tours also viewed

 
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Cypress Lake Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing